ORDER OF TRUSTEE ELECTION 2024 HUNTSVILLE INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT

STATE OF TEXAS § COUNTY OF WALKER §

1. In compliance with the Texas Education and Election Codes, and in accordance with the laws and Constitution of the State of Texas, the Board of Trustees of the Huntsville Independent School District ("District") in Walker County, Texas, hereby calls and orders a general election to be held on the 4th day of November 2025, for the purpose of electing two trustees to the Board for regular terms for the following positions:

Position 1 Position 2 Position 3

2. The polling places for this election shall be open for voting from 7:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. on Election Day. In accordance with Chapter 43 of the Texas Election Code, the Board of Trustees hereby designates as polling places for the election the regular county polling places in Walker County election precincts that contain territory from the District identified in the District's notice of election.

3. All requests by candidates to have their names placed on the ballot for the general election shall be in writing and signed by the candidate and filed with Angela Ligon, Administrative Assistant to the Superintendent, at the Hawkins Administration Building, 441 FM 2821 East, Huntsville, Texas 77320, along with any other information required by law. Applications for the general election may be filed on or after July 19, 2025, through August 18, 2025 at 5:00 p.m. The regular office hours for Angela Ligon beginning July 19, 2025, through August 18, 2025 will be Monday through Thursday 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. and 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. on Friday. Ms. Ligon's office shall be open from 8:00 a.m. until 5:00 p.m. on the last day to file.

4. Pursuant to Section 11.0581 of the Texas Education Code and Chapters 31 and 271 of the Texas Election Code, this election shall be conducted as a joint election with the County of Walker, Texas ("County"), the City of Huntsville, Texas ("CityH"), the City of New Waverly, Texas ("CityNW"), the City of Riverside, Texas ("CityR"), the Huntsville Independent School District ("HISD"), the New Waverly Independent School District ("NWISD") and the Walker County Hospital District ("WCHD")

5. The Walker County Storm Shelter, 455 SH 75 North, Huntsville, Texas 77320, is hereby designated as the <u>main early voting place</u>, and Diana L. McRae, Elections Manager, is

hereby appointed Deputy Early Voting Clerk (DEVC) for the election. Requests for ballots by mail should be directed in writing to Diana L. McRae at 1301 Sam Houston Avenue, Room 101, Huntsville, Texas 77340 or request may be made to Ms. McRae via email @ dianamcrae@co.walker.ts.us or walkervr@co.walker.tx.us. Requests for ballots by mail must be received no later than October 24, 2025, before the close of business. Early voting by personal appearance will be held on Monday, October 20, 2025, through Friday, October 31, 2025. Monday, October 20 – Friday, October 24 from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. on each day. Saturday, October 25, 2025 7:00 a.m. – 7:00 p.m., Sunday, October 26, 2025 10:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m. Monday, October 27 - Friday, October 31, 2025 hours will be 7:00 a.m. - 7:00 p.m. Early voting will take place at the Walker County Storm Shelter.

6. Angela Ligon is appointed Chief Election Official. She is hereby authorized, in conjunction with the Superintendent, to make all arrangements necessary for the holding of said election and to serve as the District's representative for the purpose of coordinating with the election officials from Walker County, the City of Huntsville and the Walker County Hospital District to conduct the election in accordance with the laws of this State.

7. The order in which the names of the candidates are to be printed on the ballot shall be determined by a drawing held in the office of Angela Ligon, as provided by Section 52.094 of the Texas Election Code. Ms. Ligon shall post a notice of the date, hour, and place of the drawing on the bulletin board used for the notices of meetings of the Board of Trustees of the District. The notice shall remain posted continuously for seventy-two (72) hours immediately preceding the scheduled time of the drawing. Angela Ligon shall also provide notice of the date, hour, and place of the drawing to each candidate not later than the fourth (4th) day before the day of the drawing. Each candidate involved in the drawing, or a representative designated by him or her, shall have a right to be present at the drawing and to draw for a position on the ballot.

8. The candidate receiving the highest number of votes for each respective position shall be deemed to be elected and be entitled to serve as trustee.

9. The results of the election shall be canvassed by the Board of Trustees not earlier than November 7, 2025, or later than November 14, 2025, at a meeting called by the Board in accordance with the requirements of the Texas Open Meetings Act.

10. All election materials including the notice of election, ballots, instruction cards, affidavits, and other forms which the voter may be requested to sign, and all early voting materials, shall be printed in English and Spanish, or Spanish translations thereof shall be made available in the circumstances permitted and the manner required by law.

11. A substantial copy of this order shall serve as proper notice of said election, with the exception that the notice shall also include the location of each early voting and election-day polling place established by Walker County. The notice, including a Spanish translation, shall be published at least one time not more than thirty (30) days or less than ten (10) days before the day of the election in a newspaper of general circulation in the District and posted not later than the 21st day before the election and remain posted continuously through election day on the bulletin board used for the notices of meetings of the Board of Trustees of the District. Angela

Ligon shall also deliver notice of this election to the Walker County Clerk not later than the 60th day before the election.

12. Said election shall be held in accordance with the Texas Election and Education Codes, and only resident qualified voters of the Huntsville Independent School District shall be eligible to vote at said election.

PASSED AND APPROVED, this 17th day of July 2025.

Ken Holland President, Board of Trustees Huntsville Independent School District

ATTEST:

Cathy Schweitzer Secretary, Board of Trustees Huntsville Independent School District

(District Seal)