Board of School Trustees Hillsboro, Texas

1786 - Minutes of Regular Board Meeting October 9, 2017

The Board met in a Regular Board Meeting, October 9, 2017 beginning at 6:00 p.m. in the Hillsboro ISD Administration Office Board Room, 121 East Franklin Street, Hillsboro, Texas 76645.

Members present:	Chris Teague, President
	Lupe Mancha, Vice-President
	John Sawyer, Secretary
	Gerardo Carbajal
Members absent:	Norman Baker
	Stephanie Johnson
	Amanda Scarborough

In attendance were: Superintendent Vicki Adams, Joe Adams, Angela Boyd, Paula Cox, Cindy Darden, Donald Gordon, Deb Hanson, Becky Montgomery, Raymond Nors, Tiffanye Oliver, Cathy Patterson, Robin Ralston, Barbara Robinson, Dale Snyder, Cami Steele, Greg Steele, Stephanie Tucker, and Dustin McDonald from The Reporter.

Chris Teague, Board President, called the meeting to order at 6:01 p.m. with a quorum present.

The invocation was delivered by John Sawyer, Chris Teague led the pledge.

Public Comments – none

Human Resource Day Resolution was read and a certificate was presented to Barbara Robinson.

Two new employees were introduced to the board.

Greg Steele, President of the HISD Education Foundation Board of Directors gave a report to the board.

15441 – Motion by John Sawyer, seconded by Gerardo Carbajal to approve the consent agenda with no changes.

Vote: Aye unanimous 4/0

4766

Correspondence to the board – a thank you note from Dale Snyder and the family of Agnes Burnsed for the memorial book placed in the Junior High Library,

15442 – Motion by Gerardo Carbajal, seconded by Lupe Mancha to approve Hillsboro ISD District Improvement Plan for 2017-2018. This was presented to the District Education Improvement Committee who approved it at their meeting on October 2, 2017.

Vote: Aye unanimous 4/0

The Hillsboro ISD Parent & Family Engagement Plan for 2017-2018 was reviewed by the board with no questions. The plan was previously presented to the District Education Improvement Committee that approved it at their meeting on October 2, 2017.

15443 – Motion by Gerardo Carbajal, seconded by Lupe Mancha to nominate Edith Omberg and Vivian Caldwell for the Hill County Appraisal District Board.

Vote: Aye – 3 Nay – 1, John Sawyer

Reports to the Board

Director and Principal reports were given to the board in the packet.

The 2017 LEP Report was given by Becky Montgomery.

Angela Boyd mentioned that it was National Principal Appreciation Month and thanked all the principals for all the great things they were doing for our district and students.

Superintendent's Report

- Facilities
- Homecoming: Parade, Pep-rally, and football game, October 20th
- Senior Citizen's Thanksgiving Lunch, November 11th 11:00 1:00 @ HIS
- Region 12 School Board Trainings
- Schlechty School Board Conference January 5th & 6th

President Teague announced the Board will now recess this open session and convene in a closed meeting to discuss the following item(s) listed on our agenda this evening as allowed by the Texas Government Code (and/or the Texas Education Code):

Agenda Item #16 as permitted by Gov't Code §551.074 – Personnel Matters Agenda Item #17 as permitted by Gov't Code §551.071 – Real Property

"No voting will take place in the closed meeting. Any action the board wishes to take as a result of discussion will take place in open session, 6:35 p.m."

President Teague announced the board has reconvened in open session, 7:29 p.m.

15444 – Motion by John Sawyer, seconded by Gerardo Carbajal to accept the superintendent's recommendation on hiring Breanne Snyder.

Vote: Aye unanimous 4/0

15445 – Motion by John Sawyer, seconded by Lupe Mancha to adjourn the meeting at 7:30 p.m.

Vote: Aye unanimous 4/0

President

Secretary