MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION BEMIDJI AREA SCHOOLS MAY 8, 2024

The special meeting of the Board of Education, Bemidji Area Schools, Bemidji, Beltrami/Hubbard Counties, Minnesota, was held on Monday, April 15, 2024, at 5:00 p.m., in the District Office Board Room

MEMBERS PRESENT: Jenny Frenzel, Anna Manecke, Julie Laitala, Ann Long Voelkner,

Justin Hoover, Dave Wall and Superintendent Jeremy Olson

MEMBERS ABSENT: Student Representatives Calla Gieser and Carter Fish

CALL TO ORDER: 5:31 p.m.

The motion was offered by Jenny Frenzel, seconded by Ann Long Voelkner, and carried by all in attendance to approve the agenda.

AGENDA

Potential Reductions and Additions in Programs and Positions

Justin Hoover motioned, and Anna Manecke seconded, to table the potential reduction and additions in programs and positions and was carried by Anna Manecke and Justin Hoover.

Motion failed.

Ann Long Voelkner motioned, Julie Laitala seconded, and carried by Ann Long Voelkner, Julie Laitala, Jenny Frenzel and Dave Wall to choose Option C for the Potential Reductions and Additions in Programs and Positions

Julie Laitala introduced the following resolution and moved its adoption:

RESOLUTION DISCONTINUING AND REDUCING EDUCATIONAL PROGRAMS AND POSITIONS

WHEREAS, the School Board of Independent School District No. 31 adopted a resolution on December 19, 2022, directing the administration to make recommendations for reductions in programs and positions; and

WHEREAS, said recommendations have been received and considered by the School Board; BE IT RESOLVED, by the School Board of Independent School District No. 31, that the following positions be discontinued:

- 1. 1.00 FTE Mathematics
- 2. 0.75 FTE Science
- 3. 0.25 FTE Spanish
- 4. 2.00 FTE Elementary Education (Horace May)
- 5. 1.00 FTE Elementary Education (Lincoln)
- 6. 2.00 FTE Elementary Education (Northern)
- 7. 1.00 FTE Elementary Education (Gene Dillon)
- 8. 1.60 FTE Elementary Specialists (Physical Education & Media)
- 9. 1.00 FTE Title I

The motion for the adoption of the foregoing resolution was duly seconded by Julie Laitala and upon vote being taken, the following voted in favor: Jenny Frenzel, Julie Laitala, Ann Long Voelkner, and Dave Wall and the following voted against: Anna Manecke and Justin Hoover. WHEREUPON, said resolution was declared duly passed and adopted.

Ann Long Voelkner introduced the following resolution and moved is adoption:

RESOLUTION INCREASING POSITIONS

WHEREAS, the School Board of Independent School District No. 31 adopted a resolution

discontinuing positions, and

WHEREAS, recommendations for a staffing addition has been received and considered by the School Board:

BE IT RESOLVED, by the School Board of Independent School District No. 31, that the following position be added:

- 1. 1.00 FTE Industrial Technology
- 2. 1.00 FTE Family and Consumer Science (FACS)
- 3. 0.15 FTE Counselor (LHS/AEC)
- 4. 0.90 FTE Elementary Specialists (Art & Music)

Option C

The motion for the adoption of the foregoing resolution was duly seconded by Julie Laitala and upon vote being taken, the following voted in favor: Justin Hoover, Jenny Frenzel, Julie Laitala, Anna Manecke, Ann Long Voelkner and Dave Wall and the following voted against: None. WHEREUPON, said resolution was declared duly passed and adopted.

Resolution Relating to the Termination and Nonrenewal

Ann Long Voelkner introduced the following resolution and moved is adoption: RESOLUTION RELATING TO THE TERMINATION AND NONRENEWAL OF THE TEACHING CONTRACTS OF WHEREAS, Macy Allen, Jesse Eck, Samantha Fisher, Mackenzie Hanson, Justin Henry, Jeremiah Johnson, Alex Kong'a, John Kovach, Kelsie Kverno, Emilee Lindseth, Jessica-Pewell, Kaylee Schafbuch, Tori Warne, Christie Winchell are Tier 1 or probationary teachers in Independent School District #31, with the amendment to strike Jessica Powell.

BE IT RESOLVED, by the School Board of Independent School District No. 31 that pursuant to M.S. 122A.40, Subdivision 5, the teaching contracts of Macy Allen, Jesse Eck, Samantha Fisher, Mackenzie Hanson, Justin Henry, Jeremiah Johnson, Alex Kong'a, John Kovach, Kelsie Kverno, Emilee Lindseth, Kaylee Schafbuch, Tori Warne, Christie Winchell are hereby terminated at the close of the 2023-2024 school year on May 31, 2024.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that written notice be sent to said teachers regarding termination and nonrenewal of their contracts as provided by law, and that said notice be substantially in the following form:

NOTICE OF TERMINATION AND NONRENWAL

You are hereby notified that at the regular meeting of the School Board of Independent School District No.31, held May 8, 2024, a resolution was adopted by majority roll call vote to terminate your contract at the end of the current school year on May 31, 2024, and not to renew your contract for the 2024-2025 school year. Said action of the Board was taken pursuant to M.S. 122A.40, Subdivision 5.

You may officially request that the School Board give its reasons for the nonrenewal of your teaching contract.

Sincerely,

SCHOOL BOARD OF INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 31

Clerk of the School Board

The motion for the adoption of the foregoing resolution was duly seconded by _Julie Laitala_ and

vote being taken, the following voted in favor: Ann Long Voelkner, Justin Hoover, Jenny Frenzel, Julie Laitala, Anna Manecke and Dave Wall

and the following voted against: None.

WHEREUPON, said resolution was declared passed and adopted.

The motion was offered by Jenny Frenzel, seconded by Anna Manecke, and carried by all in attendance to adjourn the meeting. Time: 6:26 p.m.	
Anna Manecke, Clerk	Date Approved
Dave Wall, Chair	Date Approved