MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF SOUTHWEST TEXAS JUNIOR COLLEGE

May 19, 2016

The Board of Trustees of Southwest Texas Junior College met in regular session May 19, 2016 in the Matthews Student Center – Blue Bonnet Room. Board President, Rodolfo R. Flores, called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.

Board members present were:

Rodolfo R. Flores, President
Dr. Harry O. Watkins, Vice President
Dr. Antonio H. Rivera, Secretary
Maria Elena Lara
Victor Lopez
Tony T. Moreno, and
Anita Shackelford

Also present was Dr. Hector Gonzales, President of the College.

The minutes of the April 21, 2016 regular Board meeting were read and approved as presented by Dr. Antonio H. Rivera, Secretary.

Board President Flores welcomed guests at the meeting which included college personnel Anne Tarski, Mark Underwood, Margot Mata, Ismael Martinez, Jesus J. Martinez, Raul Reyes, Herlinda Pena, Ana Lisa Conde, David Conde, Melissa Alejandro, Gilbert Bermea, Derek Sandoval, Randa Schell, Oscar Garcia, Luis Fernandez, Krystal Ballesteros, Lidia Alvarez and Wade Carpenter. SWTJC students in attendance were Ryan Alldritt, Elijah Evans, Jemi Edwards, Chris Martinez, Lawrence Summers, and Samantha Lecea. Also in attendance was, Paul Sorrels from Sul Ross – Rio Grande College, and special guest Polly Lopez.

Audience to Patrons: None

Board President Flores recognized newly re-elected board members, Dr. Harry O. Watkins and Dr. Antonio H. Rivera; who were all unopposed for Places 6 and 7 for the college election scheduled for May 7, 2016 that was canceled due to no opposition. President of the Board Rodolfo R. Flores and Lidia Alvarez, Notary administered the Oath of Office to Dr. Harry O. Watkins and Dr. Antonio H. Rivera. Copies are attached.

A motion was made by Victor Lopez and seconded by Anita Shackelford to keep the organization of the Board of Trustees as is with Rodolfo R. Flores as President, Dr. Harry O. Watkins as Vice President and Dr. Antonio H. Rivera as Secretary. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

Reports:

Dr. Hector Gonzales recognized the Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) members for the many accomplishments that they have accomplished this year. Elijah Evans was also recognizes as a Jack Kent Cook Scholar.

Crystal City Library construction update as presented by David Brown. A copy is attached.

President's Report presented by Dr. Hector Gonzales. A copy is attached.

Rodolfo R. Flores presented a 10 year service pin to Victor Lopez.

A motion was made by Dr. Harry O. Watkins and seconded by Maria Elena Lara to approve the financial statement as of April 30, 2016 as presented by Anne Tarski, Vice President of Finance. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

A motion was made by Tony T. Moreno and seconded by Maria Elena Lara to approve the Room and Board rates as recommended by Administration. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

A motion was made by Victor Lopez and seconded by Dr. Harry O. Watkins to approve the resolution authorizing the issuance of "Southwest Texas Junior College District combined fee revenue refunding bonds, series 2016" as presented by David Gonzales and Juan Aguilera of Escamilla & Poneck LLP, Attorneys and Counselors. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

A motion was made by Victor Lopez and seconded by Tony T. Moreno to approve the Key Government Finance, lease purchase agreement for I.T. purchases as presented by Raul Reyes. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

A motion was made by Anita Shackelford and seconded by Tony T. Moreno to approve the changes to the SWTJC 2016-2017 Catalog, Student Handbook, and the Faculty Handbook as presented by Dr. Mark Underwood. Motion carried unanimously. Copies are attached.

After convening in open session, Board President Flores called the Board into executive session at 8:14 p.m. to consider:

- A. Personnel matters relative to Tenure recommendations and Professor Rank
- B. Employees: Terminated/Resigned/Retired/New Hires/and Transfers

At 9:05 p.m. the SWTJC Board reconvened in regular session.

A motion was made by Anita Shackelford and seconded by Dr. Harry O. Watkins to approve Diane Underwood and Bonnie Clinebell be promoted to Professor and Assistant Professor, respectively as recommended by Administration. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

A motion was made by Victor Lopez and seconded by Dr. Harry O. Watkins to appoint Raul Reyes as Vice President of Administrative Services as recommended by Administration. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

A motion was made by Dr. Harry O. Watkins and seconded by Tony T. Moreno to approve the changes to the SWTJC Organizational Chart. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

Today's meeting was closed in honor of J	Toe Barker for his 40 years of service to SWTJC.
With no further business or action items to discuss, Anita Shackelford made the motion to adjourn. Dr. Harry O. Watkins seconded the motion. Motion carried at 9:08 p.m.	
Rodolfo R. Flores, President of the Board	<u> </u>
-	
I	Or. Antonio H. Rivera, Secretary of the Board

Dr. Hector Gonzales, Witness