MEMO—OFFICE OF THE PRINCIPAL

Date: January 22, 2024

To: Dr. Andy Barrett

From: Mrs. Kimberly Hornberg

Re: Viking Leaders Award



I want to express my sincere appreciation for the opportunity to present to the Board of Education students whose accomplishments and contributions to Heartland Elementary School exemplify the Viking Leaders Award. On Monday, January 22, 2024, we will present to the Board of Education the following students.

A. Kane County Adopt-A-Highway:

Nate Apgar, Sophia Behrens, Ginny Brylka, Emma Ciemny, Adele Crosetti, Kendall Harbach, Maggie Helland, Charlotte Mulcahy, JJ Rooney, Eliseo Sida, Alina Zadro

These HES Student Council students organized and now take care of a portion of Keslinger Road as part of the *Kane County Adopt-A-Highway* program to lead by example and better the Geneva area. We believe this is the first road adopted by a D304 school, and we couldn't be prouder of their efforts to keep our community clean. By doing so, they exemplified key proponents of the new District 304 Viking Leaders Award. The Student Council is led by Christine Jennings and Jessica Yonkman.

Together, these students and staff members distinguished themselves, our school and Geneva District #304. Thank you for this opportunity.