MINUTES BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR BOARD MEETING JUNE 13, 2016

BUDGET WORKSHOP

The Board met from 5:30-6:30 p.m. to work on the 2016-17 budget.

PLEDGE AND INVOCATION

The Wylie Independent School District's Board of Trustees met in regular session on Monday, June 13, 2016, at 6:30 p.m. in the Wylie Early Childhood Library. The pledge of allegiance was recited and the invocation was given by Jeff Rogers.

Board members present were: Mike Awtry, Jeff Rogers, Mark McClellan, Chris McCurley, Stephen Lowry, Steve Keenum, and Darrell Moore.

School personnel present were: Joey Light, Craig Bessent, Tony Spradlin, Mike Kerley, Rob Goodenough, Mitch Davis, Ricky Bacon, Lisa Bessent, Will Brewer, Brad McVay, Tim Smith, Robin McPherson, Terry Hagler, Lisa Salmon, Carol Smith, and Desiree Clardy.

Guests presents: See sign-in sheet.

SPECIAL PRESENTATION

The board recognized the DI Global champions and the state champion baseball team.

OATHS OF OFFICE

The oaths of office were administered by Craig Bessent to newly elected board members; Chris McCurley - Place 1, Mike Awtry - Place 2 and Darrell Moore- Place 3.

REORGANIZATION OF BOARD

Stephen Lowry nominated Steve Keenum for President of the Board. There being no further nominations, Darrell Moore made a motion that nominations cease and Steve Keenum be elected by acclamation. Chris McCurley seconded the motion.

The motion carried: 6 for, 0 against.

The floor was opened for nominations for Vice President. Darrell Moore nominated Jeff Rogers as Vice President. Darrell Moore made a motion that nominations cease and Jeff Rogers be elected by acclamation. Mike Awtry seconded the motion.

The motion carried: 6 for, 0 against.

SCHOOL BOARD MINUTES JUNE 13, 2016 PAGE TWO

Nominations were opened for Secretary. Darrell Moore nominated Stephen Lowry. There being no further nominations, Darrell Moore made a motion that nominations cease and Stephen Lowry be elected by acclamation. Chris McCurley seconded the motion.

The motion carried: 6 for, 0 against.

MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING

The minutes of the May 9, 2016 meeting were read and approved as presented.

CONSENT AGENDA

Jeff Rogers made a motion to approve the consent agenda. The motion was seconded by Stephen Lowry.

The motion carried: 6 for, 0 against.

ELECT TASB VOTING DELEGATE

Jeff Rogers made a motion to select Chris McCurley as voting delegate and Darrell Moore will serve as alternate to the TASB Convention in September 2016. Mark McClellan seconded the motion.

The motion carried: 6 for, 0 against.

CONSIDER APPROVAL OF 2015-16 BUDGET AMENDMENT

Mark McClellan made a motion to approve the budget amendment to increase Function 34 (Transportation) by \$450,000 and Function 52 (Security) by \$50,000. Function 81 (Facilities Acquisition & Construction) will be decreased by \$500,000. Mike Awtry seconded the motion.

The motion carried: 6 for, 0 against.

INFORMATION ITEMS

Other items discussed but no action taken included: Final ADA report, Class size reduction report, Summer board meetings & workshops, Construction report, TASB Convention-Houston, and 2015 STAAR Test results.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

The Board went into executive session under the authority of Article 6242-17, Section 2, Revised Civil Statutes of Texas and Education Code 16.176 from 7:25 P.M. to 8:23 P.M. to attend to personnel matters, employee benefits, safety audit report and school security.

SCHOOL BOARD MINUTES JUNE 13, 2016 PAGE THREE

PERSONNEL RECOMMENDATIONS

A motion was made by Jeff Rogers and seconded by Darrell Moore to employ Rusti Blount, Stormy Burns, Elizabeth Conyer, Carlie Fehl, Bethany Gonzalez, Kelsey Halfmann, Holly Kirby, Katie Lankford, Leslie McInroy, Melanie Morris, Allison Walker, Amy Wallenborn, John Woodall, and Brittany Wright on a one-year contract for 10 months for the 2016-17 school year; subject to assignment.

The motion carried: 6 for, 0 against.

OFFICIAL ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business to discuss, a motion was made by Stephen Lowry and seconded by Chris McCurley to adjourn. Official time was 8:24 P.M.

The motion carried: 6 for, 0 against.

Date		
	President	
	Secretary	