AT A SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE ECTOR COUNTY INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT HELD AT THE ADMINISTRATION BOARD ROOM, 802 NORTH SAM HOUSTON, ODESSA, ECTOR COUNTY, TEXAS, at 5:30 p.m., August 23, 2007, with the following members:

Present: Absent:

Ray Beaty, DC Renda Berryhill

Butch Foreman Carol Gregg

Randy Rives

Dr. Donna C. Smith Dovle Woodall

School Officials: Hector Mendez, Dr. Steve Brown, David Finley, Leon Fuller, Irene

Granado, Alma Guerrero, Tonya Tillman, Gilbert Vasquez

Others: Tommy Harrison, Elaine Marsilio, Nancy Hussey, David Harwell, Fay

Batch, Chuck Isner, Michael Stafford, Dana Christian, Terry Christian, Dora Scott, Moniar Ramirez, Rachel Dobbs, Al Harris, Mike Adkins, Mike

Atkins, Nelda Loya

<u>19946</u> <u>Meeting Called to Order</u>: Carol Gregg, Board President, called the

Special Board Meeting to order.

19947 <u>Verification of Compliance with Open Meeting Law</u>: Carol Gregg,

Board President, verified that the provisions of Texas Government Code Section 551.001 had been met in connection with public notice of this

meeting.

19948 Public Hearing to Discuss Proposed 2007-2008 Budget and Tax Rate:

A Public Hearing was held to discuss the proposed 2007-2008 Budget and

Tax Rate.

Tonya Tillman, Assistant Superintendent for Business Operations,

presented the 2007-2008 Proposed Budget and Tax Rate.

19949 Request for Approval of Adoption of 2007-2008 Official Budget:

Moved by Smith seconded by Woodall to approve the adoption of the

2007-2008 Official Budget as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

19950 Request for Approval of 2007-2008 Tax Rate: Moved by Foreman,

seconded by Woodall to approve the 2007-2008 Tax Rate as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

19951 Request for Approval to Appoint/Elect SHAC Committee Members:

Moved by Smith, seconded by Foreman to postpone the election until after the November Board of Trustee Position 2 election.

For:
Smith
Beaty
Foreman
Gregg
Rives
Woodall

Motion denied.

The following SHAC Committee Members were appointed by Board Members:

NAME APPOINTED BY Kim Johnson (parent) Gregg Jeff Russell (parent) Beaty Rhonda Espinoza (parent) Berryhill Becky Marlar (parent) Rives Johnny Carter (parent) Smith Dr. Dave Davidson (parent) Woodall Rachel Dobbs (parent) Foreman

The following SHAC Committee Members were nominated:

NAME NOMINATED BY

Jeanie Holbrook (citizen)

Lori Vickers (citizen)

Dr. Kris Howard (citizen)

Gino Solla (citizen)

Dianne Zugg (parent)

Kathy Rhodes (citizen)

Amanda Abila (parent)

Gregg

Beaty

Berryhill

Woodall

Rives

Foreman

The following SHAC Committee Members were elected by majority vote:

Dianne Zugg	6 votes
Lori Vickers	4 votes
Amanda Abila	4 votes
Dr. Kris Howard	3 votes
Gino Solla	3 votes

Moved by Woodall, seconded by Foreman to allow both nominees with three votes to serve on the Committee and amend the SHAC By-laws accordingly.

Motion unanimously approved.

The following District administrative staff members will serve on the Committee as non-voting members:

Laura Mathews Vicki Leach

19952 Request for Approval to Accept Conveyance of Permian High School
Sports Workout Facility: Moved by Smith, seconded by Rives to accept
the conveyance of Permian High School Sport Workout Facility as
presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

Closed Session – Personnel Matters - Section 551.074 of the Texas
Government Code (Discussion of Contract for Interim Superintendent,
Hector Mendez) [Board will deliberate the appointment, employment,
evaluation, reassignment, duties, discipline, or dismissal of public
employees of the District]: Carol Gregg, Board President, convened the
Board of Trustees in Executive Session at 6:10 PM.

Carol Gregg, Board President, stated the Board ended its Closed or Executive Session at 6:39 PM.

Request for Approval of Contract for Interim Superintendent Hector Mendez: Moved by Woodall, seconded by Smith to enter into an at-will contract with Hector Mendez as Interim Superintendent at a total salary of \$172,500.

For:
Foreman
Gregg
Smith
Woodall

Motion carried.

<u>19955</u>	Adjournment: Board Meeting a	00,	Board	President,	adjourned	the	Special
	Board Presiden Carol Gregg	t		Board Se	•		