Unofficial Minutes Board of Directors Meeting

Special Board Meeting & Budget Committee Meeting May 25th, 2006

These are minutes of the Morrow County School District Board of Directors special meeting and Budget Committee meeting of May 25, 2006, held in the district office board room in Lexington, OR.

BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT: Ken Matlack, Berto Hernandez, Barney Lindsay, Craig Miles,

Nancy Vander Does, Bill Kuhn, Pat McNamee Budget Committee

members: Dean Mason, Keith Lewis, Dan Young

BOARD MEMBERS ABSENT: n/a

STAFF MEMBERS PRESENT: Mark Burrows, Wade Smith, Rhonda Lorenz and Julie Ashbeck.

Thad Killingbeck, John Sebastian, BJ Wilson and Joel Chavez

OTHERS PRESENT: MCEA – No representation; OSEA – no representation; ESD –

 $No\ representation;\ Public-Roster;$

Call to Order

Chairman Craig Miles called the special board meeting to order at 5:30 pm at the District Office board room in Lexington, OR; a quorum was established; and the Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

Principal Compensation: Mr. Burrows, along with Nancy Vander Does and Craig Miles reported to the rest of the board on the compensation package for district administrators. They have been working with a representative from the principal group to come up with a new compensation package. This is a one year contract.

Motion: On a motion by Barney Lindsay and a second by Bill Kuhn, the compensation package for district administrators was presented and approved for the 2006-07 school year.

Ayes Lindsay, Miles, McNamee, Matlack, Vander Does, Kuhn, Hernandez

Noes n/a

Motion passed

Employment Action:

Motion: Bill Kuhn moved with a second by Ken Matlack, to approve the Employment Action as follows: Resignations: Alma Rodriguez, School Family Liaison in Irrigon; Amber Jamison, reading specialist at ACH; David Westenskow, LA teacher at IHS; Nancy McClenahen, 4th grade teacher at SBE; Jack Johns, SpEd Director/teacher; Janet Symionow, LA teacher at RHS Rescind Transfer: Marianne Smith from SBE 3rd grade to HES (.5 FTE) 3rd grade teacher (HES) and .5 FTE art teacher at HHS; Employment: Lisa Constantine, ELL teacher at IHS; Brian Bigham, PE teacher at IES; Stephanie Bigham, kindergarten teacher at SBE; Rhonda Doremus, 4th grade teacher at WRE; Sarah Eckman, reading specialist at IES; Alicia Hickman, 4th grade teacher at WRE; Troy Morgan, advanced math teacher at HHS; Joe Lindsay, music teacher at HES/HHS Transfer: Jake McElligott, from 6th grade teacher at IES, to 7th & 8th grade math teacher at IHS Miles, McNamee, Matlack, Vander Does, Kuhn, Hernandez Aves Noes Abstention: Barney Lindsay (conflict of interest)

Motion passed

Resolution to Approve Supplemental Budget - Title Money

Motion:	On a motion by Nancy Vnder Does and a second by Barney Lindsay, a resolution was approved for a supplemental budget to transfer Title money.
Ayes	Lindsay, Miles, McNamee, Matlack, Vander Does, Kuhn, Hernandez
Noes	n/a
Motion passed	

Approve Reduction in Force of School Family Liaisons

Motion:	Pat McNamee moved and Nancy Vander Does seconded to approve the reduction in force of the School Family Liaisons in the Boardman and Irrigon areas.
Ayes	Lindsay, Miles, McNamee, Matlack, Vander Does, Kuhn, Hernandez
Noes	n/a
Motion passed	

SRO: Ken Matlack then brought up the issue of an SRO in the schools. After much discussion, it was determined that more information should be presented. A committee made up on Ken Matlack, Barney Lindsay, Matt Combe and the Irrigon principals will work on this issue. It was suggested that in the fall we have representatives from the Hermiston and Pendleton Police Departments come and report on how the SRO's are doing in their respective schools.

Chairman Miles recessed the Special Meeting at 7:08 pm.

At 7:17 pm, Dean Mason called the Budget Committee Meeting to order, and the following action was taken:

Motion:	Bill Kuhn nominated Dean Mason as Chairman of the Budget Committee, seconded by Nancy Vander Does.
Ayes Noes	Lindsay, Miles, McNamee, Matlack, Vander Does, Kuhn, Hernandez, Lewis, Young n/a
Abstention: Motion passed	Dean Mason

Motion:	Barney Lindsay then nominated Keith Lewis to be Vice Chairman of the Budget Committee, seconded by Nancy Vander Does.
Ayes	Lindsay, Miles, McNamee, Matlack, Vander Does, Kuhn, Hernandez, Young
Noes	n/a
Abstention:	Keith Lewis
Motion passed	

It was agreed that Budget Committee meetings would not run past 9:00 pm

1. Budget Message & Overview of Budget Document: Mr. Burrows presented an impressive power point report that highlighted meeting board goals, test scores at each of the schools, facilities upgrades and construction; revenues and expenses.

2. Questions from the Budget Committee/Community: Morrow County Rec District funding for athletics was discussed; transportation costs; maintenance and construction; alternative ed program; enrollment and growth projections; property to build additional schools; other funds; food service;

Approval of Budget to Board for Budget Hearing:

1			
Motion:	Dan Young moved to approve the permanent tax rate of \$4.0342 per \$1000 of assessed value for operating purposes for the 2006-07 fiscal year: Ken Matlack seconded the motion.		
Ayes Noes Motion passed	Lindsay, Miles, McNamee, Matlack, Vander Does, Kuhn, Hernandez, Young, Mason, Lewis n/a		
Motion:	Dan Young moved to approve Fund 300, Debt Service, for a tax levy in the amount of \$1,669,785 and Fund 301, Debt Service, for a tax levy in the amount of \$1,789,568.		
Ayes Noes Motion passed	Lindsay, Miles, McNamee, Matlack, Vander Does, Kuhn, Hernandez, Young, Mason, Lewis n/a		
Motion:	Dan Young moved to approve all other funds in the amount of \$4,174,632. Pat McNamee seconded the motion.		
Ayes Noes Motion passed	Lindsay, Miles, McNamee, Matlack, Vander Does, Kuhn, Hernandez, Young, Mason, Lewis n/a		

Chairman Mason adjourned the Budget Committee meeting at 8:30 pm

Chairman Miles reconvened the Special Meeting at 8:45 pm and immediately went into Executive Session under ORS 192.660(2)(b) - Personnel. At 9:38 pm Executive Session closed, the Special meeting reconvened and was immediately adjourned.

Respectfully Submitted:	
Julie Ashbeck, Executive Secretary	Craig Miles, Chairman of the Board
Date Approved:	