Wayne County Regional Educational Service Agency Board of Education

Local School District Board of Education Recognition Resolution

January 2024

WHEREAS, the Boards of Education of the 33 constituent school districts of Wayne County promote quality education for every child attending their schools; and

WHEREAS, these exceptional public servants demonstrate enthusiasm to their duty and voluntarily contribute countless hours of service on behalf of the students of Wayne County, the educators that support the students daily, and their communities; and

WHEREAS, Wayne County School Boards are resilient advocates for the needs of students in their communities and with policy makers in Lansing and Washington; and

WHEREAS, Wayne County School Boards are committed to advancing the student achievement and well-being in the schools and communities they serve; and

WHEREAS, Wayne County School Boards understand the importance of access, opportunity, equity, and excellence in education for its students, and recognize that a quality education is the most important factor in the success of our communities, state and country; and

WHEREAS, local control continues to play a vital role in the success of public education; and

WHEREAS, the mission of public schools is to meet the diverse educational needs of all children and to empower them to become informed and productive contributors to society and an ever-changing world; and

WHEREAS, the State of Michigan, and the State Board of Education have declared January 2024 as School Board Recognition Month; and

WHEREAS, School Board Recognition Month is an ideal time to recognize and celebrate the Wayne County residents serving on school district governing boards of education who help guide the education of pupils in Pre-Kindergarten through Grade 12, and who prepare these pupils for global competitiveness.

NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that the Wayne County Regional Educational Service Agency Board of Education in the spirit of the School Board Recognition Month, recognizes and celebrates the contributions and leadership of the Wayne County School Boards of Education.

Presented and Adopted, December 20, 2023.

Lynda S. Jackson, President

James Petrie, Vice-President

Mary E. Blackmon, Secretary

Mary E. Blackmon, Secretary

Danielle Funderburg, Treasurer

James S. Beri, Trustee