## **Minutes of Special Board Meeting**

# The Board of Trustees La Vernia Independent School District

A Special Board Meeting of the Board of Trustees of La Vernia ISD was held Monday, May 12, 2025, beginning at 6:30 PM in the High School Cafeteria, 225 Bluebonnet Road, La Vernia, TX 78121.

## Attendance:

Ryan Doege: Present
Drew Herley: Present
Stewart Krisch: Present
Jimmy McFadin: Present
Joel Goode: Present
Shawn Strey: Present
Jeff Towns: Present

#### I. Call to Order, Quorum – 6:32PM

As Stated on the Notice of Regular Meeting, the Board may convene into Closed Session at any time they deem necessary, under any applicable provision of Chapter 551 of the Texas Government Code, including the provision permitting closed session consultation with legal counsel.

The Board President may elect to address any items listed on the Agenda in any sequence.

President Shawn Strey called the meeting to order at 6:32PM and declared a quorum present.

## **II. Public Comment**

No one signed up to speak.

#### III. Discussion and Action Items

(1) Interlocal Agreement for K-9 Narcotics Detection

Dr. Hensley Cone, Superintendent

The Interlocal Agreement for K-9 Narcotics Detection will not be discussed or voted on tonight, but will be added to the May 19th board meeting agenda for approval.

## IV. Canvassing of the May 3, 2025, LVISD Board of Trustee Election

Ms. Brenda Miller, Executive Secretary to the Superintendent and School Board

Ryan Doege moved to approve and accept the May 3, 2025 LVISD Board of Trustees Election results as presented. Jeff Towns seconded. This motion, made by Ryan Doege and seconded by Jeff Towns, Passed. Ryan Doege: Yea, Drew Herley: Yea, Stewart Krisch: Yea, Jimmy McFadin: Yea, Joel Goode: Yea, Shawn

Strey: Yea, Jeff Towns: Yea

## V. Oath of Office of Elected Board of Trustees, Places 1, 2, 3, and 4

Ms. Brenda Miller, Executive Secretary to the Superintendent and School Board

## VI. Nomination and Realignment of the Board of Trustees

President, Shawn Strey

Ryan Doege moved to nominate Shawn Strey for Board President. Jeff Towns seconded. This motion, made by Ryan Doege and seconded by Jeff Towns, Passed.

Ryan Doege: Yea, Drew Herley: Yea, Stewart Krisch: Yea, Jimmy McFadin: Yea, Joel Goode: Yea, Shawn Strey: Yea, Jeff Towns: Yea

Ryan Doege moved to nominate Jeff Towns for Board Vice President. Stewart Krisch seconded. This motion, made by Ryan Doege and seconded by Stewart Krisch, Passed.

Ryan Doege: Yea, Drew Herley: Yea, Stewart Krisch: Yea, Jimmy McFadin: Yea, Joel Goode: Yea, Shawn Strey: Yea, Jeff Towns: Yea

Ryan Doege moved to nominate Drew Herley for Board Secretary. Stewart Krisch seconded. This motion, made by Ryan Doege and seconded by Stewart Krisch, Passed.

Ryan Doege: Yea, Drew Herley: Yea, Stewart Krisch: Yea, Jimmy McFadin: Yea, Joel Goode: Yea, Shawn Strey: Yea, Jeff Towns: Yea

## VII. Adjourn – 6:41PM

Ryan Doege moved to adjourn the meeting. Jeff Towns seconded. This motion, made by Ryan Doege and seconded by Jeff Towns, Passed.

Ryan Doege: Yea, Drew Herley: Yea, Stewart Krisch: Yea, Jimmy McFadin: Yea, Joel Goode: Yea, Shawn Strey: Yea, Jeff Towns: Yea