The Board of Trustees of Denton Independent School District, State of Texas, met in a regular meeting at the Denton ISD Central Services building, 1307 N. Locust St., Denton, Texas, on Tuesday, January 9, 2007 at 5:03 PM. The meeting was called to order by president Mia Price who announced that a quorum was present.

Board Members

Alexander, Gallian, Price, Ramsey, Schaake, Smith, and Stafford

Present:

Board Members

Absent:

Arrived Late:

Left Early:

School Personnel Braswell, Rutherford, Wilson, Stripling, Monschke, Sisk, Stephens,

Present: Cox and Stevenson.

Others: Sarah Chacko, *Denton Record Chronicle*; DEA; Randy Stout,

Attorney; citizens, staff, and students

Closed Session Mrs. Price announced a quorum was present and called the meeting to

order and the Board convened in closed session at 5:05 p.m.

Open Session The Board reconvened in open session at 6:05 p.m.

Pledges: The pledges to the flags were led by McNair Elementary School

students.

1st Open Forum Kathy Smoot addressed the Board regarding the need for wheelchair

accessibility to the playground at Borman Elementary.

Kimberly Williams addressed the Board regarding policy FP (Legal) and the need of Board requirements and standards relating to health

and safety of athletic equipment and apparel.

Presentations/ Recognitions:

January 9, 2007

Advanced Technology Complex Students presented the Board with baskets filled with tokens of appreciation provided from several of the Advanced Technology Complex Academies each in honor of

School Board Recognition month.

Joey Florence, athletic director and head football coach for Ryan High School, received the UIL Sponsor Excellence Award for his outstanding service to students through UIL activities. Only 15

sponsors throughout Texas received this award.

The Denton Public School Foundation awarded more than \$65,500 in grants and scholarships to Denton Independent School District staff members. Teachers received \$50,000 in grants and \$15,500 in scholarships for staff development, additional degrees or to attend conferences and seminars. Teachers received grants and scholarships ranging from \$100 to \$1,000 and are being utilized to enhance classroom instruction and for staff development.

The Board took a short recess at 6:50 pm to congratulate the grant and scholarship recipients.

The Board reconvened at 7:12 pm.

2nd Open Forum

No one wished to speak.

No. 16875 Consent Agenda Motion by and Virginia Gallian seconded by Curtis Ramsey

To approve (the minutes of the November 15, 2006, November 28, 2006 and December 12, 2006 Board meetings; personnel matters and personnel leaves and absences; approval of policy CW(Local) & CW(Exhibit) on second reading; approval of Career & Technology Education Innovative Courses for 2007-2008; approval of Selection for Fiber Engineering & Design contract with Henkles-McCoy in the amount of \$69,606.20 from 2004 Bonds; and approval of Surplus Equipment)

The motion passed unanimously of Board members present and voting.

No. 16876 Naming of Campus 40

Motion by and Curtis Ramsey seconded by Charles Stafford

To approve Campus 40 (on the premises of the Denton County Juvenile Detention Center) be named the *Joe Dale Sparks Campus*.

The motion passed unanimously of Board members present and voting.

No. 16877 Naming of Elementary School Located on Teasley Lane

Motion by Charles Stafford and seconded by Jim Alexander

To approve the name of *L. A. Nelson Elementary* for the Elementary located on Teasley Lane.

The motion passed unanimously of Board members present and voting.

3 rd Open Forum	No one wished to speak.
Closed Session	The Board will convene into closed session at 7:16 PM.
Open Session	The Board reconvened into open session at 8:14 PM.
No. 16878 Adjournment:	The meeting adjourned at 8:30 PM.
	President
	Secretary