# **DRAFT**

# Minutes of the April 29, 2019 - Regular School Board Meeting

The Board of Trustees of the Coppell Independent School District, #057-922, met in a regular session on April 29, 2019, in the Board Room of the Vonita White Administration Building, 200 S. Denton Tap Road in Coppell, Texas. The meeting was called to order by Tracy Fisher, Board President.

At 5:30 p.m., President Fisher declared the Board in Open Session.

Members present: Tracy Fisher, President; David Caviness, Vice President; Leigh Walker, Secretary (arrived at 5:59 p.m.); Manish Sethi; Anthony Hill; Thom Hulme and Nichole Bentley. A quorum was present.

Notice of this meeting was posted on April 26, 2019 at 12:30 p.m.

Great Educators Matter (GEM) recognition was held in the Board Room of the Vonita White Administration Building.

At 5:56 p.m., President Fisher declared the Board in Closed Session as authorized under the Texas Government Code, as allowed by Section 551.074 – Personnel Matters.

President Fisher declared the Board in Open Session at 7:00 p.m.

Staff present: Brad Hunt, Superintendent; Carol Snowden, Administrative Assistant; Sid Grant; Diana Sircar; Kristen Streeter; Dr. Angie Applegate; Stephen McGilvray; Louis Macias; Kelly Mires; Tilisa Stubbs; Jennifer Villines; Amanda Simpson; Tamerah Ringo; and Kathy Creek

Anthony Hill made a motion to approve new hires for professional personnel as recommended by the Superintendent. David Caviness seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

A motion to approve renewal of term and probationary contracts as recommended by the Superintendent was made by Anthony Hill and seconded by Nichole Bentley. The motion carried 7-0.

#### **DISTRICT HIGHLIGHTS**

Superintendent Brad Hunt presented the District Highlights:

- Four CISD Staff Members named Apple Distinguished Educators
- *Our Story* 2019 Spring/Summer Magazine
- Coppell ISD Day at the Capitol April 11, 2019

• Ivy League College Acceptances from Coppell High School/New Tech High @ Coppell

## AWARDS

The following awards were presented:

- TASB Student Video Contest Winner Coppell Middle School North
- Art Awards
  - Youth Art Month (YAM) State Capitol Art Exhibition
  - Youth Art Month (YAM) State Flag Design Winner (High School) and Overall State Flag Design Winner
  - Youth Art Month (YAM) State Flag Design Winner (Middle School)
- State Youth and Government Awards
- CISD Distinguished Alumni Awards
- Elementary and Secondary District Teachers of the Year

Kay Douglas, TASB Consultant, gave the Board of Trustees a certificate and pin for completion of the Exceptional Governance (XG) training.

Manish Sethi gave the invocation and led the Pledge.

### **OPEN FORUM**

The following individuals addressed the Board of Trustees during the Open Forum section of the meeting:

Justin Dodd - technology in the classrooms

Rishi Samani - Engineering Department at Coppell High School.

#### **DISCUSSION AND REPORT ITEMS - SUPERINTENDENT**

Diana Sircar, Chief Financial Officer, and Tilisa Stubbs, Director of Accounting, provided a disbursement review. An update on the weekend lock-down of the field at CMS East was given by Louise Macias, Executive Director of Facilities and Special Projects. Dr. Angie Applegate, Assistant Superintendent for Curriculum & Instruction, and Stephen McGilvray, Executive Director of Technology, presented information regarding the Long-range Technology Plan for Coppell ISD.

## **DISCUSSION AND REPORT ITEMS – BOARD OF TRUSTEES**

President Tracy Fisher gave a Legislative Update. As required under Senate Bill 1566, Texas Education Code – Section 11.159, the Board President presented the Continuing Education Credit Report. Manish Sethi has met the requirements for Tier 1 (Orientation and Legal Update Training). Nichole Bentley is deficient in the requirement for orientation to the Texas Education Code, but is scheduled to attend the training in June 2019. All of the trustees have met the

training requirements for Tier 2 (Team-Building) and Tier 4 (Evaluating Student Academic Performance). In addition, each trustee has exceeded the Tier 3 (Annual Continuing Education) training requirements.

Anthony Hill provided updates on the TEA School Board Advisory Council and School Health Advisory Council (SHAC). The National School Boards Association (NSBA) Annual Conference was discussed by Nichole Bentley.

### **CONSENT**

Thom Hulme made a motion to approve the following consent agenda items:

- 1. Approve the minutes of the regular meeting held on March 25, 2018; and special meetings held on April 8, 2019 and April 24, 2019
- 2. Approve 2018-2019 monthly budget amendments
- 3. Approve Financial Report for March 2019
- 4. Approve extension of current depository contract as allowed by Texas Education Code 45.205(b)
- 5. Approve Instructional Materials Allotment (IMA) request
- 6. Approve Allotment and TEKS Certification, 2019-2020

David Caviness seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

## **ACTION**

A motion to approve amending of the construction contract between Coppell ISD and Northstar Builders Group, LLC to include the Guaranteed Maximum Price of \$16,649,827 as proposed by Northstar Builders Group, LLC for renovations at Coppell High School, and that Sid Grant be authorized to sign the necessary documents was made by David Caviness and seconded by Manish Sethi. The motion carried 7-0.

Nichole Bentley made a motion to approve the Resolution as presented for Low Attendance Waivers due to the flu. Anthony Hill seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

A motion was made by Thom Hulme and seconded by David Caviness to adopt revisions to policy DC (LOCAL): Employment Practices, as presented. The motion carried 7-0.

Manish Sethi made a motion to adopt revisions to policy EIC (LOCAL): Academic Achievement – Class Ranking, as presented. Anthony Hill seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

A motion was made by Thom Hulme and seconded by Nichole Bentley to approve a Resolution concerning Proposed Legislation on an Audit and Moratorium of STAAR. The motion carried 7-0.

Manish Sethi made a motion to adjourn the meeting. David Caviness seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

The meeting was adjourned at 9:48 p.m.

Tracy Fisher, Board President

Leigh Walker, Board Secretary