MINUTES BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR BOARD MEETING FEBRUARY 11, 2008

PLEDGE AND INVOCATION

The Wylie Independent School District's Board of Trustees met in regular session on Monday, February 11, 2008, at 7:00 p.m. in the School Board Room. The pledge of allegiance was recited and the invocation was given by Darrell Moore.

Board members present were: Wayne Clark, Ray Templeton, Darrell Moore, Becky Rentz, Jeff Rogers, Terry Merck and Don Poindexter.

School personnel present were: Don Harrison, Tony Spradlin, Joey Light, Randy Burks, Nick Pruitt, Nadine Davis, Mitch Davis, Paul Jensen, Debbie Lambert, and Desiree Clardy.

Guests present were: Lon Hudson, Morgan Hudson, Jonathan Moore, Kim Cheek, Chris Randell, Randall Fowler, Caitlin Morris, Mary Lynn Bunkley, Ryan Harris, Renee Clark, Mark Fowler, Kayla Fowler, & Kathy Edwards-Abilene Reporter News.

SPECIAL PRESENTATION

The board presented Renee Clark a certificate in recognition of her UIL Sponsor Excellence Award.

The board recognized Randall Fowler, Caitlin Morris, Mary Lynn Bunkley, Jonathan Moore, Ryan Harris, & Chris Randell for their

efforts in advancing to national competition with the Construction Challenge team. They will compete on March 10-14, 2008 in Las Vegas, NV.

MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING

The minutes of the January 14, 2008 meeting were read. They were approved as presented.

CONSENT AGENDA

A motion to approve the consent agenda was made by Don Poindexter and seconded by Wayne Clark.

The motion carried: 6 for, 0 against.

SCHOOL BOARD MINUTES **FEBRUARY 11, 2008** PAGE TWO

CALL SCHOOL **BOARD ELECTION &** APPROVE CONTRACT WITH TAYLOR COUNTY ELECTIONS OFFICE & JOINT RESOLUTION WITH CITY OF ABILENE

Becky Rentz made a motion to call the school board election on May 10, 2008 and approve the contract with Taylor County Elections Office to conduct the election and joint resolution with the City of Abilene. Two places will be up for election: Place #4 - Jeff Rogers, Place #5 -Wayne Clark. Terry Merck seconded the motion.

The motion carried: 6 for, 0 against.

CONSIDER TEXTBOOK COMMITTEE REPORT

A motion was made by Terry Merck to adopt all Math textbooks (Grades K-5) presented by TEA this year. Darrell Moore seconded the motion.

The motion carried: 6 for, 0 against.

TO ACCEPT BID ON BUTTERFIELD PROPERTY

CONSIDER RESOLUTION Wayne Clark made a motion to approve the resolution to accept Faith Deliverance Community Church's bid of \$130,000.00 on the Butterfield school property. We will request to use a special warranty deed rather than a general warranty deed if possible. Poindexter seconded the motion.

The motion carried: 6 for, 0 against.

CONDUCT PUBLIC **HEARING ON 2006-07** 07 AEIS Report. AEIS REPORT

A public hearing was conducted on our 2006-

CONSIDER APPROVAL OF INNOVATIVE COURSE PROGRAM

A motion was made by Wayne Clark and seconded by Jeff Rogers to approve Innovative Course Program at the high school.

The motion carried: 6 for, 0 against.

COOPERATIVE PURCHASING &

CONSIDER REGION 14 Terry Merck made a motion to approve Region 14 Cooperative Purchasing & Commodity Processing Program Agreement for 2008-09.

COMMODITY PROCESSING Darrell Moore seconded the motion.

PROGRAM AGREEMENT

FOR 2008-09 The motion carried: 6 for, 0 against. FEBRUARY 11, 2008 PAGE THREE

CONSIDER LOCAL
POLICY UPDATE 82

Darrell Moore made a motion to approve Local Policy Update 82 as presented by Joey Light. Jeff Rogers seconded the motion.

The motion carried: 6 for, 0 against.

DISCUSSION ITEMS

Other items which were discussed but no action taken by the Board included: principal's reports on campus activities, and board planning session.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

The Board went into executive session under the authority of Article 6242-17, Section 2, Revised Civil Statutes of Texas and Education Code 16.176 from 7:50 P.M. to 10:46 P.M. to discuss personnel recommendations and administrator's evaluations.

PERSONNEL RECOMMENDATIONS

Terry Merck made a motion to extend the contracts of Joey Light, Nick Pruitt, Randy Burks, Tony Spradlin, Hugh Sandifer, Nadine Davis, Craig Bessent, Tommy Vaughn, Paul Jensen, Debbie Lambert, Brad McVay, Mike Kerley, Shauni Vaughn, Mitch Davis, and Phil Boone, until June 30, 2010 as recommended by the superintendent. Wayne Clark seconded the motion.

The motion carried: 6 for, 0 against.

CONSIDER
AUTHORIZING BOARD
PRESIDENT TO SIGN
CONTRACT FOR SUPT.
POSITION ON BEHALF
OF THE DISTRICT

Becky Rentz made a motion to authorize Board President, Ray Templeton, to sign the contract for the superintendent position on behalf of the District.

The motion carried: 6 for, 0 against.

OFFICIAL ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business to discuss, motion was made by Wayne Clark and seconded by Don Poindexter to adjourn. Official time was 10:49 P.M.

The motion carried: 6 for, 0 against.

SCHOOL BOARD MINUTES FEBRUARY 11, 2008

Date		
	President	
	Secretary	

PAGE FOUR