Minutes Charter Authorizing Panel Meeting February 15, 2022

The Charter Authorizing Panel met on Tuesday, February 15, 2022. Panel Chair Deborah Coffman called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m.

Present: Chair Deborah Coffman, Mr. Phil Baldwin, Ms. Toyce Newton, Dr. Sonja Wright-McMurray, Ms. Karlie Saracini, Dr. Eric Flowers

The transcription of this meeting may be accessed on the Division of Elementary and Secondary Education website at the following: <u>https://dese.ade.arkansas.gov/about/archived-minutesvideo</u>

II. Consent Agenda

Dr. Sonya Wright-McMurray moved to approve the CAP minutes from January 18, 2022. Seconded by Mr. Phil Baldwini. Motion carried unanimously.

III. Action Agenda

III.1. Consideration of Open-Enrollment Charter Application Revisions

III.1.a. Consideration of Revised Open-Enrollment Charter Application

Dr. Matthew Sutherlin presented the new Open-Enrollment Charter Application. Two major changes were presented: The addition of the Community Schools Model to the Application and a list of frequently requested waivers.

Mr. Phil Baldwin moved to approve the application as presented. Dr. Sonya Wright-McMurray seconded. Motion passed unanimously.

III.2. Consideration of Digital Learning Plans

III.2.a. Consideration of Cross County Elementary Tech Digital learning Plan-Extend digital learning plan for the duration of Charter.

Cross County School District submitted a renewal for its Digital Learning Plan (DLP) through the duration of the Charter (June 30, 2027). The plan has been reviewed by DESE and approved.

Mr. Phil Baldwin moved to approve the renewal of the DLP as presented. *Dr. Eric Flowers seconded*. *Motion passed unanimously*.

III.3. Consideration of Charter Renewals and Amendments

III.3.a.Consideration of Haas Hall Academy's five (5) year charter renewal.

Haas Hall Academy requested a five (5) year charter renewal with an additional campus to be added in Fort Smith. In order to accommodate this new campus, a cap increase of five hundred (500) was requested. The renewal was requested with additional waivers that are outlined in the Legal Review.

Mr. Phil Baldwin moved to approve the renewal and amendment with the revision of the Legal Review. Ms. Toyce Newton seconded. Motion passed unanimously.

III.3.b. Consideration of Premier High School Fort Smith Amendment

Premier Hight School Fort Smith has submitted an amendment to locate their campus within one thousand (1000) feet of a Dollar General store which has an off-premises liquor license. A letter from Alcoholic Beverage Control Enforcement was submitted as evidence.

Ms. Saracini moved to approve the amendment as presented. Dr. Sonya Wright-McMurray seconded. Motion passed unanimously.

III.3.c. Premier High School of Little Rock Amendment Request

Premier High School of Little Rock submitted an amendment request to merge Premier High School of Little Rock and Premier High School of Fort Smith under a new Charter, Premier Hight Schools of Arkansas. The Charter requested to add a new campus in Texarkana. In order to accommodate the new campus, the Charter requested to increase the enrollment to six hundred (600). *Dr.* Sonya Wright-McMurray moved to approve the amendment as presented. Mr. Phil Baldwin seconded. Motion passed unanimously.

IV. Adjournment

Ms. Sonja-Wright McMurray moved to adjourn, seconded by Mr. Phil Baldwin. Motion carried unanimously. The meeting was adjourned at 11:35 a.m.

Ms. Deborah Coffman, Charter Authorizing Panel Chair