## MINUTES BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR BOARD MEETING JUNE 14, 2021

- **BUDGET WORKSHOP** The Board met from 5:30-6:30 p.m. to work on the 2021-22 budget.
- PLEDGE ANDThe Wylie Independent School District's BoardINVOCATIONof Trustees met in regular session on Monday,<br/>June 14, 2021, at 6:30 p.m. in the Wylie Early<br/>Childhood Library. The pledge of allegiance<br/>was recited and the invocation was given by<br/>Chris McCurley.

Board members present were: Mike Awtry, Chris McCurley, Steve Keenum, Miller Loudermilk, Brad Hill, Andy Stanton and Cameron Wiley.

School personnel present were: Joey Light, Terry Hagler, Tommy Vaughn, Shauni Vaughn, Rob Goodenough, Tony Spradlin, Kim McMillan, Phil Boone, Aaron Amonett, Tim Smith, Carol Smith and Desiree Clardy.

Guests presents: See sign-in sheet.

- **OPEN FORUM** Clay Trumble addressed the Board regarding the 2021-22 budget and his research comparing our district to other districts in the area.
- OATH OF OFFICE The Oath of Office was administered by Steve Keenum to newly elected board members Andy Stanton - Place 6 and Cameron Wiley - Place 7.
- **REORGANIZATION OF BOARD** Mike Awtry nominated Steve Keenum for President of the Board. Brad Hill seconded the nomination. There being no further nominations, Mike Awtry made a motion that nominations cease and Steve Keenum be elected by acclamation. Brad Hill seconded the motion.

The motion carried: 6 for, 0 against.

The floor was opened for nominations for Vice President. Cameron Wiley nominated Miller Loudermilk as Vice President. Mike Awtry nominated Chris McCurley as Vice President. Brad Hill seconded the nomination for Chris McCurley as Vice President. Mike Awtry made a motion that nominations cease and Chris McCurley be elected by acclamation. Cameron Wiley seconded the motion.

The motion carried: 6 for, 0 against.

SCHOOL BOARD MINUTES JUNE 14, 2021 PAGE TWO

> Nominations were opened for Secretary. Chris McCurley nominated Mike Awtry. Brad Hill seconded the nomination. Cameron Wiley made a motion that nominations cease and Chris McCurley be elected by acclamation. Brad Hill seconded the motion.

The motion carried: 6 for, 0 against.

- MINUTES OFThe minutes of the May 10, 2021 meeting werePREVIOUS MEETINGread and approved as presented.
- **CONSENT AGENDA** Chris McCurley made a motion to approve the consent agenda. The motion was seconded by Mike Awtry.

The motion carried: 6 for, 0 against.

- **ELECT TASB** By consensus of the Board, Cameron Wiley will **VOTING DELEGATE** By consensus of the Board, Cameron Wiley will serve as voting delegate and Brad Hill will serve as alternate to the TASB Convention in September 2021.
- **PUBLIC INPUT ON**A public hearing was conducted regarding**TITLE FUNDS**the use of the 2020-21 Title funds.
- **PUBLIC INPUT ON**A public hearing was conducted regarding**ESSER III FUNDS**the use of the ESSER III funds.

CONSIDER RESOLUTION A motion was made by Mike Awtry and seconded REGARDING ESSER III by Chris McCurley to approve the resolution AND POLICY CB(LOCAL) regarding ESSER III and Policy CB (LOCAL),

State and Federal Revenue Sources. The change to CB(LOCAL) is effective based on the adoption date of this resolution.

The motion carried: 6 for, 0 against.

CONSIDER SELECTIONBrad Hill made a motion to approveOF AUDITOR FOREideBailly to do the financial audit for2020-21 BUDGETthe 2020-21 school year budget. Cameron Wiley<br/>seconded the motion.

The motion carried: 6 for, 0 against.

SCHOOL BOARD MINUTES JUNE 14, 2021 PAGE THREE

**INFORMATION ITEMS** Other items discussed but no action taken included: Summer board meetings & workshops, Construction report, TASB Convention-Dallas, Legislative update and Summer school reports.

- **EXECUTIVE SESSION** The Board went into executive session under the authority of Article 6242-17, Section 2, Revised Civil Statutes of Texas and Education Code 16.176 from 8:00 P.M. to 8:17 P.M. to attend to personnel matters and employee benefits.
- PERSONNEL A motion was made by Andy Stanton and seconded BRECOMMENDATIONS by Miller Loudermilk to employ Cort Arthur, Autumn Bellow, Jessica Carpenter, Emily Carter, Katelynne Craig, Ashley Garrett, Rachel Gohlke, Elizabeth Jensen, Deanna Krivitza, Madaline Lowry, Matt Preston, Casey Pacheco, Rick Sanders, Caitlynn Savari, Rhonda Schur, and Cinnamon Thompson on a one year contract for 10 months for the 2021-22 school year; subject to assignment.

The motion carried: 6 for, 0 against.

OFFICIAL There being no further business to discuss, a ADJOURNMENT motion was made by Chris McCurley and seconded by Brad Hill to adjourn. Official time was 8:19 P.M.

The motion carried: 6 for, 0 against.

Date

President

Secretary