AT A REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE ECTOR COUNTY INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT HELD AT THE ADMINISTRATION BOARD ROOM, 802 NORTH SAM HOUSTON, ODESSA, ECTOR COUNTY, TEXAS, AT 6:00 P.M., May 19, 2015, WITH THE FOLLOWING MEMBERS:

Present: Absent:

Ray Beaty, D.C.
Dr. Steve Brown
Teri Ervin
Luis Galvan
Carol Gregg
Nelson Minyard
Dr. Donna C. Smith
Doyle Woodall

School Officials: Tom Crowe, Mike Adkins, David Harwell, David Finley, Roy Garcia,

Keith Garinger, Carolyn Gonzalez, Brian Moersch, Kellie Wilks

Others: Amber Saxton, Olga Garza, Daniel Loudenback, Shauna Saxton,

Christopher White, Rosie White, Bryson White, Dawnna Talley, Mike Talley, Mark Nash, Curtis & Wendy Hilliard, Mark Patrick, Magdalena Segura, Beth Domsten, Lyn Domsten, Ruth Domsten, Delbert Malay, Carla Byrne, Megan Watts Chapman, Elda Baeza, Ann McClarty, Amy Olivarez, Tracy Taylor, Allison Mendoza, Tessa Lisenbe, Isela Samaniego, Shari Story, Mike Atkins, Elaine Sparks,

Cynthia McNabb, Mary Franco

- **<u>Meeting Called to Order</u>**: Dr. Steve Brown, Board President, called the Board of Trustees Meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.
- <u>Pledge of Allegiance to United States and Texas Flags</u>: The United States and Texas flag pledges were led by Bonham JHS 9<sup>th</sup> Grade Students Lauren Eckert and Cassidy Fry
- **<u>22952</u>** <u>Invocation</u>: Invocation was led by Reverend Matt Wilson, Antioch Christian Church

## 22953 Special Presentations:

**World Class Leader in Education Award**: Support Services Technology Specialist Lyn Domsten was recognized as the May World Class Leader in Education Award winner.

**Recognition of United Way of Odessa Student Representatives**: Odessa High School students Ayra Cirilo and Valerie Ramos were recognized for their service and participation in the United Way's Annual Day of Caring and the United Way Allocations Panel.

Recognition of Coca-Cola Valued Youth Program National Essay Contest Winners: Career & Counseling Services Executive Director Carla Byrne introduced three Odessa High School students who swept the top three

spots in the National Essay Contest sponsored by the Coca-Cola Valued Youth Program. Of the 52 student essay entries chosen from 12 secondary schools across the nation our students placed as follows:

First Place: High School Junior Nathaniel Duarte
Second Place: High School Senior Jerelie Marquez
Third Place: High School Junior Monica Pando

Recognition of Business Professional of America National Champion: Career & Counseling Services Executive Director Carla Byrne introduced Permian High School senior BPA National Champion Taylor Thompson. Taylor received the National title on Presentation Management, Individual.

Introduction of the Top 10 Graduates from New Tech Odessa, Permian High School & Odessa High School: The Top 10 Graduates from New Tech Odessa, Permian High School and Odessa High School were introduced by their respective principals:

## NTO Top 10

- 1) Rilee Ann Rimke, Valedictorian
- 2) Janeth Griego Rascon, Salutatorian
- 3) Marcela Alejandra Hernandez Garcia
- 4) Emily Wilcott
- 5) Jonathan Mangus
- 6) Alejandria Davila
- 7) Melissa Benson
- 8) Angelica Segura
- 9) Mekayla Trujillo
- 10) Ana Baeza

## PHS Top 10

- 1) Caydn White, Valedictorian
- 2) Keenan Nash, Salutatorian
- 3) Aubrianna Saxton
- 4) Abigail Furst
- 5) Anna Muy
- 6) Zachary Black
- 7) Mikayela Talley
- 8) Kameryn Herron
- 9) Ariel Lopez Ruiz
- 10) Hope Harmonson

## OHS Top 10

- 1) Lindsay Helferich, Valedictorian
- 2) Ashika Angirekula, Salutatorian
- 3) Ayra Cirilo
- 4) Abigail Furst
- 5) Varun Vemulapalli
- 6) Prathmica Chandramohan
- 7) Victoria Inman
- 8) Truett Hilliard
- 9) Jacob Evans
- 10) Matthew Munoz

**Special Recognition**: Board of Trustees Luis Galvan was presented with the Extra Mile Award for his five years of service as on the ECISD Board. (Mr. Galvan did not seek another term.)

