

## GOVERNING BOARD AGENDA ITEM AMPHITHEATER UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 10

DATE OF MEETING: May 10, 2011

**TITLE:** Recognition of Odyssey of the Mind Teams

## **BACKGROUND:**

## **ODYSSEY OF THE MIND**

Amphitheater Public Schools continues to be the top district in participation and achievement in the Arizona Odyssey of the Mind program, which promotes divergent and critical thinking in students from kindergarten through college. This year, six teams will travel to Michigan State University, May 26-31, 2011, to compete at World Finals.

School: Canyon del Oro High School

Coach: <u>Texanna Sonnefeld</u>

Team Members:

Jimmy Sonnefeld Dion Heimink Michael Schmitt Texanna Sonnefeld Victoria Heimink Emma Merry Michael Phillips

School: Canyon del Oro High School

Coaches: Kathy Cramb, Bob Cramb

Team Members:

Evan Cramb
Erin Ferber
Joshua Case
Landon Walsh
Amelia Gotobed

Citlali Aguilar-Canamar

School: Keeling Elementary School

Coach: Beth Brungardt

Team Members:

Brandon Desaulniers Anthony Wiseley Richard Erickson Darnell Moore Manuel Saiz Jesus Medina School: Prince Elementary School

Coach: Leigh Kechley

Team Members:

Mara Navarro
Draven Shipley
Ian Davis
Luis Peña
Emily Mejia
Dylan Scott
Lin Huang

School: Walker Elementary School
Coaches: Rayette Roberts and Tenaya Sneider

Team Members:

Evan Brademas Lauren Brademas Devin Brown Mia Corona Damon Martinez Fernando Pulido Tanner Roberts

School: Mesa Verde Elementary School
Coaches: Lori Harwood, Mrs. Sheldon, and Mrs. Mason

Team Members:

Alexis Strauss Jonah Harwood Alexander Mason Carmen Contreras Sophie Vlahoulis Jessica Sheldon

School: Painted Sky Elementary School

Coaches: Toby Ford, Ryan Ayers, Paul August, and Bill Pike

Team Members:

Hannah Ford Zane Ayers Chloe Lisowski Ethan August Brady August Riley Mix

**RECOMMENDATION:** This item is for the Governing Board's information and recognition.

INITIATED BY:

Patrick Nelson, Associate Superintendent

Vicki Balentine, Ph.D., Superintendent