Nova Classical Academy Board of Directors Meeting Minutes Special Meeting – HELD ONLINE/REMOTELY December 21, 2020

Directors Present: Jason Belter, Mel Hernandez, Claudia Gumbiner Hungs, Divya Karan, Nick LaRusso, Becky Lund, Theresa Nelson, Frank Ross, Diane Ruday, Jennie Winter

### **Directors Absent: None**

Advisors Present: Brett Wedlund, Chris Rovn, Missy Johnson, Michael Pelofske, Brooke Tousignant, Joe Aliperto (Dieci), Ginger Gabor (NPTO Representative), Sarah Jeong (Student Representative)

#### Others in Attendance: Nova staff and parents

### I. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order at 6:02 pm. Theresa Nelson led the meeting.

#### II. Agenda

Mr. Belter moved to approve the agenda. Ms. Gumbiner Hungs seconded. A roll call vote was held. Mr. Belter, Ms. Hernandez, Ms. Gumbiner Hungs, Ms. Karan, Ms. Lund, Ms. Nelson, Mr. Ross, Ms. Ruday, and Ms. Winter voted in favor. The motion passed unanimously.

Dr. LaRusso arrived at 6:04 pm.

#### III. **Business**

#### A. Application for Forgiveness of PPP Loan

Dr. Wedlund gave background information as well as an update on charter schools being eligible for loan forgiveness, including that the PPP loan has its own code in schools' financial reporting. Nova's payroll expenses have been high enough to apply for forgiveness of the entire loan.

Ms. Winter, "Resolved that Nova authorizes Joe Aliperto and Brett Wedlund to apply for forgiveness of the entire PPP loan." Ms. Ruday seconded. A roll call vote was held. Mr. Belter, Ms. Hernandez, Ms. Gumbiner Hungs, Ms. Karan, Dr. LaRusso, Ms. Lund, Ms. Nelson, Mr. Ross, Ms. Ruday, and Ms. Winter voted in favor. The motion passed unanimously.

### B. Adjustment to the 20-21 School Calendar

Dr. Wedlund gave background information including the extra five non-student contact days allowed by MDE in response to Covid. Ms. Nelson, "Resolved that January 19 and 20 are non-instructional planning days." Ms. Gumbiner Hungs seconded. A roll call vote was held. Mr. Belter, Ms. Hernandez, Ms. Gumbiner Hungs, Ms. Karan, Dr. LaRusso, Ms. Lund, Ms. Nelson, Mr. Ross, Ms. Ruday, and Ms. Winter voted in favor. The motion passed unanimously.

### C. Extension of Distance Learning Model

Dr. Wedlund gave background information, beginning with county health data and

the changes to the state guidelines. He also presented pros and cons to the three main learning models. There was discussion.

Ms. Winter, "Resolved that Nova will continue in the distance learning model into the start of second semester." Mr. Belter seconded. There was discussion. A roll call vote was held. Mr. Belter, Ms. Hernandez, Ms. Gumbiner Hungs, Ms. Karan, Dr. LaRusso, Ms. Lund, Ms. Nelson, Mr. Ross, Ms. Ruday, and Ms. Winter voted in favor. The motion passed unanimously.

## D. Model for Extracurricular Activities

Dr. Wedlund gave background information including new updates from the state. Mr. Rovn shared information from the Minnesota State High School League, our Skyline Conference, and Nova's best practices.

Ms. Lund, "Resolved that Nova will allow in-person extra-curricular activities to resume on January 4, following the MNSHSL guidelines as well as our Skyline Conference guidelines. Further resolved, that the Board mandates that all Nova extra-curricular participants are masked anytime they are participating in in-person activities at least through the winter activities." Ms. Ruday seconded. A roll call vote was held. Mr. Belter, Ms. Hernandez, Ms. Gumbiner Hungs, Ms. Karan, Dr. LaRusso, Ms. Lund, Ms. Nelson, Mr. Ross, Ms. Ruday, and Ms. Winter voted in favor. The motion passed unanimously.

# E. Employee Handbook Revision

Dr. Wedlund gave brief background information

Mr. Belter, "Resolved that the extension to the Family First Corona Virus Response Act be added to the Staff Handbook." Ms. Hernandez seconded. A roll call vote was held. Mr. Belter, Ms. Hernandez, Ms. Gumbiner Hungs, Ms. Karan, Dr. LaRusso, Ms. Lund, Ms. Nelson, Mr. Ross, Ms. Ruday, and Ms. Winter voted in favor. The motion passed unanimously.

# IV. Adjournment:

The meeting was adjourned at 7:25 p.m.

Minutes submitted by Becky Lund.