## Beeville ISD School Health Advisory Council Meeting Thursday, February 5, 2015 Minutes

The third SHAC meeting for the 2014-15 school year was held Thursday, February 5, 2015 from 12:00 pm to 1:00 pm. Those in attendance were Janine Zander parent, Becky Williams community member, Reva Salazar MJHS student, Corina Garcia Administrator, Jeff Atkinson Food Service Director, Denise Fenner BISD RN, Magaly Rena, Traci Younts, and Cindy Clendennen Co-chair.

Items on the agenda included:

## Local School Wellness Plan Revision

The SHAC reviewed progress made on the Local School Wellness Plan. The committee agreed to accept the LWP as written even though final regulations by the USDA are pending. Cindy Clendennen shared with the committee activities that have been completed that are reflected in the Plan.

The Annual Performance process will begin in the next two weeks with information gathered from each campus. Once reviewed and compiled, the district report will be completed and submitted to the SHAC at the April 2<sup>nd</sup> meeting. Upon acceptance, the APR will be publicized at a school board meeting at the end of the school year.

Traci Younts, ACE Director served as guest speaker. She shared information about ACE and activities students participate in. She also shared information about the HEB Community Challenge which launched January 1, 2015 and is in its third year. It is a competition which spans over four months. The goal of the competition is to challenge communities across the state to compete to see which can demonstrate the greatest commitment to healthy living. The intent is to unite and mobilize schools, businesses, organizations, community members, and leaders toward the common goal of transforming their community's health. Mrs. Younts will explore the possibility of launching this program within Beeville supported by ACE and BISD schools.

Without further discussion, the meeting adjourned at approximately 1:00 pm.

The last SHAC meeting will be held April 2<sup>nd</sup>.

Submitted by Cindy Clendennen, Co-chair