## MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL MEETING OF THE ROSELLE SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 12 BOARD OF EDUCATION April 29, 2021

The special meeting of the Board of Education was held on April 29, 2021 via Zoom due to the COVID-19 pandemic. President Zurek called the meeting to order at 6:00 P.m. Please note that entire recorded meeting is available via YouTube.

# I. Roll Call

Upon roll call, the following Board members answered: Steve Zurek, Rob Bisceglie, Blythe Cammy, Kim Duris, Chris Humbert, Tim Layer, James McGowan Absent: None

#### A. Pledge of Allegiance

The Board and audience said the Pledge of Allegiance.

# B. Additions or Changes to the Agenda None

### C. Communications

All board members shared their appreciation of Member Bisceglie's service to the district and President Zurek presented a thank you gift to Member Bisceglie from the Board and Administration.

#### II. Visitor Input

None:

#### III. Accept Canvass of Votes from the April 6, 2021 Election

Motion by Secretary Layer and seconded by Vice-President McGowan to accept the canvass of votes as presented.

ROLL CALL:

AYES: Tim Layer, James McGowan, Steve Zurek, Rob Bisceglie, Blythe Cammy, Kim Duris, Chris Humbert NAYS: None ABSTAIN: None The motion carried.

#### IV. Board Recognition

Board recognition was done during the Communications section earlier in the meeting.

# V. Election of Temporary Officers

**A.** Approve the Resolution for the Honorable Dismissal of Teachers Motion by Member Duris and seconded by Secretary Layer that the Board appoint Dr. Mary Henderson as President Pro Tem and Mrs. JoAnn Dumelle as Secretary Pro Tem.

ROLL CALL:

AYES: Kim Duris, Tim Layer, Steve Zurek, Blythe Cammy, Chris Humbert, James McGowan NAYS: None

ABSTAIN: None

The motion carried.

#### VI. Oath of Office

All Board of Education members recited the Oath of Office together.

# VII. Board Reorganization

#### A. Roll Call of Board Members

Upon roll call, the following Board members answered: Steve Zurek, Blythe Cammy, Kim Duris, Chris Humbert, Tim Layer, James McGowan

### B. Establishment of Term of Office.

Motion by Member Zurek and seconded by Member Layer that the Board establish a one year term of office for President, Vice-President and Secretary of the Board of Education.

#### ROLL CALL:

AYES: Steve Zurek, Tim Layer, Blythe Cammy, Kim Duris, Chris Humbert, James McGowan NAYS: None ABSTAIN: None

The motion carried.

# \_ \_\_ . . . \_ . . . . . .

#### **C.** Election of the President of the Board of Education. Motion by Member Duris and seconded by Member McGowan that St

Motion by Member Duris and seconded by Member McGowan that Steve Zurek be named President of the Board of Education.

#### ROLL CALL: AYES: Kim Duris, Tim Layer, Steve Zurek, Rob Bisceglie, Blythe Cammy, Chris Humbert, James McGowan NAYS: None ABSTAIN: None

The motion carried.

At this point, President Zurek took over the meeting.

# D. Election of the Vice-President of the Board of Education.

Motion by President Zurek and seconded by Member Layer that James McGowan be named Vice-President of the Board of Education.

ROLL CALL: AYES: Steve Zurek, Tim Layer, Blythe Cammy, Kim Duris, Chris Humbert, James McGowan NAYS: None ABSTAIN: None

The motion carried.

# E. Election of Secretary of the Board of Education

Motion by President Zurek and seconded by Vice-President McGowan that Tim Layer be named Secretary of the Board of Education.

ROLL CALL: AYES: Steve Zurek, James McGowan, Blythe Cammy, Kim Duris, Chris Humbert, Tim Layer NAYS: None ABSTAIN: None

The motion carried.

#### F. Approve Board Meeting Dates for 2021-2022

Motion by Member Duris and seconded by Vice-President McGowan to approve the regular meeting dates for 2021-2022 as presented.

ROLL CALL: AYES: Kim Duris, James McGowan, Steve Zurek, Blythe Cammy, Chris Humbert, Tim Layer NAYS: None ABSTAIN: None

The motion carried.

### VIII. Adjournment

Motion by Secretary Layer and seconded by Vice-President McGowan to adjourn the meeting at 6:18 p.m.

ROLL CALL: AYES: Tim Layer, James McGowan Steve Zurek, Blythe Cammy, Kim Duris, Chris Humbert NAYS: None ABSTAIN: None

The motion carried.

Steve Zurek, President

Timothy Layer, Secretary

Date Approved: May 18, 2021