Ector County Independent School District Odessa, Texas Memorandum

TO: Board of Trustees

FROM: Tom Crowe, Superintendent of Schools

SUBJECT: REQUEST FOR APPROVAL OF APPOINTMENT/REAPPONTMENT OF STUDENT HEALTH ADVISORY COUNCIL (SHAC) MEMBERS

DATE: January 20, 2015

The School Health Advisory Council (SHAC) was established for the public purpose of recommending health curriculum to the Ector County ISD Board of Trustees, as recommended by law. A majority of the Council must be parents of students enrolled in the District and who are not employed by the District. The Board may also appoint one (1) or more school teachers, public school administrators, district students, healthcare professionals, members of the business community, law enforcement representatives, senior citizens, clergy, representatives of non-profit health organizations, or representatives from other groups.

The 2014-15 SHAC Membership has an open position due to the stepping down of a Community Member. The resignation was requested due to work related scheduling conflicts. There is one (1) applicant for the open Community Member position.

You will receive under separate cover a copy of the current applicant. The Board of Trustees shall consider, but is not limited to, written applications that are submitted by any eligible person desiring to serve on the Council.

It is recommended that the Board of Trustees take action and appoint applicant to serve as a Student Health Advisory Council Member for a two (2) year term.

Respectfully submitted,

Tom Crowe Superintendent of Schools *Todd Vesely* Executive Director of Athletics

2014-15 Appointment / Reappointment Student Health Advisory Council Members

(Total Parent and Community Membership Capacity: 14)

The following Members' terms will end August 2015:

Parent Members	Community Members
Gracie Flores - TTUHSC	Jane Boles – Non-Profit Fundraisers
Christin Abbott-Timmons – RN OMC	Susan Rathbun – Counseling Center UTPB
Karen Olson – Student Nursing	Jeff Russell – President GeniusHR
	Maria Cole – Family Nurse Practitioner

The following Members' submitted their names for reappointment and were approved by the Board September 16, 2014. These terms will end August 2016:

Parent Members	Community Members
Arlo Chavira - Parent	
Diana Edmiston - Parent	
Tonya Eckert – Safe Place Permian Basin	

The following Applicants were approved by the Board September 16, 2014. These terms will end August 2016:

Parent Members	Community Members
Rhonda Spykes – RN ORMC	Diana Ruiz – Director Community Hlth MCH
Kathy Siepak – Professional Development Mentor	

The Following Applicant has submitted their name for consideration for the vacancy listed. This term will end August 2016:

Basin

Parent Members	Community Members
	Beth Meyerson – Director First 5 Permian