AT A SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE ECTOR COUNTY INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT HELD AT THE ADMINISTRATION BOARD ROOM, 802 NORTH SAM HOUSTON, ODESSA, ECTOR COUNTY, TEXAS, AT 6:00 P.M., April 30, 2018, WITH THE FOLLOWING MEMBERS:

<u>Present</u>: <u>Absent</u>:

Delma Abalos Ray Beaty, D.C. Dr. Steve Brown Carol Gregg Nelson Minyard Dr. Donna Smith Doyle Woodall

School Officials: Mike Adkins, Tom Crowe, Roy Garcia, Carolyn Gonzalez, David

Harwell, Ann McClarty, Brian Moersch, David Morris, Kellie Wilks

Others: Mike Atkins, Robert Bleisch, Amy Russell, Marlane Burns, Reagan

Paquette, Paul Roman, Charles Quintela, Rene Barrientes, David Winter, Ravi Shakamuri, Ruth Campbell, Cynthia McNabb, Elaine

Sparks, Mary Franco

<u>24152</u> <u>Meeting Called to Order</u>: Carol Gregg, Board President, called the Board of Trustees Meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

SB 1882 ACT relates to a school district contract to partner with an open enrollment charter school in good standing or other eligible entity to operate a district campus (including institutions of higher education, non-profits or government entities).

Board President Carol Gregg opened the meeting with an explanation of how things had arrived to this point. She explained, this is the first time this legislation has been implemented and all parties involved, including TEA had to work through obstacles. Recently, it became apparent that TTU did not have enough time to meet all of its legal obligations for approving the contract before the TEA submission deadline of April 30, 2018. Initially, TEA thought a Memorandum of Understanding would suffice for the deadline requirement until the full contract was executed, but alerted ECISD officials that this was not the case. TEA has indicated this contract with an independent non-profit organization will work.

Texas Tech University Professor/Lecturer Robert A. Bleisch has been the point person for this arrangement from the beginning. He told Trustees, the education plan the school district and he intend to implement at the Ector MS remains the exact same plan proposed to the District and Community. Mr. Bleisch will oversee the academy, and it will have a governing Board that currently includes Superintendent of Cloudcroft Municipal Schools Dr. Porter Curtell, Odessa Businessman Ravi Shakamuri, former ECISD Teacher/Coach/Principal Ron Leach, Odessa Businesswoman Sondra Eoff, and Adjunct Faculty TechTeach at Texas Tech University Dr. Zinab Munoz.

[6:00-6:23 p.m.] Structure - Voting: 23 minutes

Request for Approval of Closed Meeting – Consultation with Attorney – Section 551.071 of the Texas Government Code (Discussion of Texas Tech University, College of Education or 501 (c)(3) entity Agreement)

[Board will consult with its attorney about (a) pending or contemplated litigation; or (b) matters in which the duty of the attorney to the governmental body under the Texas Disciplinary Rules of Professional Conduct of the State Bar of Texas clearly conflicts with Chapter 551 of the Open Meetings Act, specifically to seek or receive the attorney's advice on legal matters that are not related to litigation or the settlement of litigation]:

Board President Carol Gregg convened the Board of Trustees to closed session at 6:24 p.m.

Board President Carol Gregg reconvened the Board of Trustees to open session at 6:56 p.m.

[6:24-6:56 p.m.] Structure - Voting: 32 minutes

24154 Request for Approval of Agreement between Ector County Independent School District and Texas Tech University, College of Education: Moved by Abalos, seconded by Brown to approve Agreement between Ector County Independent School District and Ector Success Academy Network, a 501 (c)(3) entity partially comprised of employees and/or former employees of Texas Tech University, College of Education as presented. [6:56–6:57 p.m.] Structure - Voting: 1 minute

Motion unanimously approved.

The contract will now be forwarded to the Texas Education Agency for review and approval.

<u>Adjournment</u>: Carol Gregg, Board President, adjourned the Board meeting at 6:57 p.m.

Board President Board Secretary

Carol Gregg

Donna C. Smith

LSG Time Use Tracker Totals Structure - Voting: 65 minutes