MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION BEMIDJI AREA SCHOOLS APRIL 4, 2022

The special meeting of the Board of Education, Bemidji Area Schools, Bemidji, Beltrami/Hubbard Counties, Minnesota, was held on Monday, April 4, 2022, at 5:00 p.m., in the District Office Board Room.

MEMBERS PRESENT: Carol L. Johnson, Jeff Lind, Ann Long Voelkner, Sarah Young,

and Gabriel Warren

MEMBERS ABSENT: Superintendent Tim Lutz

Maya Lindquist, Student Representative Savannah Haugen, Student Representative

CALL TO ORDER: 5:00 p.m.

APPROVAL OF AGENDA

The motion was offered by Ann Long Voelkner, seconded by Jeff Lind, and carried by all in attendance to approve the agenda.

AGENDA

Tentative Agreement with the Custodians and Maintenance Personnel Bargaining Unit for 2021-2023

The motion was offered by Ann Long Voelkner, seconded by Sarah Young, and carried by all in attendance to approve the provisions of SBR 200-40-1, the employment agreement between Independent School District No. 31 and the MSEA for Custodians and Maintenance Personnel for the period July 1, 2021, through June 30, 2023 and to authorize the Superintendent or designee to sign the Memorandums of Understanding as indicated herein.

Review Superintendent Applicants' Information and Decide on the Finalists, Schedule for Interviews, Interview Procedures, and Interview Questions

Lee Warne, from the Minnesota School Boards Association, provide information regarding candidate selection, interview guestion selection, and interview procedures for the superintendent search.

Discuss, Decide, and Schedule the Steps Necessary for the Rest of the Hiring Process

Eleven candidates applied for the position of superintendent of schools. The Minnesota School Boards Association vetted five candidates who matched the district's search criteria.

The motion was offered by Carol L. Johnson, seconded by Ann Long Voelkner, and carried by all in attendance to extend offer for first round interviews for the ISD #31 Superintendent to Candidates B, C, D, F, and K,

The names of the candidates were then made public by Lee Warne:

Jeremy Olson – Superintendent, Crookston Donita Stepan – Superintendent, Thief River Falls Darrin Strosahl – Administrator, Northwest Technical College Bemidji Jason Stanoch – Principal, Bemidji Karsten Anderson – Superintendent, Red Wing

Adjournment

The motion was offered by Sarah Young, seconded by Jeff Lind, and carried by all in attendance to adjourn the meeting. Time: 6:01 p.m.	
Jeff Lind, Clerk	Date Approved
Carol L. Johnson, Chair	Date Approved