

**MEETING DATE:** December 18, 2023

**AGENDA ITEM:** Consider Approval of 2024 Attendance Zone Committee Members

**PRESENTER:** Ingia Saxton, Assistant Superintendent of Student and Community

Programs

# **BACKGROUND INFORMATION:**

In May 2023, Aledo ISD voters approved the 2023 Bond Program, which included the construction of one new elementary school (Elementary School #7 - now named Lynn McKinney Elementary) planned to open in August 2024.

The addition of Lynn McKinney Elementary necessitates that the District's current elementary school attendance zones be redrawn and that middle school attendance zones be reviewed and possibly adjusted as determined based on committee review.

The Administration and Board discussed the initiation of an Attendance Zone Committee (AZC) during the October 23, 2023, regular Board meeting. At the November 13, 2023 RegularBoard meeting, the Board adopted the following purpose and charge for the 2024 AZC..

# 2024 Attendance Zone Committee Purpose

The purpose of the Attendance Zone Committee is to represent the Aledo ISD community in the study of data related to projected student enrollment growth, campus student capacity, safety, transportation, current and planned transportation infrastructure, and geographic location of planned development in the district, in recommending to the Board of Trustees new attendance zones for elementary and middle schools.

# 2024 Attendance Zone Committee Charge

The Attendance Zone Committee is charged by the Board of Trustees to:

- represent the priorities, expectations, and values of the entire community.
- consider the needs of all of the district's students,
- listen to and consider questions and feedback from all community members and the Board of Trustees,
- use facts and data to make informed decisions,

- recommend attendance zones that are projected to most efficiently use building capacity for the longest time period possible (given projected student growth), and
- recommend to the Board of Trustees an elementary attendance zone map (effective 2024-2025) and a middle school attendance zone map (effective 2024-2025) for approval by the Board and implementation by the Administration.

During this Board meeting, the Administration recommends that the Board approve the proposed committee members listed below for the AZC so that work can begin to redraw the attendance zones within Aledo ISD.

Aaron Valencia, Co-Chair	Chris House	Jeffrey Johnson	Kristen Gallegos	Natalie Guzman
Lauren Edwards, Co-Chair	Cody Hughes	Jeremy Stone	Lana Hoover	Natalie Stephens
Amanda Pastusek	Cody Richardson	Jodi Outland	Lauren Geiss	Nicoletta Bean
Elyse Hons	Colin Burns	John Turnage	Lauren Taylor	Paul Bruns
Ana Sherman	Elizabeth Palmer	Jonathan King	Lauren Taylor	Robert Huff
Andrew McCulloch	Emily Roberts	Joshua Wyche	Lisa Robertson	Scott Turner
April Jones	Heath Haseloff	Justin Lauderdale	Lynn Morgan	Sean Gasser
Brad Ramos	Heather Macias	Kat Boyer	Marcy Castillo	Stephen Whiteland
Brandi Lode	Jack Huxel	Kaylene Bridwell	Mike Graham	Tammy Welsh
Brent Gahagen	Jaqueline Robertson	Kimberly Maples	Monique Vega	Zach Kuhlman

The members of the AZC were chosen through trustee appointment, campus nomination, and citizen application. The administration has created the committee with emphasis on the diversity of committee members demographically and geographically in an effort to represent the community at-large as well as possible.

The Administration anticipates that the work of the committee, resulting in a recommendation to the Board of Trustees, will be completed in March of 2024.

F	IS	CA	١L	IN	IF	O	RI	M/	٩T	ΊΟ	N	l:

None

# ATTACHMENTS:

None

# ADMINISTRATIVE RECOMMENDATION:

The administration recommends that the Board approve the proposed 2 Zone Committee members as presented.	2024 Attendance