The Board of Trustees of Denton Independent School District, State of Texas, met in a regular meeting at the Denton ISD Central Services building, 1307 N. Locust St., Denton, Texas, on Tuesday, October 11, 2016 at 6:02 PM. The meeting was called to order by president Barbara Burns who announced that a quorum was present.

**Board Members** 

Alexander, Burns, Chadwick, Martinez, Price, Smith and Stafford

Present:

**Board Members** 

Absent:

Arrived Late:

Left Early:

Present:

School Personnel Wilson, Mattingly, Stripling, Monschke, Valenta, Lopez, Perkins, O'Bara,

Stevenson and Zavala

Others: Caitlyn Jones, *Denton Record Chronicle*; DEA; Randy Stout, Attorney;

citizens, staff, and students.

The pledges to the flags were led by Hodge Elementary School students. Pledges:

Presentations/ Recognitions

Governor Greg Abbott declared October as "Principals Month and the Board

of Trustees recognized the District's principals.

1<sup>st</sup> Open Forum Billie Brasfield addressed the Board about UIL rules and how it applies to

UIL activities.

Willie Hudspeth addressed the Board about UIL rules and how it applies to

students who want to transfer to other campuses.

Javan Reece a senior and track athlete at Guyer High School addressed the Board about the poor conditions of the track at Guyer. He feels the track

surface is unsafe for all track athletes.

Discussion of Elementary & Secondary Campus **Improvement** Plans

Chris Shade, director of school improvement and support, highlighted the district's involvement in the Visioning Document that has been comprised by various school districts in the state and members of the Texas Association of School Administrators. The vision focuses on the changes public education is undergoing through the 21st century, which matches Denton ISD's own vision, mission and goals.

Denton ISD split into four vertical zones for the 2016-17 school year. These zones include:

Vertical Zone I: Denton High, Calhoun, McMath, Borman, Evers

Park, Houston, Lee, Newton Rayzor, W.S. Ryan, Gonzalez, Windle, Lester Davis

- **Vertical Zone II:** Guyer High, Crownover, Harpool, Blanton, E.P. Rayzor, Hawk, McNair, Nelson and Adkins
- Vertical Zone III: Ryan High, Sparks, Fred Moore, LaGrone ATC Strickland, Myers, Ginnings, Hodge, Pecan Creek, Rivera, Stephens and Wilson
- Vertical Zone IV: Braswell High, Navo, Bell, Cross Oaks, Paloma Creek, Providence, and Savannah

Principals pointed out a variety of intervention programs, instructional opportunities, technological advances and curriculum strategies that teachers and staff at their campuses are using to improve student achievement and encourage parent and community engagement.

This item is for information only. No action is required.

2<sup>nd</sup> Open Forum

No one wished to speak.

Consent Agenda

Motion by Mia Price and seconded by Charles Stafford

To approve (the minutes for the September 27, 2016 board meeting; personnel matters, leaves and absences; Interlocal Cooperation Agreement for school resource investigator (SRO)) between Denton County and the Denton Independent School District whereas the County provides the District with one (1) certified police officer to serve as school resource officer (SRO) assigned to Harpool Middle School; approval for travel for Crownover Choir to travel to perform in the Alamo Showcase of Music Competition in San Antonio, departing on May 12, 2017 and returning on May 14,2017; approval for a request by Crownover Student Council to travel to San Marcus for the TASC Middle Level State Annual Conference, departing on November 4-2016 and returning November 5, 2016; approval of travel for Denton High School Choir to travel for festival competition in Orlando, Florida, April 19-24, 2017; and approval of travel for DHS Theatre to travel to the Texas Thespian State Festival in Dallas, departing on December 1, 2016 and returning on December 3, 2016).

The motion passed unanimously of Board members present and voting.

3<sup>rd</sup> Open Forum

No one wished to speak.

Closed Meeting	The Board convened into Closed Session at 7:50 pm
Open Meeting	The Board reconvened into Open Session at 9:06 pm
Adjournment:	The meeting adjourned at 9:17 pm
	President
	Secretary