The Waskom School Board convened in Regular Session on Monday, November 8, 2010, at 7:00 p.m. in the Central Office Conference Room with the following officers and members present: Christy Gentry, member; Michelle Thomas, Secretary; Dane Loyd, member; Jimmy Whorton, member, Michael Allwhite, President; and Jimmy E. Cox, superintendent. Others attending were, Sandra Rodgers, acting secretary; Kathy Johnson, business manager/payroll clerk, Nancy Dillard, accounts payable/food service manager, Rachel Hawkins, Margie Bell, Stuart Musick, Wade Youngblood, Shanta Bates, Percy Alexander and Beverly Johnson.

Stan Boyd, Vice-President; member was not present.

The meeting was called to order by Michael Allwhite and Jimmy E. Cox gave the invocation.

PUBLIC COMMENT

No public comment.

FINANCIAL STATEMENT AND BILLS

The financial statement and bills were reviewed.

TAX COLLECTOR REPORT

The tax collector report for October was reviewed.

REPORTS

Superintendent's Reports:

- a) Financial Update.
- b) Upcoming Events.

Elementary School Campus Improvement Plan Middle School Campus Improvement Plan High School Campus Improvement Plan District Campus Improvement Plan

CONSENT AGENDA

A motion was made by Dane Loyd, seconded by Jimmy Whorton, to approve the consent agenda as presented with corrections to improvement plans, (Campus Plans and Adoption of Resolution of Acknowledgment of Make Education a Priority.)

Vote: The motion carried unanimously.

PERSONNEL-RESIGNATION

A motion was made by Jimmy Whorton, seconded by Christy Gentry, to accept the resignation of Garrett Jones, High School Tech Application Teacher.

Vote: The motion carried unanimously.

PERSONNEL-EMPLOYMENT

A motion was made by Dane Loyd, seconded by Jimmy Whorton, to employ Dean Lester as High School Tech Application Teacher on a 10 month probationary contract for the remainder of the 2010/2011 school year.

Vote: The motion carried unanimously.

RECESS

The board recessed at 8:28 p.m. and went back into session at 8:34 p.m..

BOARD MEMBER APPOINTMENT

A motion was made by Dane Loyd, seconded by Jimmy Whorton to begin the appointment process to fill the vacant board position.

Vote: The motion carried unanimously.

Dane Loyd nominated Percy Alexander. Michelle Thomas nominated Shanta Bates.

A motion was made by Dane Loyd, seconded by Jimmy Whorton to close nominations.

Vote: The motion carried unanimously.

Percy Alexander spoke. Shanta Bates spoke.

Votes: Shanta Bates-3 (Allwhite, Thomas, Gentry) Percy Alexander-2 (Loyd, Whorton)

New appointed board member: Shanta Bates.

ADJOURN MEETING

A motion was made by Dane Loyd, seconded by Jimmy Whorton, to adjourn the meeting at 8:51 p.m.

Vote: The motion carried unanimously. So ordered by Michael Allwhite.

President

Secretary