## MINUTES BEEVILLE INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT FEBRUARY 15, 2011

A regular meeting of the Beeville Independent School District Board of Trustees was called to order in the board room of the administration offices at 5:00 p.m. by President Nick Cardenas. Other members present were Tom Beasley, Velma Elizalde, John Fish, Viola Salazar, and Bobby Schauer. Others present were Superintendent, Dr. Sue Thomas; Deputy Superintendent, Erasmo Rodriguez; Assistant Superintendent for Curriculum & Instruction, Dr. Nancy Jones; Executive Director for Finance, Linda O'Connell; Executive Director for Special Ed and Special Programs, Cindy Clendennen; members of the staff, faculty, and guests.

Matt Huie arrived at 5:11 pm.

5:01 PM: Closed session as authorized by Texas Open Meetings Act, Texas Government Code Sections 551.071-551.084 to consider and discuss purchase, exchange, lease, or value of real property; employment of personnel; personnel; and superintendent appraisal/contract.

5:59 PM: Open meeting to consider action, decision, or vote with regard to purchase, exchange, lease, or value of real property; employment of personnel; personnel; and superintendent appraisal/contract.

The Academy At Madderra student Angelica Garcia conducted the presentation of colors/pledge of allegiance and prayer.

Nick Cardenas welcomed visitors and asked for comments. Virginia Pendley addressed the board regarding pregnancy programs, head start, sports, and taxes. Mike Keeney addressed legislative cuts, improvement plans, and public sessions with the board. Urbana Garrett addressed her concerns regarding teacher budget cuts.

Velma Elizalde made the motion to approve the items on the consent agenda. The motion was seconded by Bobby Schauer and carried by unanimous vote. The following item was approved:

- A. January 18, 2011 Regular & Special Board Meeting Minutes
- B. January 2011 Monthly Expenditures

Dr. Thomas discussed Policy DC(LOCAL) and Bad Weather Days.

Linda O'Connell presented the business office report.

#### **BOARD MINUTES**

**FEBRUARY 15, 2011** 

#### PAGE 2

After discussion, Matt Huie made the motion to approve the First Reading of Update 89 affecting Policies:

CKB(LOCAL): Safety Program/Risk Management – Accident Prevention and Reports EEJA(LOCAL): Individualized Learning - Credit By Examination With Prior Instruction EEJB(LOCAL): Individualized Learning - Credit By Examination Without Prior Instruction EEJC(LOCAL): Individualized Learning - Correspondence Courses EFB(LOCAL): Instructional Resources - Library Media Programs EHDB(LOCAL): Alternative Methods For Earning Credit - Credit By Examination With Prior Instruction EHDC(LOCAL): Alternative Methods For Earning Credit - Credit By Examination Without Prior Instruction EHDD(LOCAL): Alternative Methods For Earning Credit - College Course Work/Dual Credit EHDE(LOCAL): Alternative Methods For Earning Credit - Distance Learning FD(LOCAL): Alternative Methods For Earning Credit - Distance Learning FD(LOCAL): Admissions

The motion was seconded by Tom Beasley and carried by unanimous vote.

Velma Elizalde made the motion to approve the Texas Public Schools Week Resolution. The motion was seconded by Matt Huie and carried by unanimous vote.

Viola Salazar made the motion to approve the Property Insurance Renewal. The motion was seconded by Tom Beasley. After discussion, Viola Salazar made the motion to remove the Property Insurance Renewal off the table. The motion was seconded by Tom Beasley and carried by unanimous vote. Bobby Schauer made the motion to table the Property Insurance Renewal. The motion was seconded by Matt Huie and carried by unanimous vote. The Board requested more information at an upcoming special called meeting.

Matt Huie made a motion that a trustee election be called for Saturday, May 14, 2011, for the purpose of electing one (1) trustee by a plurality of votes from Sub-District I; electing one (1) trustee by plurality of votes from Sub-District II; and electing one (1) trustee by plurality of votes from At-Large of the Beeville Independent School District. The motion was seconded by Tom Beasley and carried by unanimous vote.