- <u>Verification of Compliance with Open Meeting Law:</u> Dr. Steve Brown, Board President, verified that the provisions of Section 551.001 of the Texas Government Code have been met in connection with public notice of this meeting.
- Request for Approval of Order Canvassing May 9, 2015 Board of Trustees Election Returns and Administration of Board of Trustees'

  Oath of Office: Moved by Minyard, seconded by Beaty to approve Order Canvassing May 9, 2015 Board of Trustees' Election Returns as presented.

Judge Susan Redford administered the Board of Trustee's Oath of Office.

Motion unanimously approved.

**<u>Request for Approval of 2015-2015 Salary Schedule</u>**: Moved by Minyard, seconded by Smith to approve the 2015-2016 Salary Schedule as presented.

The 2015-2016 Salary Schedule includes the following:

- Teacher starting pay increase by \$500 and pay steps increase by \$500
- ➤ All other employees salary increase of 2% of midpoint of their salary range
- Incentive pay added for non-Instructional paraprofessionals and certified nurse assistants for \$300

Motion unanimously approved.

Appearing before the Board – Citizens may address the Board on any agenda item by presenting their name, address, and agenda item to be discussed to the President of the Board on the form provided prior to the opening of the meeting. BED(Local)

San Jacinto paraprofessional Allison Mendoza addressed the paraprofessional incentive pay and pay raises.

- **<u>Request for Approval of Consent Agenda:</u>** Moved by Smith, seconded by Ervin to approve Consent Agenda as presented.
  - 1. Request for Approval of Minutes of Meetings:

April 14, 2015 – Board Work Study Meeting April 21, 2015 – Regular Board Meeting

- 2. Request for Approval of Bills for Payment
- 3. School Construction Report
- 4. Request for Approval of Purchases over \$50,000
- 5. Request for Approval of Permian High School Orchestra Out-of-State Travel to Orlando, Florida

- 6. Request for Approval of Lemonade Day Program Curriculum
- 7. Request for Approval of Dual Credit Matrix for 2015-2016
- 8. Request for Approval of Interlocal Agreement/TCC Service Agreement for iTCCS to ESC 18
- 9. Request for Approval of Quarterly Investment Report
- 10. Request for Approval of Interlocal Agreement between Region 16 Service Center and Ector County ISD to Participate in TexBuy Cooperative Purchasing Program

Motion unanimously approved.

Request for Approval of Closed Meeting - Personnel Matters - Section 551.074 of the Texas Government Code (Consider Recommendation of Superintendent to Give Notice of Proposed Non-Renewal of Term Contract to William Ritter and Discussion of Routine Personnel Report)

[Board will deliberate the appointment, employment, evaluation, reassignment, duties, discipline, or dismissal of public employees of the District]:

Board President Dr. Steve Brown convened the Board of Trustees to closed session at 7:24 p.m.

Board President Dr. Steve Brown reconvened the Board of Trustees to open session at 8:13 p.m.

Request for Approval to Take Action on Superintendent's Recommendation to Give Notice of Proposed Non-Renewal of Term Contract to William Ritter and Advise him that any Requested Hearing will be Conducted by the Board: Moved by Smith, seconded by Minyard to give notice of the Superintendent's proposed non-renewal of his Term Contract to William Ritter and advise him that any request for a hearing will be conducted by the Board of Trustees.

Motion unanimously approved.

**<u>Request for Approval of Routine Personnel Report</u>:** Moved by Smith, seconded by Woodall to approve the Routine Personnel Report as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

**<u>22961</u> Adjournment:** Moved by Minyard, seconded by Woodall to adjourn meeting.

Motion unanimously approved.

Board President Dr. Steve Brown adjourned the Board meeting at 8:15 p.m.

Regular Board Meeting May 19, 2015	
Board President	Board Secretary
	•
Dr. Steve Brown	Teri Wheat Ervin MEd