Minutes of Regular Meeting

The Board of Trustees Dalhart ISD

A Regular Meeting of the Board of Trustees of Dalhart ISD was held Monday, May 20, 2013, beginning at 7:00 PM in the Dalhart ISD Central Office, 701 East 10th Street.

Present: Jeff Lloyd – President, Peter Baumert – Vice-President, Richard Dunham – Secretary, Janet Banks – Board Member, Mario Gomez – Board Member, Randy Sherrill – Board Member, David Foote – Superintendent, David Steele – H S Principal, Trevor Scott – J H Principal, Kevin Douglas-XIT Secondary Principal, Mark McCormick-Inter. School Principal, Sarah Nutter – Asst. Principal Dalhart Elem., Diane Cody – Dir. of Special Education, Denice Hutchinson, and Delbert Dodds – Business Manager Absent: Boyd Barrow – Board Member Visitors: Numerous visitors.

- 12830. Call to Order President Lloyd called the meeting to order at 7:06 p.m. and stated that a quorum was present: the meeting had been duly called: and the notice had been posted in accordance with the Texas Open Meetings Act Texas Government Code Chapter 551.
- 12831. Prayer Mr. Foote offered the prayer.
- 12832. Student/Teacher Presentations None
- 12833. Canvass and certify the results of the May 11, 2013 school trustee election – It was moved by Randy Sherrill and seconded by Janet Banks to approve the canvassing and certify the results of the May 11, 2013, school trustee election results: Brandi Miller – 142 votes, Rick Dunham – 288 votes, Doug Claborn – 307 votes, Justin Moore – 365 votes, and Mark McKay – 219 votes. The trustees elected are Doug Claborn and Justin Moore. Yeas: Banks, Baumert, Dunham, Gomez, Lloyd, and Sherrill Nays: None

Mr. Foote made a presentation to Mr. Lloyd and Mr. Dunham and thanked them for their years of service to the district.

- 12834. Administer the Oath of Office to trustees Mr. Dodds swore in the new trustees at 7:18 p.m., they are Doug Claborn and Justin Moore.
- 12835. Reorganize the Board of Trustees: Elect President, Elect Vice-President, and Elect Secretary – It was moved by Randy Sherrill and seconded by Mario Gomez to elect Peter Baumert as

President. Yeas: Banks, Baumert, Claborn, Gomez, Moore, and Sherrill Nays: None

It was moved by Janet Banks and seconded by Mario Gomez to elect Randy Sherrill as Vice-President. Yeas: Banks, Baumert, Claborn, Gomez, Moore, and Sherrill Nays: None

It was moved by Janet Banks and seconded by Randy Sherrill to elect Mario Gomez as Secretary. Yeas: Banks, Baumert, Claborn, Gomez, Moore, and Sherrill Nays: None

12836. Audience with:

Patrons - None

Students - None

Staff – Pam Guile updated the board on the 3rd grade Travel International program that they did at the elementary.

Mr. Steele stated that is was a very busy time with prom, banquets, graduation, students participating at the state level in track, small school symposium, and band. Mr. Steele also stated that the test results that he has received back have been some of the best scores they have received in the past 15 years.

Mr. Scott gave the board a brief update of what was going on at the junior high.

Mr. Douglas went over his scores as well and they were very pleased with their results.

12837. Enrollment – Enrollment numbers were presented.

San Antonio TASB Workshop was gone over briefly.

End of Year luncheon and graduation were discussed.

- 12838. Update on School Improvement Plans for Dalhart High School, Dalhart Junior High School and Dalhart Intermediate School – Mr. Steele shared test results with Mr. Lemons. Mr. McCormick is waiting on the STAR test results and they think it looks good at this time. Mr. Scott went over his campus committees made up of teachers, went over policies, procedures, etc. and about keeping an open line of communication.
- 12839. Approve Legal Services Retainer Agreement with Walsh,

Anderson, Gallegos, Green, and Trevino, P.C. – It was moved by Mario Gomez and seconded by Randy Sherrill to approve the Legal Services Retainer Agreement with Walsh, Anderson, Gallegos, Green, and Trevino, P.C. Yeas: Banks, Baumert, Claborn, Gomez, Moore, and Sherrill Nays: None

- 12840. Consider Region 16 Education Service Center Contracts for 2013 – 2014. (See attached)
 Yeas: Banks, Baumert, Claborn, Gomez, Moore, and Sherrill Nays: None
- 12841. Consider and discuss the 2013 2015 Bank Depository Contract for Dalhart ISD – It was moved by Mario Gomez and seconded by Janet Banks to award the 2013 – 2015 Bank Depository Contract to First State Bank, Dalhart, Texas. Yeas: Banks, Baumert, Claborn, Gomez, Moore, and Sherrill Nays: None
- 12842. Consider Consent Agenda:

Minutes of Previous Meetings

Financial Reports

Budget Amendments

Disbursements

It was moved by Randy Sherrill and seconded by Janet Banks to approve the consent agenda: minutes of regular meeting held on April 16, 2013, financial reports, budget amendments, and disbursements for April 2013.

Yeas: Banks, Baumert, Claborn, Gomez, Moore, and Sherrill Nays: None

Abstained: Randy Sherrill from Bartlett Lumber Co. bills Doug Claborn from Claborn Heating & Air bills Justin Moore from M&S Body & Dalhart Monograming.

- 12843. Consider application for expedited staff development waiver It was moved by Randy Sherrill and seconded by Janet Banks to approve the application for the 3-day staff development waiver. Yeas: Banks, Baumert, Claborn, Gomez, Moore, and Sherrill Nays: None
- 12844. Jolie Trujillo's request to address the board Ms. Trujillo could not make the meeting.
- 12845. President Baumert announced that the Board of Trustees would

now adjourn into closed session or executive session pursuant to the following sections of the Texas Open Meetings Act: Texas Government Code Chapter 551.071 through 551.085 as they apply, that the Board of Trustees may discuss personnel regarding appointment, employment, evaluation, reassignment and/or hear a complaint, the time is now 8:45 p.m.

President Baumert announced the time now is 10:05 p.m. and declared this meeting in open session.

12846. Personnel:

Resignations – Jaclen Meador – DES, Nancy Scott – XIT, Kristen Holt – DES, Sheri Machel – DJHS, and Justin Garza - DHS

Employed – It was moved by Mario Gomez and seconded by Doug Claborn to employ the following: Anthony Mandani – HS Social Studies/Coach, Brandi Massey – DES, Anthony Catherall – HS Coach/Teacher, and Julie Jobe – DIS Music. Yeas: Banks, Baumert, Claborn, Gomez, Moore, and Sherrill Nays: None

Professional Contracts – It was moved by Janet Banks and seconded by Justin Moore to hire Mr. Trevor Scott as the Dalhart Junior High School Principal for school years 2013-2014 and 2014 - 2015.

Yeas: Banks, Baumert, Claborn, Gomez, Moore, and Sherrill Nays: None

Extended Leave - It was moved by Janet Banks and seconded by Randy Sherril to approve the extended leave for Jim Paslay for 11 days.

Yeas: Banks, Baumert, Claborn, Gomez, Moore and Sherrill Nays: None

Theresa Garza extended leave was table until more information could be presented.

- 12847. Deliberation of possible action to propose termination of teacher employed under Texas Education Code Ch. 21 term contract – No Action
- 12848. President Baumert adjourned the meeting at 10:18 p.m.