Minutes of Regular Meeting August 10, 2021 The Board of Education Unity School District

A Regular Meeting of the Board of Education of Unity School District was held Tuesday, August 10, 2021 beginning at 6:00 PM in the Unity School District Library.

- 1. 5:00 p.m. Summer Project Campus Tour
- 2. **6:00 p.m.** Call to Order/Notice of Meeting/Roll Call

Members Present: Debbie Ince-Peterson, James Beistle, Ryan Peterson, Sheryl Holmgren, Jeromy Cox, Pat Kastens. Victoria Studtmann

Admin. Team Present: Supt. Brandon Robinson

Members Absent:

3. Approval of the Agenda

Motion to approve the agenda by Ryan Peterson.

Second by Pat Kastens.

Motion carries by unanimous voice vote.

4. Citizens' Requests to Speak/Address the Board (Max. of 3 min. Items must be germane to the agenda. Any written comment must be submitted by email to brobinson@unity.k12.wi.us by NOON on Tuesday, August 10, 2021. Such comments will be provided to the Board of Education for consideration and review.)

No comments were provided.

- 5. Board of Education Member Update
- 6. Information
 - a. Submitted Committee Reports
 - b. Introduction Brian Johnston, Kobussen
 - c. District Administrator's Report Mr. Brandon Robinson
 - 1) Fall In-Service Schedule
 - 2) Eagle Academy

7. Consent Agenda

a. Approval of Minutes, July 13, 2021

Motion to Approve Minutes of July 13, 2021 by James Beistle.

Second by Ryan Peterson.

Motion carries by unanimous voice vote.

b. Approval of Elementary/Middle School/High School Activity Accounts

Motion to Approve the July 2021 Activity Accounts by Pat Kastens.

Second by Jeromy Cox.

Motion carries by unanimous voice vote.

c. Approval of Vouchers

Motion to Approve the July 2021 Vouchers by Victoria Studtmann.

Second by Sheryl Holmgren.

Motion carries by unanimous voice vote. (Ryan Peterson Abstained.)

d. Financial Report – Ms. Kara Holden/Mr. Brandon Robinson

Nothing to report this month due to upcoming year end and annual audit.

- e. Personnel
 - 1) Consideration and Approval of Various Hires, Retirements, and Resignations, including but not limited to:
 - a) Catherine Magnine, Resignation High School Special Education Teacher
 - b) Terry Otradovec, Resignation High School Physical Education Teacher
 - c) Alissa Balzer, New Hire Elementary Teacher
 - d) Aaron Miller, New Hire Middle School Teacher

- e) Lisa Robinson, New Hire Early Childhood Teacher
- f) Laura Schwandt, New Hire Elementary Teacher
- g) Amanda Shoquist, New Hire Elementary Teacher

Motion by James Beistle to approve Items 7.e.1a-7.e.1g, along with the following additions:

- Kristina Koethe, New Hire Elementary Teacher
- Tanya Odegard, New Hire PT Educational Assistant
- Jonathan Vander Wyst FT Night Custodian

Second by Pat Kastens.

Motion carries by unanimous voice vote.

8. Action Agenda

a. Consideration and Approval of School Age Childcare Program – *Mr. Brandon Robinson*Motion to approve the proposed School Age Childcare Program by Pat Kastens.
Second by Jeromy Cox.

Motion carries by unanimous voice vote.

b. Consideration and Approval of the Updated School Reopening Plan 2021-2022 – *Mr. Brandon Robinson*

Motion to approve the Updated School Reopening Plan 2021-2022 by James Beistle. Second by Ryan Peterson.

Motion carries by unanimous voice vote.

c. Consideration to Suspend Board Policy 471: Student Activity Fees for the 2021-2022 School Year – *Mr. Brandon Robinson*

Motion to Suspend Board Policy 471: Student Activity Fees for the 2021-2022 School Year by James Beistle.

Second by Victoria Studtmann.

Motion carries by unanimous voice vote.

- d. Consideration and Approval of the following Board Policies and Administrative Rules *Mr. Brandon Robinson*
 - 347 Student Records
 - 347.1 Student Directory Data
 - 347.2 Maintenance of Pupil Health Care Records
 - 347.22 Procedures for Student Name changes Admin Rule
 - 723.3 Emergency School Closings
 - 723.6 Inclement Weather

Motion to approve the Board Policies and Administrative Rules as presented by Pat Kastens.

Second by Sheryl Holmgren.

Motion carries by unanimous voice vote.

9. Adjourn

Motion to adjourn by James Beistle.

Second by Ryan Peterson.

Motion carries by unanimous voice vote by 7:55 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

Pat Kastens, School Board Clerk