## NEW FAIRFIELD BOARD OF EDUCATION NEW FAIRFIELD, CT

The New Fairfield Board of Education held a special meeting/public forum on Thursday, May 2, 2019, at 7:00 p.m. in the New Fairfield Community Room, 33 Route 37, New Fairfield, CT.

### **MINUTES – May 2, 2019**

**PRESENT:** Peggy Katkocin (Chairman), Kathy Baker, Greg Flanagan, Kimberly LaTourette, Samantha Mannion, Rick Regan, Ed Sbordone and Stephanie Strazza

**ABSENT:** Dominic Cipollone

ALSO PRESENT: Superintendent of Schools Dr. Pat Cosentino, Chief Academic Officer Dr. Jason McKinnon, Director of Business and Operations Dr. Richard Sanzo, Director of Instructional Technology and Communications Dr. Karen Fildes, Middle School Principal Christine Baldelli, Pupil Personnel Director Andrea Einhorn, First Selectman Pat Del Monaco, Selectman Khris Hall, BOF Chairman Wes Marsh, State Representative Ken Gucker, Rusty Malik (QA+M) and Chuck Warrington (Colliers)

**I. CALL TO ORDER:** Chairman Peggy Katkocin called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. and opened the meeting to public participation concerning the proposed building projects.

### II. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

# III. NEW FAIRFIELD HIGH SCHOOL AND CONSOLIDATED SCHOOL BUILDING PROJECTS COMMUNITY FORUM INCLUDING PUBLIC COMMENT

Tom Perkins asked about the best use for the land and buildings and the process for building without being disruptive to the students.

BOE Chairman Peggy Katkocin noted that the main focus is to make the buildings safe and functional. She spoke of a verbal warning that the district received from NEASC regarding the facilities and the possibility that it could affect the school's accreditation. Renovations to the building would take approximately 3-4 years as a new construction can be built in 18-24 months. She noted that the June 30, 2019 deadline is only to get the application into the State to possibly be put on the docket. If the June 30<sup>th</sup> deadline is missed, the district would have to wait until the following year. She explained the process for the referendum and noted that it would most likely not be until the fall of 2019. She noted that the application to the State does not bind the district into doing anything.

Thea Perkins noted that very few residents were aware of the proposed building projects and suggested that there be more communication with the community. Superintendent of Schools Dr. Cosentino encouraged residents to give their emails or phone numbers to receive communication from the district. She noted that there will be Facebook Live events and information on the district's website. She encouraged all residents to attend the tour of the buildings on Saturday, May 4<sup>th</sup> at 10 a.m. beginning at Consolidated School.

Director of Business and Operations Dr. Richard Sanzo explained that the drawings so far are only conceptual drawings. He noted that once the project is approved at referendum, it becomes a project of the Permanent Building Committee.

Resident Bob Hoffman asked about the life of the buildings. Architect Rusty Malik (QA+M) noted that the new buildings should have a 50 year life span provided that updates and maintenance are done.

State Representative Ken Gucker spoke of examples of problems with the high school building when it was built in the early 1970's. He noted that the State will not put money into these buildings but may give a percentage reimbursement for new construction. He noted that he and fellow legislators will work to get New Fairfield as much money from the State as possible. He noted that building standards in 1972 were very different than the standards today.

Kathy Cook asked about the process for the referendum and the building project.

First Grade teacher Jessica Chacho asked about the Consolidated School project and specifically if there would be areas for gym and specials.

John Rogers spoke of his concerns about the expenditures for the project.

#### IV. ADJOURNMENT

**MOTION:** Kathy Baker made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 8:05 p.m. Greg Flanagan seconded the motion. **IN FAVOR:** Kathy Baker, Greg Flanagan, Peggy Katkocin, Kimberly LaTourette, Samantha Mannion, Rick Regan, Ed Sbordone and Stephanie Strazza

Respectfully submitted, Suzanne Kloos