Minutes of Called Meeting

The Board of Trustees Palestine ISD

The Board of Trustees of the Palestine Independent School District met for a Called Meeting on June 25, 2019 at 12:00 PM, at the Palestine ISD Administrative Offices, 1007 East Park Avenue, Palestine, Texas 75801.

Members present:	Michael Bennett, President Kurt Herrington, Vice President Stanley Sokolowski, Secretary Jeffrey Schwab Brandon Sheeley
Members absent:	Davi Killion Ingram Dyna Tutt
Others present:	Jason Marshall, Superintendent Suzanne Eiben, Assistant Superintendent of Human Resources David Atkeisson, Chief Financial Officer Lisa Edge, Recording Secretary
Visitors present:	Mimi Spreen

President Bennett called the meeting to order at 12:04 PM, announced that a quorum was present, that the meeting had been duly called, and that notice of the meeting had been posted for the time and in the manner required by law.

<u>Personnel</u>

Upon the recommendation of Superintendent Jason Marshall and Suzanne Eiben, Assistant Superintendent of Human Resources; a motion was made by Trustee Sheeley, seconded by Trustee Sokolowski to approve the following personnel as presented. Motion carried 5-0.

1) Atkins, Stephanie	Occup. Therapy Asst.	Palestine ISD
2) Ayadi-Eboigbe, Morenike	6 th Grade	A.M. Story Intermediate
3) Barrera, Tammy	4 th Grade	A.M. Story Intermediate
4) Bradley, Bruce	School Safety Director	Palestine ISD
5) Chonzena, Lareen	Speech Pathologist	Special Education
6) Galloway, Tracey	LSSP	Special Education
7) Hutchins, Michael	History	Palestine High School
8) Johnson, Aimee	Art	Palestine High School
9) Quarles, Sheryl	1 st Grade	Northside Primary
10) Smith, Justin	Special Education	Palestine High School
11) Taylor, Richard	Math	Palestine High School

12) Wright, Kyle

Social Studies

Palestine High School

Superintendent Jason Marshall accepted the resignations of Chelsea Forrest, Carl Hollums, Joshua Kennedy, Alexandra Naismith, Jake Roach, and Megan Tiner.

Community Eligibility Provision (CEP)

David Atkeisson, Chief Financial Officer, and Mimi Spreen, Director of Food Service; reviewed qualification requirements for Community Eligibility Provision (CEP). Mr. Atkeisson and Mrs. Spreen explained that CEP is a federal option that allows high poverty schools that have a high enough percentage of economically disadvantaged students to provide free breakfast and lunch to all students without having to collect school free/reduced meal applications. The Texas Department of Agriculture reimburses schools based on the number of identified students. Mrs. Spreen added that once a campus qualifies for CEP, the campus remains qualified for the next five school years.

For the 2019-2020 school year, the following campuses qualify for CEP: Northside Primary, Southside Elementary, A.M. Story Intermediate, and Palestine Junior High School. Washington Early Childhood Center has qualified for CEP for several years.

Upon the recommendation of David Atkeisson, Chief Financial Officer, a motion was made by Trustee Sheeley, seconded by Trustee Sokolowski to approve offering CEP for the next five school years to Northside Primary, Southside Elementary, A.M. Story Intermediate, and Palestine Junior High School students. Motion carried 5-0.

Executive Session

A motion was made by Trustee Sheeley, seconded by Trustee Schwab to adjourn into executive session to discuss personnel at 12:13 PM.

The Board reconvened into open session at 1:01 PM, and President Bennett stated that no action had been taken in closed session.

There being no further business, President Bennett declared the meeting adjourned at 1:02 PM.

Michael Bennett, President