## Minutes Charter Authorizing Panel Meeting August 18, 2021

The Charter Authorizing Panel met on Wednesday, August 18, 2021. Panel Chair Deborah Coffman called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m.

Present: Chair Deborah Coffman, Dr. Naccaman Williams (Zoom), Mr. Phil Baldwin, Sonja Wright-McMurry, Karlie Saracini, Dr. Eric Flowers, Grant Hodges (Zoom)

The transcription of this meeting may be accessed on the Division of Elementary and Secondary Education website at the following: <a href="https://dese.ade.arkansas.gov/about/archived-minutesvideo">https://dese.ade.arkansas.gov/about/archived-minutesvideo</a>

## II. Action Agenda

## III.1. Consideration of Open-Enrollment Charter Applications

III.1.a. Consideration of Open-Enrollment Charter Application – IDEA Public Schools Arkansas

IDEA submitted an application to establish an Open-Enrollment school in two locations in Arkansas beginning in the 2023-2024 academic year. Both locations will follow a college prep education model.

Mr. Baldwin moved to approve the IDEA Arkansas charter for five years with the removal of the school calendar waiver requested. IDEA Arkansas will submit a waiver related to the school calendar at a closer time of opening. Dr. Williams seconded. Motion passed unanimously.

**III.1.b.** Consideration of Open-Enrollment Charter Application – Arkansas Military and First Responders Academy (AMFRA)

Arkansas Military and First Responders Academy (AMFRA) submitted an application to establish an Open-Enrollment charter school beginning in the 2022-2023 academic year. The charter will follow a college preparatory educational model with a military academy and first responder concentration.

Dr. Williams moved to approve the Arkansas Military and First Responders Academy (AMFRA) charter for five years. Ms. Wright-McMurray seconded. Motion passed unanimously.

	IV.	Adi	iourr	nment
--	-----	-----	-------	-------

Ms. Wright-McMurray moved to adjourn, seconded by Mr. Williams. Motion carried unanimously. Meeting adjourned at 12:23 p.m.

Ms. Deborah Coffman, Charter Authorizing Panel Chair