

GOVERNING BOARD AGENDA ITEM AMPHITHEATER UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 10

DATE OF MEETING: May 11, 2021

Recognition of Odyssey of the Mind Teams TITLE:

BACKGROUND:

Amphitheater Public Schools continues to be the top district in participation and achievement in the Arizona Odyssey of the Mind program. Odyssey of the Mind is an international competition that provides creative problem-solving opportunities for students from kindergarten through college.

Team members apply their creativity to solve long-term problems involving building mechanical devices, building balsa wood structures designed to hold hundreds of pounds, building vehicles that are used to complete tasks, presenting a theatrical performance solving a dilemma, or presenting their own interpretation of literary classics. In addition, teams are scored on "style," or, the creative way in which they present their solutions.

This year, seven teams earned the right to compete during World Finals being held virtually through May 29, 2021 and in-person on June 11, 2021 and June 12, 2021 in Orlando. The following students and their coaches are to be commended for their dedication and high level of accomplishment in this academic competition.

School: Harelson Elementary School

Problem 2: Technical Division 1 (First Place)

Coach: Robyn Yewell **Team Members:**

> Jaxyn DeCastro Vivienne Yewell Emmy Sieminski Ava Brown Rilynn Brown

Bijou Linn Ben Petersen

School: Canyon del Oro High School **Problem 3:** Classics Division 3 (First Place)

Coach: Cymry and Bill DeBoucher

Team Members:

Amelia Gephart Carter Hollings Dylan Kmiec Josephine Neumann

Shanon Tran

Laurel Beauchamp Caden Beauchamp School: Harelson Elementary School

Problem 4: Structure Division 1 (First Place)

Coach: Robyn Yewell **Team members:**

> Bryson Neese Vivienne Yewell Emmy Sieminski Parker Paterson Ben Petersen Alena Roach Daniel Moreno

School: Cross Middle School

Problem 4: Structure Division 2 (First Place) Coach: Robyn Yewell and Leann Calvin

Team members:

Lewis Calvin Gavin Yewell Penny Richards Carter DaDeppo Lizzy Loehr Sarah Campion

School: Wilson K-8 School

Problem 4: Stucture Division 2 (Second Place)

Coaches: Patricia Howland

Team members:

Mathew Cirelli Eden Coleman Madison Durazo Andrew Garza Tatianna Gray Morgan Heise Kayin Lewis School: Canyon del Oro High School

Problem 5: Performance Division 3 (First Place)

Coaches: Amy Boynton and Steve Merritt

Team members:

KK Boynton Fiona Merritt Kaylynn Calvin Olivia Keating Micaela Wu

School: Canyon del Oro High School (Team B) **Problem 5:** Leonardo's Workshop (Second Place)

Coaches: Jenny and Haley Basye

Team members:

Nikki Basye Aaron Trinh Gabe Thapa Sophia Smith Makenna Webster Alex Imrich

RECOMMENDATION:

This item is for the Governing Board's information and recognition.

INITIATED BY:

Michelle Valenzuela, Communications Director

INVICE WALL

Date: May 3, 2021