TUPELO PUBLIC SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD OF TRUSTEES NOON MEETING MINUTES JANUARY 27, 2009

The Board of Trustees of the Tupelo Public School District convened in a regular meeting of the Board held in open session at noon on Tuesday, January 27, 2009, at the Hancock Leadership Center, 1920 Briar Ridge, Tupelo, Mississippi.

CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order by President Shawn Brevard who welcomed guests attending the meeting.

ROLL CALL AND ESTABLISHMENT OF A QUORUM

The following School Board members were present during roll call:

Members Present: Mrs. Shawn Brevard

Mr. Mike Clayborne Mrs. Amy Heyer Mr. John Nail Mr. Lee Tucker

Staff Present: Dr. Randy McCoy

Mr. David Meadows Mrs. Diana Ezell Dr. George Noflin Mr. Jim Turner Mrs. Linda Pannell Mrs. Julie Hinds Mrs. Kay Bishop Mrs. Jennifer Strunk Ms. Patrice Tate

III. REVIEW OF AGENDA TOPICS

Board Members and Tupelo Public School District staff members reviewed agenda topics and heard reports in a work session type format for the January 27, 2009, meeting of the Board of Trustees as follows:

- A. Mr. Pat Falkner City of Tupelo Long Range Plan Report
- B. Mrs. Julie Hinds Update on Reorganization Construction/Renovation
- C. Mrs. Diana Ezell Progress Report on Interventionists Grades K-6
- D. Dr. Randy McCoy Initial Discussion of TPSD 2009-2010 School Calendar
- E. Dr. Randy McCoy/Mrs. Linda Pannell FY09 Budget Reductions
- F. Consent Agenda
- G. Student Transfer Report
- H. Personnel Report

- I. Docket of Claims
- J. Financial Statements for Month Ending December 31, 2008
- K. Resolution Authorizing and Directing the Issuance of a Tax and Revenue Anticipation Note of the Tupelo Public School District

IV. EXECUTIVE SESSION

Mrs. Brevard suggested to the School Board a temporary executive session to determine the need for a permanent executive session for the purpose of discussing a student matter.

On a motion by Mr. Nail, seconded by Mr. Clayborne, the Board voted unanimously to enter temporary executive session for the purpose of determining a need for permanent executive session. The President of the Board declared the motion passed.

The room was cleared and the temporary executive session was called to order by President Shawn Brevard with the following people present: Mrs. Shawn Brevard, Mr. Mike Clayborne, Mrs. Amy Heyer, Mr. John Nail, Mr. Lee Tucker, Dr. Randy McCoy, and Mr. Mac Curlee.

The Board first considered the reason for entering executive session. Upon a motion by Mr. Nail, a second by Mr. Clayborne, the Board voted unanimously to remain in executive session for the purpose of discussing a student matter. The President of the Board declared the motion passed.

Mrs. Brevard reopened the meeting to tell all those in attendance the reason for going into executive session was to discuss a student matter.

Next, the parents of Student #12709 addressed the Board regarding a student matter. After speaking to the Board the parents of Student #12709 left the meeting.

Mr. Lee Tucker left the meeting at approximately 2:10 pm.

Following a lengthy discussion, on a motion by Mr. Clayborne, seconded by Mrs. Heyer, the Board voted unanimously to support and ratify the decision made by the faculty committee regarding this matter and found there was no reason to intervene with this school level decision.

V. ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business at this meeting of the Board of Trustees, it was moved by Mr. Clayborne and duly seconded by Mr. Nail that the Board adjourn. Mrs. Brevard declared the meeting in adjournment at 2:15 p.m.

APPROVED:	ATTEST:
TUPELO PUBLIC SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD OF TRUSTEES	
Shawn Brevard, President	Lee Tucker, Secretary