## MINUTES SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT #239

The special meeting of the Rushford-Peterson School District #239 was called to order by Chairperson John Linder at 10:30 a.m. on Friday, February 1, 2019 at the Rushford-Peterson Schools Forum Room, 1000 Pine Meadows Lane, Rushford, MN for the purpose of conducting the first round of interviews for the Superintendent position.

Members Present: Chris Grindland, Valarie Howe, John Linder, Jeff Michel, Bonnie Prinsen and Kathy Wade

Members Absent: Joyce Iverson

Moved by Prinsen, seconded by Wade to adopt the agenda. Motion carried unanimously.

The school board conducted the interviews for the Superintendent position as follows: Todd Lee at 10:30 a.m. and Jay Meiners at 2:30 p.m.

The board adjourned the special meeting at 3:30 p.m.

At 4:00 p.m. Chairperson John Linder called the special meeting to order.

Members Present: Chris Grindland, Valarie Howe, John Linder, Jeff Michel, Bonnie Prinsen and Kathy Wade Joyce Iverson participated via FaceTime but was not able to vote.

Moved by Wade, seconded by Michel to adopt the agenda. Motion carried unanimously.

The board discussed the first round of interviews. A motion was made by Prinsen, seconded by Michel to select the following candidates for a second interview to be held on Friday, February 8, 2019; Jay Meiners, Jon Thompson and Todd Lee. Motion carried unanimously.

The board reviewed the list of questions for the second round of interviews. No action was taken.

Moved by Wade, seconded by Michel to approve the 2019-2020 Early Retirement Incentive Guidelines for teachers (3-year plan). With a roll call vote of 3:3 (In favor: Linder, Michel, Wade | Against: Grindland, Howe, Prinsen) motion fails due to lack of majority.

Moved by Howe, seconded by Grindland to approve the 2019-2020 Early Retirement Incentive Guidelines for teachers (2-year plan). With a roll call vote of 6:0, motion carried unanimously.

Motion by Prinsen, seconded by Wade to adjourn the special meeting at 5:05 p.m. Motion carried unanimously.

John Linder, Chairperson

Bonnie Prinsen, Clerk