#### MINUTES

# BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR BOARD MEETING JUNE 14, 2010

### BUDGET WORKSHOP

The Board met from 6:00-7:00 p.m. to work on the 2010-11 budget.

# PLEDGE AND INVOCATION

The Wylie Independent School District's Board of Trustees met in regular session on Monday, June 14, 2010, at 7:05 p.m. in the School Board Room. The pledge of allegiance was recited and the invocation was given by Ray Templeton.

Board members present were: Ray Templeton, Darrell Moore, Terry Merck, Jeff Rogers, Becky Rentz, Don Poindexter and Steve Keenum.

School personnel present were: Craig Bessent, Joey Light, Tommy Vaughn, Shauni Vaughn, Mike Kerley, Nadine Davis, Paul Jensen, Phil Boone, Debbie Lambert, Mitch Davis, Tony Spradlin, Nick Pruitt, Cynde Wadley, Terry Hagler, Carol Smith, and Desiree Clardy.

Guests present: Joy Wiggins, Candy Reagan - Wylie Weekly and Colter Hettich - Abilene Reporter News.

## OATHS OF OFFICE

The oaths of office were administered by Craig Bessent to newly elected board members; Ray Templeton, Terry Merck, and Darrell Moore.

# REORGANIZATION OF BOARD

Steve Keenum nominated Ray Templeton for President of the Board. There being no further nominations, Don Poindexter made a motion that nominations cease and Ray Templeton be elected by acclamation. Darrell Moore seconded the motion.

The motion carried: 6 for, 0 against.

The floor was opened for nominations for Vice President. Don Poindexter nominated Terry Merck as Vice President. Jeff Rogers made a motion that nominations cease and Terry Merck be elected by acclamation. Steve Keenum seconded the motion.

The motion carried: 6 for, 0 against.

# SCHOOL BOARD MINUTES JUNE 14, 2010 PAGE TWO

Nominations were opened for Secretary. Steve Keenum nominated Don Poindexter. There being no further nominations, Darrell Moore made a motion that nominations cease and Don Poindexter be elected by acclamation. Jeff Rogers seconded the motion.

The motion carried: 6 for, 0 against.

# MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING

The minutes of the May 10, 2010 meeting were read and approved as presented.

### CONSENT AGENDA

A motion to approve the consent agenda was made by  $\mbox{Don Poindexter}$  and seconded by  $\mbox{Jeff}$  Rogers.

The motion carried: 6 for, 0 against.

# ELECT TASB VOTING DELEGATE

By consensus of the board, Darrell Moore was selected as voting delegate and Steve Keenum will serve as alternate to the TASB Convention in September 2010.

#### INFORMATION ITEMS

Other items discussed but no action taken included: Final ADA report, Class size reduction report, Summer board meetings & workshops, TASB Convention/Houston, and TAKS test results.

### EXECUTIVE SESSION

The Board went into executive session under the authority of Article 6242-17, Section 2, Revised Civil Statutes of Texas and Education Code 16.176 from 7:50 P.M. to 8:28 P.M. to attend to personnel matters and employee benefits.

## PERSONNEL ITEMS

Upon the recommendation of Joey Light and the principals, the Board employed the following individuals, on a one year contract for 10 months; subject to assignment; for the 2010-11 school year: Kim Cooksey, Amy Sparks, Amber Smith, and Grant Martin. The motion was made by Don Poindexter and seconded by Darrell Moore.

The motion carried: 5 for, 0 against.

(Terry Merck left meeting - 8:00 p.m.)

# SCHOOL BOARD MINUTES JUNE 14, 2010 PAGE THREE

OFFICIAL	
ADJOURNMENT	1

There being no further business to discuss, a motion was made by Steve Keenum and seconded by Don Poindexter to adjourn. Official time was 8:30 P.M.

The motion carried: 5 for, 0 against.

Date	_	
	President	
	Secretary	