AT A REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE ECTOR COUNTY INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT HELD AT THE ADMINISTRATION BOARD ROOM, 802 NORTH SAM HOUSTON, ODESSA, ECTOR COUNTY, TEXAS, at 6:00 p.m., September 15, 2009, with the following members:

Present:

Absent:

Fay Batch Ray Beaty DC Carol Gregg Dr. Donnie Norwood Tom Pace Dr. Donna Smith Yollie Wilkins

- School Officials: Hector Mendez, Janet Baker, Shawn Bell, Dr. Steve Brown, David Finley, Leon Fuller, Wendy Hines, Brian Moersch, Randy Talley, Tonya Tillman, Gilbert Vasquez
- Others: Tommy Harrison, James Ramage, Oscar Aguero, Denise Shetter, Malcolm Tyree, Marcos Lopez, Chuck Isner, Sharyn Smith, Tristan Gene Specter, Lety Martinez, Marilee Holmes, Rini Saran, Elaine Smith, Marcos Zuniga, Juanita Silva, Sgt. Pete Frankson, Steve & Aurora Tercero, Shari Story, Amy Armstrong, Aurora Dominguez, Dr. Jaramillo, Mike Barker, Michael Adkins, Al Harris, Mike Atkins, Michelle Edwards, Mary Franco
- **20685** Meeting Called to Order: Dr. Donna Smith, Board President, called the Board of Trustees Meeting to order.
- **20686 Pledge of Allegiance to United States and Texas Flags:** The United States and Texas flag pledges were led by Bonham Junior High School students; Jarrian Wilson and Samantha Ramos.
- **20687 Invocation:** Invocation was led by Pastor Marcos Zuniga, New Life Chapel.

20688 Special Presentations:

Hispanic Heritage Month Proclamation -

Superintendent Hector Mendez read a proclamation in honor of Hispanic Heritage Month which runs from September 15 - October 15.

Texas Choral Director' Association Junior High School Honor Choir -

The following junior high school students who represented ECISD in the Texas Choral Directors' Association Junior High School Honor Choir in July were recognized:

Nimitz:

Chelcee Robinson Callie Swanson Caitlyn Williams Caleb Williams Courtney Williams

Hood:

Travis Burdine Derek Fletcher Cason Flores

Bowie:

Ben Herndon

Recognition of Outstanding Teachers –

The following 2008-2009 Outstanding Teachers were recognized:

Lamar Austin Blackshear Blanton Burleson Burnet Cameron Cavazos Dowling GP/A Goliad Gonzales Hays Ireland Johnson Jordan Milam Murry Fly Noel	Christina Valencia Alexander Galvan Cheri Aguero Sandra Elms Pamela Earnest Brenda Masters Carol Claussen Michelle Whetstone Erin Wright Gwen Newton Laura Ramirez Debby Parks Stacie Ahrlett Wendy Gesch Debbie Snodderly Renee Faulkner (Phyllis) Maribelle Minyard Becky Morris Manuela Herrera Holly Cannon Brenda Christian
r case	Dienua Uninstian

Reagan Ross Sam Houston San Jacinto Travis Zavala Bonham Bowie Crockett Ector Hood Nimitz AC/YC ATC OHS PHS	Peggy Crook Corina Rodriguez Cindy Shiroma Delia Perez Yolanda Swoopes (Lawerence) Melodi Rivera Magdeline Cook Caron Harris Brandon Chesser Rini Saran Milton Hunt Melissa Roth David Valencia Kalvanetta McPherson Stephanie Tercero Micah Pettigrew
	1
TPC	Barbara Kirchhoff

- 20689 Verification of Compliance with Open Meeting Law: Dr. Donna Smith, Board President, verified that the provisions of Section 551.001 of the Texas Government Code have been met in connection with public notice of this meeting.
- 20690 **Request for Approval of Consent Agenda:** Moved by Gregg, seconded by Wilkins that the Consent Agenda be approved as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

- 20691 Presentation of Migrant Students' Trip to "Experience in Democracy" Leadership Conference: Migrant students, who traveled to Washington D.C. in June for the "Experience in Democracy" Leadership Conference, presented a video of places they visited during their trip.
- 20692 **Presentation of District Accountability Data:** Assistant Superintendent for Elementary Operations Wendy Hines, presented the detailed report of ECISD's accountability data; which included scores broken down by campus, grade level, subject tested, and comparisons to state results.
- 20693 Discussion of Turnaround Teams for Academically Unacceptable Ratings: Assistant Superintendent for Secondary Operations Dr. Steve Brown, made a presentation about Turnaround Teams put into place for the District's academically unacceptable (AU) campuses.

20694 Request for Approval of Class Size Waiver for Fall Semester (2009-2010 School Year: Moved by Gregg, seconded by Norwood to approve the Class Size Waiver for Fall Semester (2009-2010) as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

20695 Request for Approval of Board Policies from TASB Update 85: Moved by Norwood, seconded by Gregg to approve Board Policies from TASB Update 85 with the exception of Board Policy BDAA(Local) Officers and Officials: Duties and Requirements.

Motion unanimously approved.

20696 Request for Approval of Additional Appraisers for 2009-2010: Moved by Gregg, seconded by Pace to approve Additional Appraisers for 2009-2010 as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

- 20697 Closed Meeting Consultation with Attorney Section 551.071 of the Texas Government Code (Discussion and Consideration of Pending Litigation: Cause No. MO-70-CV-64 CRUCIAL, ET AL. vs. ECISD – Desegregation Case) and Personnel Matters – Section 551.074 of the Texas Government Code (Routine Personnel Report) [Board will deliberate the appointment, employment, evaluation, reassignment, duties, discipline, or dismissal of public employees of the District]: No executive session was held.
- **20698 Request for Approval of Routine Personnel Report:** Moved by Gregg, seconded by Norwood to approve the Routine Personnel Report as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

20699 Adjournment: Dr. Donna Smith, Board President, adjourned the Board meeting at 7:47 p.m.

Board President Dr. Donna Smith Board Secretary Yollie Wilkins