AT A REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE ECTOR COUNTY INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT HELD AT THE ADMINISTRATION BOARD ROOM, 802 NORTH SAM HOUSTON, ODESSA, ECTOR COUNTY, TEXAS, AT 6:00 P.M., February 17, 2015, WITH THE FOLLOWING MEMBERS:

<u>Present</u>: <u>Absent</u>:

Dr. Steve Brown
Ray Beaty, D.C
Teri Ervin
Luis Galvan
Nelson Minyard
Dr. Donna C. Smith
Dovle Woodall

School Officials: Tom Crowe, Mike Adkins, David Harwell, Wendy Hines, David

Finley, Roy Garcia, Keith Garinger, Carolyn Gonzalez, Brian

Moersch, Todd Vesely, Kellie Wilks

Others: Mike Atkins, Brittiny Stewart Uribe, Mary McBride, Christine Mason,

Ann McClarty, Marta Jovani, Stephanie Howard, Nic McCullough, Donna O'Bryant, Daniel Loudenback, Annette Macias, Heather Morales, Carla Byrne, Debbie Lieb, Natalie Fitzgerald, Monte Howell, Elaine Smith, Jason Berridge, Megan Watts Chapman, Jeff

Whitaker, Elaine Sparks, Cynthia McNabb

<u>Meeting Called to Order:</u> Dr. Steve Brown, Board President, called the Board of Trustees Meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

(Teri Ervin was absent for this portion of the meeting.)

<u>Pledge of Allegiance to United States and Texas Flags</u>: The United States and Texas flag pledges were led by Goliad Elementary Students Cassie Biggerstaff and Gilbert Rivera

(Teri Ervin arrived at 6:05 p.m. and was present for the remainder of the meeting.)

<u>22843</u> <u>Invocation</u>: Invocation was led by Reverend Allen Weakland, Eisenhower Church of Christ

22844 Special Presentations:

TASB Stand Up for Texas Public Schools Recognition for Complex Community Federal Credit Union: Complex Community Credit Union was recognized by TASB Stand Up for Texas Public Schools for their contribution to children's education.

Announcement of PTA Reflections Winners: Superintendent Tom Crowe introduced the following PTA Reflections Winners:

John Cisneros Visual Art – World Peace Ezaiah Cisneros Visual Art – A Colorful World

Erica Morales Dance Choreography – Don't Be A Bully!

Aakash Angirekula Literature – Respect, Courtsey, and Cooperation Brianna Beene Visual Art – Eva the Biggest Helper in the World

Recognition of TMEA All-State Musicians: Director of Fine Arts Dr. Daniel Loudenback introduced the following TMEA All-State Musicians:

Brayden Grant – Permian HS Junior Nicholas McCullough – Permian HS Senior Seneca Mick – Permian HS Sophomore Tiahnna Sherman – Permian HS Junior Isaac Torres – Permian HS Sophomore

Recognition of New Tech Odessa Named NTN Demonstration School: New Tech Odessa was recognized for being named as a New Tech Network Demonstration School. Dean of Students Gerardo Ramirez accepted award on behalf of the campus.

World Class Leader in Education Award: Superintendent Tom Crowe introduced Milam Elementary Reading/Dyslexia Teacher Becky Morris as the February World Class Leader in Education.

- <u>Verification of Compliance with Open Meeting Law</u>: Dr. Steve Brown, Board President, verified that the provisions of Section 551.001 of the Texas Government Code have been met in connection with public notice of this meeting.
- Request for Approval of Innovative Courses Submission to TEA for Occupational Safety & Environmental Training for OCTECHS Students:

 Moved by Minyard, seconded by Galvan to approve the Innovative Courses Submission to TEA for Occupational Safety & Environmental Training for OCTECHS students as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

Request for Approval of Budget Amendment #2: Moved by Beaty, seconded by Minyard to approve Budget Amendment #2 as presented. This amendment included the designation of \$35 million for capital improvement projects such as Campus & Instruction improvements; Facilities & Operations projects; Information Technology, Fine Arts and Athletics.

For: Against: Beaty Smith Woodall

Ervin Galvan Minyard

Dr. Donna Smith and Mr. Doyle Woodall voted against the amendment citing the desire for more direct teacher involvement with the designation of funds.

Motion carried.

22848 Request for Approval of Board Policy FMH (Local) Student Activities:

Commencement: Moved by Minyard to adopt Board Policy FMH (Local)

Student Activities: Commencement as presented to become effective for School Year 2015-2016. The changes require students to satisfactorily complete all coursework requirements for graduation and satisfy all applicable state testing requirements in order to participate in commencement activities and ceremonies.

Motion unanimously approved.

Request for Approval of Election Order and Notice for May 9, 2015

Board of Trustees Election: Moved by Smith, seconded by Minyard to approve the Election Order and Notice for May 9, 2015 Board of Trustees Election as presented. Positions 1, 3, and 6 will be contested in this election.

Motion unanimously approved.

Request for Approval of Guaranteed Maximum Price (GMP) for Permian High School Phase III: Kitchen/Cafeteria Expansion and Interior: Moved by Galvan, seconded by Minyard to approve the Guaranteed Maximum Price (GMP) for Permian High School Phase III: Kitchen and Cafeteria Expansion and Interior as presented. The total projected cost of Permian HS Phase II is \$4,092,930. In addition the District's School Nutrition Department has agreed to fund \$2.3 million from its budget for cafeteria improvements and equipment.

Motion unanimously approved.

- **<u>22851</u>** Request for Approval of Consent Agenda: Moved by Smith, seconded by Woodall to approve Consent Agenda as presented.
 - 1. Request for Approval of Minutes of Meetings:

January 13, 2014 – Board Work Study Meeting January 20, 2014 – Regular Board Meeting

- 2. Request for Approval of Bills for Payment
- 3. School Construction Report
- 4. Request for Approval of Purchases over \$50,000
- 5. Request for Approval of Quarterly Investment Reports

Motion unanimously approved.

Request for Approval of Closed Meeting – Personnel Matters - Section 551.074 of the Texas Government Code (Discussion of Routine Personnel Report) [Board will deliberate the appointment, employment, evaluation, reassignment, duties, discipline, or dismissal of public employees of the District]:

No closed session held.

<u>22853</u> Request for Approval of Routine Personnel Report: Moved by Smith, seconded by Woodall to approve the Routine Personnel Report as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

<u>22854</u> Adjournment: Moved by Woodall, seconded by Galvan to adjourn meeting.

Motion unanimously approved.

Board President Dr. Steve Brown adjourned the Board meeting at 7:01 p.m.

Board President	Board Secretary
Dr. Steve Brown	Teri Wheat Ervin MEd