AT A REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE ECTOR COUNTY INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT HELD AT THE ADMINISTRATION BOARD ROOM, 802 NORTH SAM HOUSTON, ODESSA, ECTOR COUNTY, TEXAS, 7:00 P.M., May 18, 2004, with the following members:

Present: Delma Abalos **Absent:** None

Paula Ahders Phil Fouche Carol Gregg Floy Hinson

Dr. Bill Rutherford Tommy Salmon

School Officials: Roy C. Benavides, Ed.D., Larry Edwards, Wendell Sollis, Bruce Revell,

Raymond Starnes, David Finley, Sue Ferguson, Dr. Donnie Norwood, Gay

Jenkins, Charles Nail, Alma Guerrero

Others: Marsha Dry, Granla McKelvain, Tommy Harrison, Kenney Ross, Terrie

Reed, Elaine Smith, Billie Mayfield, Tonya Tillman, Michelle Edwards, David Edwards, Brian Rosson, Charles Osborne, Martha Mitchell, Gilbert Vasquez, Chuck Isner, Tommie Robinson, Susie Haynes, Javier Ruiz, Ron Leach, Dick Hoffman, Cheryl Lo, Angela & Otis Bledsoe, Dominga & Monique Nevarez, Eddie Spence, Janet Spence, Laura Haaland, Amanda Rutledge, Theresa Williams, Zephan Gatson, Tonya Houston, Mike

Atkins, Adela Vasquez, Ann Suiter, Nelda Guerra

Meeting Called to Order: Delma Abalos, Board President, called the Board

Meeting to order.

<u>18674</u> <u>Pledges of Allegiance to the United States and Texas Flags</u>: The pledges of

Allegiance to the United States and Texas Flags were led by, Hood Junior High

School students, Dani McGuirre and Kenneth Thomas.

18675 Invocation: Floy Hinson, Board Secretary, gave the invocation.

Special Presentations: The following special presentations were made:

Top 10 Graduates

Permian High School – Brian Rosson, principal

- 1) Brian W. Sager
- 2) Jennifer L. Lee
- 3) Kevin J. Lane
- 4) Aleese N. Hawkins
- 5) Brennan D. Masters

Regular Board Meeting May 18, 2004

- 6) Mark J. Harding
- 7) Cynthia D. Braswell
- 8) Preston H. Hicks
- 9) Louisa L. Bell
- 10) Shannon A. Miller

Odessa High School – Ron Leach, principal

- 1) Bryan Rutherford
- 2) Glenn Tadena, Jr.
- 3) Jesus Pimentel
- 4) Jamie Yarbrough
- 5) Dustin Haynie
- 6) Anna Ford
- 7) Zachary Hoffman
- 8) Shashi Neerukonda
- 9) Hollie Gardner
- 10) Kathryn Womochel

PHS Girls' Soccer Team

Jim Bragg, Coach

Katelin Benefiel

Rachel Blades

Savannah Campbell

Kendra Clemons

Sydney Enriquez

Danae Grayson

Sierra Glaspie

Tiffany Guerra

Ashley Gutierrez

Kylee Hix

Letha Irvin

Jordan Lauderdale

Rianne McIntosh

Ashli Metz

Christopher Murray

Janaye Piper

Amanda Rowan

Brandi Schoel

Brittany Subia

Brittney Thomas

Staci Thomas

Courtney Wilson

OHS Boys' Soccer Team

Noe Cerezo, Coach

Alonso Jimenez

Sahib Valdivia

Brian Bledsoe

Sergio Mendoza

Raul Nevarez

Carlos Guillen

Noel Camona

Edher Valdivia

Raul Franco

Kenny Torres

Alonzo Manriquez

David Torres

Josh Hernandez

Oscar Anchondo

Brandon Pepper

Albert Camacho

Pablo Nicholas

Manuel Nicholas

Jason Lo

Brandon Nail

Roy Mendoza

Joshua Herron

Cody Clemmer

Edwin Duarte

National Dance Champion Teams

Ector Eagle Dance Team:

9th grade

Danielle Aguilar

Jessica Aguilar

Stephanie Bersosa

Ariana Garcia

Ilena Gonzales

Kasi Kirkpatrick

Maisha Morris

Brenda Ronquillo

Elizabeth Salgado

8th grade

Mercedes Battenfield

Annie Brown

Terin Padilla

Brandi Palma

Bailey Rhodes Rikki Switzer Karlosia Tatum Mariah Willard

Panther Paws Dance Team:

