TUPELO PUBLIC SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD OF TRUSTEES MINUTES SPECIAL CALLED MEETING MAY 3, 2019

The Board of Trustees of the Tupelo Public School District convened in a special called meeting of the Board held in open session at noon on Friday May 3, 2019, at the Hancock Leadership Center, 1920 Briar Ridge Road, Tupelo, Mississippi.

I. CALL TO ORDER

Board President Sherry Davis called the meeting to order.

II. ROLL CALL AND ESTABLISHMENT OF A QUORUM

The following School Board members were present during roll call:

Mr. Joe Babb Ms. Sherry Davis Mr. Paul Mize Mr. Eddie Prather Mr. Ken Wheeler

Mrs. Davis announced a quorum and stated that the Special Called meeting was called pursuant to Mississippi Open Meeting Law (MS Code Sections 25-41-1 through 25-41-17) for the purpose of hiring Administrative Personnel. A copy of the Notice calling the meeting is marked **EXHIBIT 1** and held in the Exhibit Book of this meeting date and incorporated herein.

III. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Board President Sherry Davis led the participants in reciting the Pledge of Allegiance.

IV. Administrative Announcements

Superintendent Dr. Rob Picou announced new principals for Lawhon and Lawndale Elementary Schools. Ms. Talina Knight will move from TMS Assistant Principal to Lawndale Principal effective July 1, 2019. Mr. Ian Shumpert will move from TMS Assistant Principal to Lawhon Principal effective July 1, 2019.

V. ACTION ITEMS

Dr. Rob Picou submitted the Licensed and Classified Personnel recommendations for approval. On a motion by Mr. Prather, seconded by Mr. Wheeler, the Board President declared the motion unanimously passed.

IV. Adjournment

As the purpose of the called meeting was fulfilled, Mr. Wheeler made a motion that the meeting be adjourned. Mr. Mize seconded the motion, which was approved unanimously, and the Board stood adjourned at 12:20 p.m.

APPROVED: TUPELO PUBLIC SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD OF TRUSTEES

ATTEST:

Sherry S, Davis, President

Joseph B. Babb, Secretary