YELLOW MEDICINE EAST ISD #2190 BOARD MEETING MINUTES MONDAY, MAY 12, 2025 - 6:00 pm YME BOARD ROOM & YME YOUTUBE CHANNEL

The meeting was called to order by Jeremy LeBlanc, Board Chair.

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

Roll Call of Board Members in Attendance: Laurel Christianson, Jeremy LeBlanc, Amanda Lecy, Abbey Richter, Sonja Pederson, Ron Winter, Matt Zempel

Others in Attendance: Karter Canatsey, Londyn Dorame, Lisa Hansen, Abigail Jimenez, Perry Oftedahl, Kara Onnen, Darrel Refsland, Lexi Stengel, Denise Streich, Kalli Sannerud, Jen Thull, Stacy Hinz, Jeremy Wilcox

Motion by Laurel Christianson, second by Sonja Pederson, and carried, to approve the meeting agenda.

Sonja Pederson read the YME Mission Statement.

Jen Thull addressed the board on behalf of the Vote Yes Committee.

Motion by Matt Zempel, second by Amanda Lecy, and carried, to approve the consent agenda items as follows:

- -approval of the April 14, 2025 meeting minutes.
- -payment for claims in the amount of \$433,124.24 with checks numbered 28441-28596.
- and wire transfers in the amount of \$335,516.76 numbered 202400267-202400284.
- -finance reports, as submitted.
- -enrollment report, as submitted.

Advisors and members of the YME FFA Chapter were in attendance to share their experiences from a recent visit to Arizona.

Bert Raney Elementary Principal Lisa Hansen, reviewed her submitted report highlighting the upcoming events scheduled for the remainder of the school year.

YME MS/HS Principal, Stacy Hinz, reviewed her submitted report which included the May Newsletter, graduation information, 2025-26 student handbook updates, and credit recovery.

YME Superintendent, Rich Schneider, reviewed his submitted report sharing information on recruiting and hiring, the MRVCEO Trade Show, and a referendum update.

Principal Hansen and Superintendent Schneider recognized Principal Hinz on being named as MASOP Administrator of the Year.

A brief overview of the following committee meetings was given:

Finance Committee - April 16, 2025

Before/After School Care Task Force - April 28, 2025

Motion by Sonja Pederson, second by Ron Winter, and carried, to approve the leave of absence request received from Kaitlyn Kiffmeyer, elementary teacher.

Motion by Sonja Pederson, second by Ron Winter, and carried, to accept the resignation of Kari Coulter, Math Teacher.

Motion by Sonja Pederson, second by Ron Winter, and carried, to accept the resignation of Taryn Reishus, FaCS Teacher.

Motion by Sonja Pederson, second by Ron Winter, and carried, to accept the resignation of Amber Engesser, MS/HS Paraprofessional.

Motion by Sonja Pederson, second by Ron Winter, and carried, to accept the resignation of Samantha Placek, YME Honor Society Advisor.

Motion by Sonja Pederson, second by Ron Winter, and carried, to accept the resignation of Beth Jahn, Lego League Coach.

Motion by Sonja Pederson, second by Ron Winter, and carried, to accept the resignation of Amy Hoernemann, Lego League Coach.

Motion by Abbey Richter, second by Laurel Christianson, and carried, to approve the employment of Alexis Smith, School Readiness Teacher.

Motion by Abbey Richter, second by Laurel Christianson, and carried, to approve the employment of Austin Sorenson, Outside Maintenance Lead.

Motion by Abbey Richter, second by Laurel Christianson, and carried, to approve the employment of Shelly Hansen, Summer Custodial Lead.

Motion by Abbey Richter, second by Laurel Christianson, and carried, to approve the employment of Andrew Flaten, Summer Groundskeeper/Custodian.

Motion by Abbey Richter, second by Laurel Christianson, and carried, to approve the employment of Annelise Jahn, Student Technology Assistant.

Motion by Laurel Christianson, second by Matt Zempel, and carried, unanimously by roll call vote, to adopt the resolution placing Charles Thode on Unrequested Leave of Absence by 0.167 FTE.

Motion by Amanda Lecy, second by Sonja Pederson, and carried, to approve the purchase of Special Education Services from the Minnesota Valley Cooperative Center for the 2025-2026 school year.

Motion by Matt Zempel, second by Laurel Christianson, and carried, unanimously by roll call vote, to adopt the resolution approving membership with the MN State High School League for the 2025-2026 school year.

Motion by Amanda Lecy, second by Abbey Richter, and carried, to approve the adjusted Purchase of Accounting and Payroll Services Contract with MVCC for the remainder of 2024-2025.

Motion by Sonja Pederson, second by Matt Zempel, and carried, to approve the Fiscal Host Agreement with MVCC from July 1, 2025-June 30, 2030.

Motion by Laurel Christianson, second by Matt Zempel, and carried, to approve the Joint Powers Agreement with MVCC.

Discussion was held regarding class sizes for the 2025-26 school year.

Upcoming Events:

Baccalaureate - May 14, 2025 - Media Center - 6:30 pm Policy Committee Meeting - May 21, 2025 - 5:30 pm No School - Memorial Day - May 26, 2025 Last Day of the 2024-2025 School Year - May 30, 2025 Commencement - May 30, 2025 - Espeland Gym - 7:00 pm Staff Development - June 2, 2025 Board Meeting - June 9, 2025 - 6:00 pm