12th grade

Kandi Harris

Brit Bartley

Jayme Rowe

Jeanie Pittaway

Brittney Harris

Mikelle Farris

Bianca Castro

11th grade

Kayley Brownlow

Kim Contreras

Michelle Massey

Ali Ashley

Kelly Blakley

Meghan Slater

Kendra Watson

Kaci Looper

Amy Perez

Blair Hunter

10th grade

Stephanie Rice

Blair Slater

Adrian Tacker

Courtney Flores

VASE Winners

Ector Junior High School – David Edwards, teacher

Carl Spartz – Art 1

Joshua Bunch – Art 1 (Gold Seal Award)

Bonham Junior High School – Kathy Ward, teacher

Chelsea Preslar – Art 1

Odessa High School - LaRee Morris, teacher

Shanae Phillips – Art 1

Justin Long – Art 1

Marjory Gibson – Art 1

Texas Alliance of Minorities in Engineering

Bowie Junior High School

Dhruv H. Oza Richard S. Nayau David Evans

Odessa High School

Thomas Sebolt Clinton Brennan

Academic Acceleration Academy

Dominic Oranday

Chris Root

Cody Davis

Jessica Brooks

Tammy Medina

Angelica Melchor

Andrea Dominguez

National Merit Scholar

Odessa High School Senior, Bryan Rutherford was recognized as a National Merit Scholar.

- **Verification of Compliance with Open Meeting Law:** Delma Abalos, Board President, verified that the provisions of Texas Government Code Section 551.001 had been met in connection with public notice of this meeting.
- **Approval of Consent Agenda:** Moved by Rutherford, second by Fouche that the following Consent Agenda be approved:
 - 1. Superintendent's Agenda
 - 2. Minutes of Meetings
 - 3. Bills for Payment
 - 4. School Construction Report

Motion unanimously approved.

<u>Citizens' Request to Address the Board (Marsha Dry – Librarians):</u> Marsha Dry, librarian, presented a slideshow presentation about the impact of librarians.

18680

Request for Approval of TASB Delegate and Alternate and Submission of Resolution for 2004 TASB Delegate Assembly: Moved by Gregg, seconded by Hinson to approve Bill Rutherford as TASB Delegate for the 2004 Delegate Assembly.

Motion unanimously approved.

18681

Request for Approval of 2004-2005 Gale Pond/Alamo Year-Round Calendar: Moved by Fouche, seconded by Ahders to approve the 2004-2005 Gale Pond/Alamo Year-Round Calendar as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

18682

Request for Approval of Partnership Agreement Between Communities in Schools of the Permian Basin, Inc. and ECISD: Moved by Gregg, seconded by Ahders to approve the Partnership Agreement between Communities in Schools of the Permian Basin, Inc. and ECISD as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

18683

<u>Approval of Budget Amendment #4</u>: Moved by Gregg, seconded by Fouche to approve Budget Amendment #4 as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

18684

Approval of Board Policy CC(Exhibits A,B,C,D,E) Local Revenue Sources: Moved by Hinson, seconded by Fouche to approve Board Policy CC(Exhibits A,B,C,D,E) Local Revenue Sources as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

18685

Approval of Board Policy DK(Exhibit) Assignments and Schedules – DELETE: Moved by Rutherford, seconded by Ahders to delete Board Policy DK(Exhibit) Assignments and Schedules as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

18686

Approval of Board Policy EIF(Local) Academic Achievement: Graduation: Moved by Gregg, seconded by Rutherford to approve Board Policy EIF(Local) Academic Achievement: Graduation as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

Approval of Board Policy FMG(Local) Student Activities: Travel: Moved by Ahders, seconded by Rutherford to approve Board Policy FMG(Local) Student Activities: Travel as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

Board Policies for First Reading: Larry Edwards, Assistant Superintendent for Staff Operations, presented the following Board Policies for first reading:

- DNA(Local) Performance Appraisal: Evaluation of Teachers
- EIA(Local) Academic Achievement: Grading/Progress Reports to Parents
- Closed Meeting- Personnel Matters Section 551.074 of the Texas Government Code (Routine Personnel Report) [Board will deliberate the appointment, employment, evaluation, reassignment, duties, discipline, or dismissal of public employees of the District]: No closed meeting was held.
- **Approval of Routine Personnel Report:** Moved by Gregg, seconded by Hinson to approve the Routine Personnel Report as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

18691 Adjournment: Delma Abalos, Board President, adjourned the Board meeting at 8:37 p.m.

Board President
Delma J. Abalos
Board Secretary
Floy B. Hinson