The Waskom School Board convened in regular session on Tuesday, May 11, 2010, at 7:00 p.m. in the Central Office Conference Room with the following officers and members present: Michael Allwhite, President; Stan Boyd, Vice-President; Michelle Thomas, Secretary, Christy Gentry, member; Jimmy Whorton, member; Vivian Fields, member; Dane Loyd, member; and Jimmy E. Cox, superintendent. Others attending were, Sandra Rodgers, acting secretary; Kathy Johnson, business manager, Nancy Dillard, accounts payable, Whitney Keeling, athletic director, Stuart Musick, high school principal, Jack Dillard, Jr., visitor, Megan T. Goodson, visitor, and Jamie Burke, visitor.

Michael Allwhite called the meeting to order and Jimmy Cox gave the invocation.

## **PUBLIC COMMENT**

No public comment.

## FINANCIAL STATEMENT AND BILLS

The financial statement and bills were reviewed.

# TAX COLLECTOR REPORT

The tax collector report for April was reviewed.

## **REPORTS**

Superintendent's Reports:

- a) The Financial Update was reviewed,
- b) Athletic Program Update was presented,
- c) Scheduled Activities were announced.

## CONSENT AGENDA

A motion was made by Stan Boyd, seconded by Dane Loyd, to approve the consent agenda as presented. (Minutes of the Regular Meeting on April 12, 2010, minutes of the April 27, 2010, Special Meeting of the Board, OFYP Waiver and School Resource Officer Contract.)

Vote: The motion carried unanimously.

## **BUDGET AMENDMENT**

A motion was made by Stan Boyd, seconded by Jimmy Whorton, to approve the budget amendment as presented.(\$80,000.00 in Function 36-Extra Curriculum Activities for increased expenditures)

Vote: The motion carried unanimously.

## **REORGANIZE BOARD (OFFICERS & COMMITTEES)**

A motion was made by Stan Boyd, seconded by Dane Loyd, to open nominations for board president, vice-president, and secretary.

Vote: The motion carried unanimously.

Stan Boyd nominated Michael Allwhite as board president.

A motion was made by Stan Boyd, seconded by Vivian Fields, to close nominations for board president.

Vote: The motion carried unanimously.

#### New Board President-Michael Allwhite

Vivian Fields, nominated Stan Boyd as board vice-president.

A motion was made by Michelle Thomas, seconded by Vivian Fields, to close nominations for board vice-president.

Vote: The motion carried unanimously.

#### New Board Vice-President-Stan Boyd

Stan Boyd nominated Michelle Thomas as board secretary.

A motion was made by Stan Boyd seconded by Michael Allwhite to close nominations for board secretary.

Vote: The motion carried unanimously.

#### **New Board Secretary-Michelle Thomas**

New Officers: President-Michael Allwhite; Vice-President-Stan Boyd; Secretary-Michelle Thomas.

#### 2010/2011 Committees

<b>Policy</b>	Building & Grounds	<b>Budget</b>
Vivian Fields	Dane Loyd	Christy Gentry
Michelle Thomas	Jimmy Whorton	Michelle Thomas
Stan Boyd	Michael Allwhite	Stan Boyd

# **EXECUTIVE SESSION**

The board went into executive session at 7:29 p.m. to discuss Personnel. The executive session closed at 9:14 p.m.

## **PERSONNEL**

A motion was made by Stan Boyd, seconded by Dane Loyd, to approve the 2010/2011 District Stipends & Supplements with the noted changes.

Personnel Stipends & Supplements	
All Professional Teachers	\$1,000
Ag. Science - Jack Dillard	\$ <del>7,250</del> (\$1,500)
Ag. Science - (Kirk Clark)	\$2,500
Extra-Curricular Bus Driving	\$ 20 per trip
Athletic Stipends:	
Head Football	<del>\$6,000</del>
Athletic Field Maint. Coordinator	\$1,000 (Add)
Defensive FB Coordinator	\$2,700
Offensive FV Coordinator	\$2,700
Girls Athletic Coordinator	\$4,500
Varsity Head Coach : Volleyball, Basketball,	
Baseball, Softball, Track	\$2,900
Assistant Coach	\$2,000
Cross Country-Boys & Girls	\$1,100
Head Golf-Boys & Girls	\$1,100
Head Power Lifting-Boys & Girls	<del>\$1,100</del> Remains (\$1,100.)
Middle School-Per Sport	\$1,600
Band Director	\$7,000
Athletic Director	<del>\$9,000</del>
District Dyslexia Coordinator	\$4,000
Elementary School Counselor	<del>\$1,000</del>
Middle School Counselor	<del>\$1,000</del>
High School Counselor	\$5,000
H.S. Cheerleader Sponsor	\$2,000
M.S. Cheerleader Sponsors	\$1,000
H.S. Flag Corp Sponsor	\$ 500
H.S. Drama Sponsor	\$2,000
(2 stage productions including One Act Play)	
M.S. One Act Play Sponsor (s)	\$ 500
Yearbook Sponsor	\$1,000
Science Fair Sponsor/Campus	\$ 300
Social Studies Fair Sponsor/Campus	\$ 300
Prom Sponsor	\$1,000 <del>(Add \$400.00)</del> -Remains ( <b>\$600</b> )
National Honor Society Sponsor	\$ 250
Model U.N. Sponsor High School	\$ 500
Model U.N. Sponsor Middle School	\$ 300
H.S. Student Council Sponsor	\$ 250
M.S. Student Council Sponsor	\$1,000
High School G/T Coordinator	\$1,000

High School 504 Coordinator	\$1,000
M.S. 504 Coordinator	<del>\$ 500</del>
Elem. 504 Coordinator	<del>\$ 500</del>
Elem. Math Coordinator	\$1,000
Elem. G/T Coordinator	\$ 500
M.S. G/T Coordinator	\$ 500
Elem. Science Coordinator	<del>\$1,000</del>
Campus UIL Coordinator	\$ 500
Elem/MS Assistant Principal for Student	
Services	\$4,000
HS Spanish	\$5,000

UIL Academic Competition Sponsor

\$ 100.00/UIL Academic Team Trained

\$ 50.00/UIL Academic Competition Attended (Dist/Invit)

\$ 100.00/student participation and sponsor attendance to the Regional UIL Academic Competition

(This amount will remain the same regardless of the number of students or teams that qualify) \$ 200.00/student participation and sponsor attendance to the State UIL Academic Competition (This amount will remain the same regardless of the number of students or teams that qualify)

Vote: The motion carried unanimously.

A motion was made by Stan Boyd, seconded by Jimmy Whorton, to accept the resignations of Trudy Springer, effective June 4, 2010.

Vote: The motion carried unanimously.

A motion was made by Stan Boyd, seconded by Jimmy Whorton to employ Adam Wollam, high school teacher/coach for the 2010/2011 school year on a 11 month probationary contract.

Vote: The motion carried unanimously.

## **ADJOURN MEETING**

A motion was made by Michael Allwhite, seconded by Michelle Thomas, to adjourn the meeting at 9:32 p.m.

Vote: The motion carried unanimously. So ordered by Michael Allwhite.

President

Secretary