# THREE RIVERS SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD OF DIRECTORS SPECIAL SESSION April 6, 2022

Three Rivers School District Board of Directors met for a special session Wednesday, April 6, 2022, at Illinois Valley High School, 625 E. River Street, Cave Junction, Josephine County, Oregon. The meeting was streamed online for the public and is currently available for viewing at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BubKaAirDQA

#### PRESENT

Jennifer Johnstun, Board Chair Jenn Searle, Board Member Susan Fischer-Maki, Board Member

Dave Valenzuela, Superintendent

Casey Alderson, Deputy Superintendent Stephanie Allen-Hart, Director Jessica Durrant, Director Rob Saunders, Director Shelly Quick, Recording Secretary

## ABSENT

Paul Kelly, Board Vice Chair Rich Halsted, Board Member

### CALL TO ORDER

Board Chair Johnstun called the meeting to order at 5:10 p.m. and led the audience in the Pledge of Allegiance. She stated that the special session was a public hearing for the charter proposal for the Kalmiopsis Community Arts School. She then introduced Kristin Miles with OSBA who explained that the hearing was required by law and discussed the next steps, which include a board vote on the proposed charter within 30 days.

#### Presentation by members of the proposed Kalmiopsis Community Arts School (KCA)

KCA teacher leaders Kaci Elder, Ryan Forsythe, Kimiko Maglio and Melissa DeNardo introduced themselves and made a presentation to the School Board on the proposed Kalmiopsis Community Arts School which included information on the following:

- Organizational structure
- Survey results/public interest
- Campus enrollment projection
- KCA partnership with Illinois Valley High School and Three Rivers School District
- Core Values
- Student discipline/restorative justice practices
- The KCA school year/calendar and schedule

#### Public Testimony

Public testimony was heard from the following individuals: Christie Fairchild, Dr. John L Gardiner, Joya Feltzin, Kate Dwyer, Sophie Traub, Michelle Townsend, Michael Franklin, Deborah Murphy, Judy Mayo, Mindy King, Susan Gustafson, Lindsey Jones, Kenny Houck, Alberta Heagney, Terry Davis, Sarah Bohmker, Joyce Abrams, Gloria Stone and Joy McEwen.

#### Questions from the Board

Time was provided for the Board members to ask questions. Some of the questions included the role of their board, their proposed cap on the number of students, the proposed budget, instructional time and

how they would ensure sufficient staff and appropriate licensure.

Superintendent Valenzuela shared that he will keep the board apprised of future questions and responses. The information will be included in the Superintendent Report at the April 20th board meeting.

### FUTURE MEETING DATES.

- o Board Regular Session Wednesday, June 15, 2022 at 6:00 p.m.
- o Board Retreat/Regular Session Wednesday, July 20, 2022

## **ADJOURNMENT**

Board Chair Johnstun adjourned the meeting at 6:50 p.m.