## MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF REGENTS GALVESTON COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT

4015 Avenue Q Galveston, Texas 77550 Room M-220 – Moody Hall February 26, 2025 8:00 a.m.

At the Special Meeting of the Galveston Community College District Board of Regents, duly held on Wednesday, February 26, 2025 in Room M-220 of Moody Hall, commencing at 8:00 a.m., the following Regents were present:

Ms. Karen F. Flowers, Chairperson

Mr. Fred D. Raschke, Vice Chairperson

Mr. Michael B. Hughes, Secretary

Mr. Garrik Addison

Mr. Armin Cantini

Dr. Norman Hoffman

Mr. Raymond Lewis, Jr. (attended virtually)

Ms. Mary R. Longoria (attended virtually)

Ms. Carolyn L. Sunseri

Faculty and staff present included Dr. W. Myles Shelton, President, and Dr. Van Patterson.

- I. CALL TO ORDER SPECIAL MEETING: Chair Flowers opened the Special Meeting at 8:00 a.m. in Room M-220 of Moody. Hall and determined a quorum was present.
- II. MOMENT OF SILENCE AND PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE: Ms. Flowers began with a moment of silence and asked Mr. Cantini to lead the Pledge of Allegiance.
- III. CERTIFICATION OF POSTING NOTICE OF SPECIAL MEETING: Dr. Shelton confirmed that the notice of the Special Meeting had been properly posted on February 21, 2025.
- **IV. RECOGNITION OF GUESTS:** There were no guests in attendance.
- V. CITIZENS DESIRING TO APPEAR BEFORE THE BOARD ON AGENDA AND NON-AGENDA ITEMS: There were no citizens desiring to appear before the Board.

## VI. ACTION ITEMS:

1. Review and Consider Revisions to the 2023-2027 Building Tomorrows Strategic
Plan: Dr. Shelton presented this item to the Board. The Board was provided a revised copy of the Strategic Plan. Staff would recommend approval of the changes.

Mr. Raschke moved to approve the revisions to the 2023-2027 Building Tomorrows Strategic Plan; Ms. Sunseri seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

<b>VII. ADJOURN SPECIAL MEETING:</b> There being no further business to come before the Board, the Special Meeting adjourned at 8:02 a.m.	
APPROVED AS CORRECT:	Michael B. Hughes, Secretary
Karen F. Flowers, Chairperson	