INTERMEDIATE SCHOOL DISTRICT 917

A School Board Meeting of the Intermediate School District 917 School Board was held on Tuesday, February 4, 2025, in the 917 Board Room at Dakota County Technical College.

Members Present: Kim Baker (to be sworn in at this meeting), Lesley Chester, Monica Weber, Cindy Nordstrom, Lisa Ehleringer, Byron Schwab, Hannah Simmons, Mark Zuzek, and ex-officio member Superintendent Dr. Michael Favor.

Members Absent: Tom Bennett

<u>Also Present:</u> Brooke Peterson, Melissa Schaller, Mark Johns, Kate Hulse, Nicole Flesner, Wendi Renken, Stephanie Betley, Taylor Lovin, and Megan Dietrich.

School Board Vice Chair Cindy Nordstrom called the meeting to order at 6:22 PM.

The Pledge of Allegiance was conducted in the Board Work session prior to this meeting.

There were no visitors to be heard.

 Motion by Hannah Simmons, seconded by Monica Weber, to approve the agenda. Voting aye: Kim Baker, Lesley Chester, Monica Weber, Cindy Nordstrom, Lisa Ehleringer, Hannah Simmons, Byron Schwab, Mark Zuzek. Voting naye: None. Motion carried.

Stephanie Betley introduced the Winter Licensed Employee of the Quarter Wendi Renken.

Taylor Lovin introduced the Winter Non-Licensed Employee of the Quarter: Megan Dietrich.

- Motion by Mark Zuzek, seconded by Byron Schwab, to approve the consent items, as presented. Voting aye: Kim Baker, Lesley Chester, Monica Weber, Cindy Nordstrom, Lisa Ehleringer, Hannah Simmons, Byron Schwab, Mark Zuzek. Voting naye: None. Motion carried.
 - Minutes: January 13, 2025, Organizational and Regular School Board Meeting
 - Personnel: New hires: Sarayea Armstrong, Education Support Professional, effective January 28, 2025. Timothy Bluhm, Education Support Professional, effective January 23, 2025. Cristina Garcia, Education Support Professional, effective January 29, 2025. Roody Joinvil, Education Support Professional, effective February 4, 2025. Abigail Thames, Education Support Professional, effective January 29, 2025. Melissa Torres, Administrative Assistant of SpEd, effective January 13, 2025. *Rehires:* Mollie Peltier, Intervener Support Professional, effective January 28, 2025. *Change in Status:* Allison Blanchard, Teacher to Education Support Professional, effective January 31, 2025. Resignations and *terminations:* Kasandra Andersen, Education Support Professional, effective February 31, 2025. Roody Nurse, December 20, 2024. Abigail Wisneski, Education Support Professional, effective January 24, 2025. *Retirements:* Don Budach, Assistant Director of SpEd, effective June 30, 2025. Pearl Devenow, Teacher, effective June 12, 2025.
- Motion by Byron Schwab, seconded by Lisa Ehleringer, to approve the bills from January 1, 2025, to January 27, 2025, Investment Report and wire transfers, as presented by the Director of Finance. Voting aye: Kim Baker, Lesley Chester, Monica Weber, Cindy Nordstrom, Lisa Ehleringer, Hannah Simmons, Byron Schwab, Mark Zuzek. Voting naye: None. Motion carried.

- 4. Motion by Hannah Simmons, seconded by Lisa Ehleringer, to approve the revised Budget for 2024-2025 as presented by the Director of Finance. Voting aye: Kim Baker, Lesley Chester, Monica Weber, Cindy Nordstrom, Lisa Ehleringer, Hannah Simmons, Byron Schwab, Mark Zuzek. Voting naye: None. Motion carried. (Addendum A.)
- 5. Board Member Mark Zuzek, introduced the following resolution and waived the reading: Resolution Directing Administration to Make Recommendations for Reductions in Programs and Positions and Reasons Therefore. The motion for the adoption of the foregoing resolution was duly seconded by Byron Schwab, and upon vote being taken thereon, the following voted in favor thereof: Voting aye: Kim Baker, Lesley Chester, Monica Weber, Cindy Nordstrom, Lisa Ehleringer, Hannah Simmons, Byron Schwab, Mark Zuzek, and the following voted against the same: None. Motion carried. (Addendum B.)
- 6. Motion by Byron Schwab, seconded by Hannah Simmons, to adjourn the meeting. There was a unanimous vote to adjourn.

There being no further business the meeting adjourned at 6:32 PM.

The next regular School Board Meeting will be Tuesday, March 4, 2025 at 5:45 PM.

Clerk