DRAFT

Minutes of the July 24, 2023- Regular School Board Meeting

The Board of Trustees of the Coppell Independent School District, #057-922, met in a regular session on July 24, 2023, at 6:00 p.m. at the Vonita White Administration Building, 200 S. Denton Tap Road, Coppell, Texas. The meeting was called to order by President David Caviness at 6:00 p.m.

Members present: David Caviness, President; Anthony Hill, Vice President; Nichole Bentley, Secretary; Ranna Raval; and Jobby Mathew

Trustees Leigh Walker and Manish Sethi were not present for the meeting. However, a quorum was present.

Notice of this meeting was posted on July 20, 2023 at 3:00 p.m.

Staff present: Brad Hunt, Superintendent; Carol Snowden, Administrative Assistant; Chris Trotter; Kristen Eichel; Dr. Angie Brooks; Diana Sircar; Angela Brown; Rory Butkovich; Naveen Boppana and Amanda Simpson

DISTRICT HIGHLIGHTS

Superintendent Hunt provided the following District Highlights in Coppell ISD:

- Website Redesign and New CISD App
- Back-to-School Preparations and Parent Hub
- Coppell ISD Bond Ratings
- Spanish Spelling Bee Champ Stella Shababian Succeeds at Nationals
- CISD in the News
 - CBS 11 Features CISD Summer Bridge Program at Wilson Elementary
 - Teacher uses origami to help students master math on NCBDFW
 - CHS Soccer Player Mia Brasseux wins Ben Hogan Perseverance Award on CBS 11

AWARDS

Communications Department Receives 7 National NSPRA Awards

INVOCATION AND PLEDGE

Trustee Ranna Raval gave the invocation and led the Pledge of Allegiance.

OPEN FORUM

Opportunity to speak in person or have a statement read in Open Forum was provided to the community. No one from the community came forward to speak.

DISCUSSION AND REPORT ITEMS - SUPERINTENDENT

Diana Sircar, Chief Financial Officer, provided an update on the 2023-2024 Budget. Angela Brown, Chief Communications Officer, spoke to the Board regarding the Strategic Plan – Coppell 2030.

DRAFT

CONSENT

Nichole Bentley made a motion to approve the following consent agenda items as presented:

- 1. Approve the minutes of the regular meeting held on June 26, 2023
- 2. Approve monthly 2022-2023 Budget Amendments
- 3. Approve Financial Report for June 2023
- 4. Approve the 2023-2024 Appraisal Calendar and Second Appraisers
- 5. Approve the 2023-2024 District Professional Learning Plan
- 6. Approve the MOU regarding Dallas County Juvenile Justice Alternative Education Program

Jobby Mathew seconded the motion. The motion carried 5-0.

ACTION

Anthony Hill made a motion to approve Core Construction as the Construction Manager for the proposed 2023 bond election construction projects and authorize the Chief Operations Officer to finalize and execute the AIA Construction Manager Agreements with Core Constructions. The motion was seconded by Nichole Bentley and passed 5-0.

A motion to approve the purchase and installation of cameras on all student buses, including a wireless archival system at a cost not to exceed \$200,000 was made by Anthony Hill and seconded by Nichole Bentley. The motion passed 5-0.

Nichole Bentley motioned to approve the District of Innovation amendment as presented. Jobby Mathew seconded the motion and the motion passed 5-0.

A motion was made by Ranna Raval to adopt the Coppell ISD 2023-2024 Student Code of Conduct as presented. Anthony Hill seconded the motion and the motion passed 5-0.

A motion to adopt the 2023-2024 District Improvement Plan as presented was made by Anthony Hill. The motion was seconded by Nichole Bentley and passed 5-0.

Nichole Bentley made a motion to adopt the TASB Policy Update 121 local revisions to policy as recommended. Ranna Raval seconded the motion. The motion passed 5-0.

DISCUSSION AND REPORT ITEMS – BOARD OF TRUSTEES

- Coppell Chamber of Commerce Education Committee Report and Metrocrest Services – Anthony Hill
- Bond Oversight Sub Committee Report Nichole Bentley

ADJOURNMENT

David Caviness made a motion to adjourn the meeting and Nichole Bentley seconded the motion. The motion carried 5-0.

The meeting adjourned at 7:19 p.m.

DRAFT

David Caviness, Board President
Nichole Bentley, Board Secretary