Tom Beasley made the motion that the Order of Election contain the following:

- A. Sub-District I will consist of All or Part of Bee County Voting Precinct Numbers 1, 3, 8, 16, and 18;
- B. Sub-District II will consist of All or Part of Bee County Voting Precinct Numbers 6, 9, 10, 13, 17, and 19;
- C. The Polling locations for Early Voting will be open Monday through Friday from 8:00 A.M. to 5:00 P.M.;
- D. The Ballot Position Drawing will be March 22, 2011.

The motion was seconded John Fish and carried by unanimous vote.

**FEBRUARY 15, 2011** 

PAGE 3

John Fish made the motion that the Designated Polling Place for Sub-District I be the Lecture Hall at A.C. Jones High School, 1900 North Adams. The Polling Place for Sub-District II will be the Library at Moreno Middle School, 301 North Minnesota. The Polling Place for Early Voting for Sub-District I will be the reception area of the A.C. Jones High School, 1900 N. Adams Street and for Sub-District II the Early Voting Polling Place will be the Library of the Moreno Middle School, 301 North Minnesota. The motion was seconded by Matt Huie and carried by unanimous vote.

Velma Elizalde made the motion that the Judges and Assistant Judges at the Designated Polling Places be approved as follows:

# SUB-DISTRICT I A.C. JONES HIGH SCHOOL

\*Mr. Robert Flores---Judge Mrs. Kay Mix---Assistant Judge

\*Officials Conducting Election at Sub-District I Will Serve as The Early Voting Ballot Board.

# SUB-DISTRICT II MORENO MIDDLE SCHOOL

Mr. John Mark Silva---Judge Ms. Ofelia Moron---Assistant Judge

### EARLY VOTING A.C. JONES HIGH SCHOOL MORENO MIDDLE SCHOOL

Mrs. Camilla Lopez---Early Voting Clerk Mrs. Lydia Farias---Deputy Early Voting Clerk Sub-District I Mrs. Rita San Miguel---Deputy Early Voting Clerk Sub District II

The motion was seconded by Tom Beasley and carried by unanimous vote.

Bobby Schauer made the motion that each Election Judge be authorized to engage clerks up to a maximum of six (6) for each Polling Place at the rate of \$8.00 per hour and that early voting be conducted with designated administrative staff serving as early voting clerks. The motion was seconded by Velma Elizalde and carried by unanimous vote.

### **BOARD MINUTE**

### **FEBRUARY 15, 2011**

### PAGE 4

Nick Cardenas announced the accumulative training hours for each board member earned from January 2010 to January 2011 as follows:

	<u>1/10– 1/11 TASB</u>	TOTAL HOURS
Nick Cardenas	38.00	750.25
Velma Elizalde	27.00	170.00
John Fish	19.00	153.50
Tom Beasley	7.50	82.25
Viola Salazar	8.75	73.00
Matt Huie	3.00	25.25
Bobby Schauer	4.00	43.50

After discussion, Velma Elizalde made the motion to move the March 15, 2011 regular board meeting date to March 22, 2011 due to Spring Break. The motion was seconded by John Fish and carried by unanimous vote.

6:54 PM: Closed session as authorized by Texas Open Meetings Act, Texas Government Code Sections 551.071-551.084 to consider and discuss purchase, exchange, lease, or value of real property; employment of personnel; personnel; and superintendent appraisal/contract.

8:00 PM: Open meeting to consider action, decision, or vote with regard to purchase, exchange, lease, or value of real property; employment of personnel; personnel; and superintendent appraisal/contract.

Matt Huie made the motion to extend the superintendent's contract one additional year. The motion was seconded by Tom Beasley and carried by unanimous vote.

There being no further business to discuss, the meeting adjourned at 8:01 p.m.