### MINUTES

#### BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR BOARD MEETING JUNE 8, 2015

#### BUDGET WORKSHOP

The Board met from 5:30-6:30 p.m. to work on the 2015-16 budget.

## PLEDGE AND INVOCATION

The Wylie Independent School District's Board of Trustees met in regular session on Monday, June 8, 2015, at 6:30 p.m. in the Wylie Early Childhood Library. The pledge of allegiance was recited and the invocation was given by Chris McCurley.

Board members present were: Mike Awtry, Jeff Rogers, Mark McClellan, Chris McCurley, Stephen Lowry, Steve Keenum, and Darrell Moore.

School personnel present were: Joey Light, Craig Bessent, Tony Spradlin, Tommy Vaughn, Mike Kerley, Rob Goodenough, Nadine Davis, Phil Boone, Aaron Amonett, Ricky Bacon, Shauni Vaughn, Lisa Bessent, Will Brewer, Brad McVay, Tim Smith, Robin McPherson, Lisa Salmon, Carol Smith, and Desiree Clardy.

Guests presents: See sign-in sheet.

#### OATHS OF OFFICE

The oaths of office were administered by Craig Bessent to newly elected board members; Chris McCurley - Place 1, Stephen Lowry - Place 6 and Mark McClellan- Place 7.

## REORGANIZATION OF BOARD

Stephen Lowry nominated Steve Keenum for President of the Board. There being no further nominations, Darrell Moore made a motion that nominations cease and Steve Keenum be elected by acclamation. Jeff Rogers seconded the motion.

The motion carried: 6 for, 0 against.

The floor was opened for nominations for Vice President. Jeff Rogers nominated Darrell Moore as Vice President. Stephen Lowry made a motion that nominations cease and Darrell Moore be elected by acclamation. Mark McClellan seconded the motion.

The motion carried: 6 for, 0 against.

#### SCHOOL BOARD MINUTES JUNE 8, 2015 PAGE TWO

Nominations were opened for Secretary. Mark McClellan nominated Stephen Lowry. There being no further nominations, Mike Awtry made a motion that nominations cease and Stephen Lowry be elected by acclamation. Darrell Moore seconded the motion.

The motion carried: 6 for, 0 against.

#### MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETINGS

The minutes of the May 11, 2015 and May 18, 2015 meetings were read and approved as presented.

#### CONSENT AGENDA

Stephen Lowry made a motion to approve the consent agenda. The motion was seconded by Darrell Moore.

The motion carried:  $\underline{5}$  for,  $\underline{0}$  against, 1 abstained (Mark McClellan).

## ELECT TASB VOTING DELEGATE

By consensus of the board, Mike Awtry was selected as voting delegate and Chris McCurley will serve as alternate to the TASB Convention in October 2015.

# CONSIDER APPROVAL OF CONSTRUCTION MANAGER AT RISK FIRM FOR WYLIE HS IMPROVEMENTS

Jeff Rogers made a motion to approve W.B.
Kibler Construction Company as the Construction
Manager at Risk firm and authorize Joey Light
to negotiate and sign contract for the high
school campus improvements. Mike Awtry seconded
the motion.

The motion carried: 6 for, 0 against.

## CONSIDER BOND PAYMENT TERM

A motion was made by Jeff Rogers and seconded by Stephen Lowry to approve the \$15,000,000 bond payment term for 10 years.

The motion carried: 6 for, 0 against.

#### INFORMATION ITEMS

Other items discussed but no action taken included: Final ADA report, Class size reduction report, Summer board meetings & workshops, Construction report, TASB Convention-Austin, and 2014 STAAR Test results.

#### EXECUTIVE SESSION

The Board went into executive session under the authority of Article 6242-17, Section 2, Revised Civil Statutes of Texas and Education Code 16.176 from 7:30 P.M. to 8:40 P.M. to attend to personnel matters, employee benefits, and school security.

#### SCHOOL BOARD MINUTES JUNE 8, 2015 PAGE THREE

PERSONNEL	
RECOMMENDATIONS	

A motion was made by Jeff Rogers and seconded by Darrell Moore to employ Megan Downs, Hailey Miller, Dan Laro Clark, Lauren Nelson, Seth Carroll, and Tracey Garcia on a one-year contract for 10 months for the 2015-16 school year; subject to assignment.

The motion carried: 6 for, 0 against.

## OFFICIAL ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business to discuss, a motion was made by Stephen Lowry and seconded by Chris McCurley to adjourn. Official time was 8:43 P.M.

The motion carried:  $\underline{6}$  for,  $\underline{0}$  against.

Date	
	President
	Secretary