Board Recognition November 17, 2020

TASB Superintendent of the Year Finalist

Five public school administrators from across Texas were selected as state finalists for the annual Superintendent of the Year (SOTY) award. Sponsored by the Texas Association of School Boards (TASB), the SOTY program has recognized exemplary superintendents for excellence and achievement in educational leadership since 1984.

Dr. Jamie Wilson was selected as one of the state's five finalists representing Region 11 alongside Jose Gonzalez, McAllen ISD, Region 1; Roland Hernandez, Corpus Christi ISD, Region 2; Michelle Barrow, Newton ISD, Region 5 and Becky McCutchen, Alpine ISD, Region 18.

The state selection committee, which interviewed regional winners, targeted such issues as advocacy, diversity and inclusion, the impact of the pandemic on education, and the board-superintendent relationship.

Dr. Wilson was recognized for serving a diverse population of about 32,000 students. He has been in education administration for 19 years, serving as superintendent of Denton ISD for eight of those. The committee noted that Wilson leads this fast-growth district with a "can-do" attitude and a data-driven approach. Wilson places a priority on social and emotional learning and considers it an essential ingredient for academic success.

The selection committee stated his focus on the whole student was evident during the pandemic, when the district worked first to meet the basic and emotional needs of students before addressing their learning needs. Wilson is an avid advocate for public education and ties district outcomes to legislative priorities. Wilson earned his bachelor's degree, master's degree, and doctorate from the University of North Texas.

Candidates are chosen for their strong leadership skills, dedication to improving educational quality, ability to build effective employee relations, student performance, and commitment to public involvement in education.

TASB is a nonprofit association established in 1949 to serve local public-school boards. School board members are the largest group of publicly elected officials in the state. The districts they represent serve approximately 5.4 million students.

As part of the process, each finalist was tasked with creating a piece of artwork in collaboration with students. Tonight, as we honor Dr. Wilson, we want to thank Stacy Bzdok, art educator at Cross Oaks Elementary, and her students, Ote Igbe, Salma Cerda, Keelan Fuller and Packer Ordyna.