Recognition Board of Trustee Meeting August 27, 2019

McNair Elementary School named to Honor Roll for high achievement

The 2018 - 2019 Honor Roll recognizes schools and districts that have demonstrated consistent high levels of student academic achievement, improvement in achievement levels over time, and a reduction in achievement gaps among student populations. McNair Elementary was notified in June that they were selected as a top academic performer and named to the Texas Honor Roll.

This year, the Texas Honor Roll recognized six higher-performing districts and 855 higher-performing schools. After an extensive analysis of student data for every public school and district in Texas, these schools have been identified as clear leaders in getting students to grade-level and beyond and has been named to the 2018 - 2019 Honor Roll.

McNair Elementary will be featured your district on the website where educators, district leaders and policymakers can seek out high-performing schools and districts so that they can replicate success.

Through national research, we have identified a common set of success factors in higherperforming Honor Roll schools and districts. These include clear, specific learning objectives aligned to college and career readiness, along with:

- Evidence-based instructional practices
- A defined system-wide mission of college and career readiness for all students
- An investment in human capital
- Maintenance of data and assessment systems to monitor school and student performance
- Resources and guidance to support schools' efforts in preparing all students for college and career

Lacey Hailey, principal, and Djenane Bolton will accept a commendation on behalf of the school.

Board of School Trustees honored for outstanding service

The Denton ISD Board of School Trustees earned distinction as the 2019 Region 11 Education Service Center Outstanding School Board by a panel of school superintendents on Thursday, July 11.

The 2018-2019 Denton ISD Board of Trustees included Mia Price, president; Charles Stafford, vice president; Dr. Jeanetta Smith, secretary; Dr. Jim Alexander, trustee; Barbara Burns, trustee; Doug Chadwick, trustee and Dorothy Martinez, trustee.

The superintendent's nomination centered on the accomplishment of the Board's Goals and Legislative Agenda that included: expansion to a full-day pre-kindergarten program across the district, improved compensation for all employees and the strengthening of the support for students' social and emotional welfare. The school board award, sponsored by the Texas Association of School Administrators (TASA), was created in 1971 to recognize those school boards that have demonstrated outstanding dedication and have rendered ethical service to the children of Texas.

The criteria emphasized evidence of support for the improvement of educational performance. The application process involves creating a booklet of information and documentation that address the following topics related to board activities:

- Functions as a policy-making body
- Adherence to adopted board policies
- Support for educational performance in accordance with state-established standards
- Support for educational improvement projects and school transformation initiatives
- Commitment to a code of ethics
- Provision of financial support for the school system
- Participation in workshops and other performance improvement programs
- Placement of the welfare of children served by the school system above personal or political motives
- Public relations efforts, including community awareness
- Maintenance of harmonious and supportive relationships among board members

To participate in this awards program, school superintendents must nominate their school board and submit the application to their regional education service center. The selection panel, which was comprised of area school district superintendents, evaluated the applications received and rated how well each applicant addressed the 10 areas of focus.

Dr. Clyde Steelman, director of the Region 11 Education Service Center, will be on hand to present the Board with an appropriate commendation.

Back-to-School Fair served 4,000 through local support

The 2nd annual Denton Back to School Fair was on Saturday, Aug. 10 at the Embassy Suites. At the fair, students received free school supplies, health information and screenings, haircuts, and free food and games.

The Denton Back to School Fair is a collaboration of local people and various organizations that want to help families and their students as they prepare for going back to school.

Currently, one in five children in North Texas lives in poverty and due to the efforts of local volunteers more than 4,000 students received assistance that day.

The steering committee that hosted the event as well as secured sponsors included: Alicia McElroy, United Way of Denton County, Inc., Teri Johnson, Health Services of North Texas, Sarah Kuechler, City of Denton, Ernestina Lopez, Interfaith Ministries, Condell Garden, Interfaith Ministries, Courtney Martin, Denton ISD and Barb Haflich, Denton ISD.

As a side note, students and staff, led by Ms. Brenda Buster, from the LaGrone ATC provided many haircuts and we wanted to share a story of what that and the event looked like on that day.

Board Staff Spotlight

When looking for an employment opportunity for his daughter Richard Jacob, third grade teacher at Savannah Elementary, immediately thought about the positive experience he had daily with professionals in the school's cafeteria.

Denton ISD is a friendly place for special needs students and transitioning adults. When you open the door, you create opportunities for people who can bring something extra to the workplace and amazing things happen. Students and staff are learning that every day at Union Park Elementary thanks to one cafeteria worker, Emily Jacob – this month's spotlight on staff.

In addition to her parents and many friends, Emily is supported by Jennifer Layton, manager at Navo Middle; Bethany Herrera, manager at Savannah Elementary; Tomika Boyd manager at Union Park Elementary and Chris Bomberger, executive director of child nutrition and benefits.