Board of School Trustees Hillsboro, Texas

## **1805 -** Minutes of the Public Hearing / Regular Board Meeting January 14, 2019

The Board met in a Public Hearing / Regular Board Meeting, January 14, 2019 beginning at 6:00 p.m. in the Hillsboro ISD Administration Office Board Room, 121 East Franklin Street, Hillsboro, Texas 76645.

Members present: Chris Teague, President

John Sawyer, Secretary

Earl Bibles Gerardo Carbajal Stephanie Johnson

Members absent: Lupe Mancha, Vice-President

Amanda Scarborough

In attendance were: Superintendent Vicki Adams, Joe Adams, Lyndsey Bates, Sheila Bowman, Angela Boyd, Paula Cox, Cindy Darden, Danny Gilliam, Donald Gordon, Keith Hannah, Amy Harris, Patrick Harvell, Jo Hayes, Becky Montgomery, Raymond Nors, Tiffanye Oliver, Robin Ralston, Rick Rodgers, Dale Snyder, Stephanie Tucker, Crystal Volcik, Doug Volcik, Alison Zollinger and Dustin McDonald from The Reporter.

Chris Teague, Board President, called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m. with a quorum present.

The invocation was delivered by Pastor Danny Gilliam from First Baptist Church, John Sawyer led the pledge.

Amanda Scarborough and Lupe Mancha arrived

School Board Recognition Month Proclamation from the Mayor of the City of Hillsboro was read by students from Hillsboro Junior High School.

The board was presented with floral arrangements by students from the floral design class at Hillsboro High School. A slide show was show with students from throughout the district thanking the board for their service and dedication.

Public Comments – none

Dale Snyder reviewed the Financial Integrity Rating System of Texas (FIRST) Report. Hillsboro ISD has a rating as 'above standard'.

Public comments on the FIRST Report Public Hearing – none

The board was back in regular session at 6:11.

Correspondence to the board – a thank you note from Vicki Thompson was read thanking the superintendent and board for the Christmas lunch.

**15511** – Motion by Stephanie Johnson, seconded by Gerardo Carbajal to approve the consent agenda with no changes.

Vote: Aye unanimous 7/0

Rick Rodgers from James E. Rodgers and Company P.C. gave a report to the board on the annual audit. Hillsboro ISD was given an 'unmodified' opinion from the auditors. An unmodified opinion means the auditor did not need to modify anything and there were no areas of concern.

**15512** – Motion by John Sawyer, seconded by Amanda Scarborough to approve the auditor's engagement letter from James E. Rodgers and Company P.C.

Vote: Aye unanimous 7/0

## **Reports to the Board**

Director and Principal reports were given to the board in the packet.

## **Superintendent's Report**

- Facilities
  - Track @ Eagle Field looks good has been striped
- There will be a facilities meeting on Wednesday, January 16<sup>th</sup> at 6:00 in the board room
- Hill County Chamber of Commerce Awards Banquet will be held on February 28th
- Board of Trustee Election on May 4, 2019
  - Stephanie Johnson, At-Large
  - o De-erick Bibles, Place 3
  - o John Sawyer, Place 5
    - Filing for a place on the ballot runs from January 16<sup>th</sup> through February 15<sup>th</sup>
- Grow Your Own Grant

President Teague announced the Board will now recess this open session and convene in a closed meeting to discuss the following item(s) listed on our agenda this evening as allowed by the Texas Government Code (and/or the Texas Education Code):

Agenda Item #16 as permitted by Gov't Code §551.074 – Personnel Matters Agenda Item #17 as permitted by Gov't Code §551.071 – Real Property

| "No voting will take place in the closed meeting.   | Any action the board wishes to take as a result |
|---|---|
| of discussion will take place in open session, 6:42 | p.m."   |

President Teague announced the board has reconvened in open session, 9:02 p.m.

15513 – Motion by John Sawyer, seconded by Lupe Mancha to approve the superintendent's contract as presented to her.

| Vote: Aye unanimous         | 7/0         |
|-----------------------------|-------------|
| The meeting was adjourned a | t 9:03 p.m. |
|                             |             |
| President                   | Secretary   |